Nasdaq:US$18.73 (+0.01) | HKEX:HK$30.75 (+1.05) | AIM:£2.96 (-0.08)
搜索结果
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新闻稿, 肿瘤学 / 免疫学 | 2023-09-29

和黄医药宣布于日本提交呋喹替尼 (fruquintinib) 用于经治转移性结直肠癌的新药上市申请

— 基于FRESCO‑2全球 III期研究数据的第三个主要市场上市许可申请 —

 

中国香港、上海和美国新西州:2023929日,星期五:和黄医药(中国)有限公司(简称“和黄医药”或“HUTCHMED”)(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)今日宣布武田(Takeda,东京证券交易所:4502纽约证券交易所:TAK)已向日本厚生劳动省提交呋喹替尼用于经治转移性结直肠癌成人患者的新药上市申请。呋喹替尼是一种选择性的口服血管内皮生长因子受体(“VEGFR”)-1、-2及-3抑制剂,VEGFR对于阻断肿瘤血管生成起到关键作用。日本男性和女性中,结直肠癌的发病率高居首位、死亡率位居第二。[1]

 

呋喹替尼的新药上市申请是基于FRESCO‑2 全球研究(一项在美国、欧洲、日本及澳洲开展的III期国际多中心临床试验)以及FRESCO 中国III期研究的结果。FRESCO‑2及FRESCO研究探索了呋喹替尼联合最佳支持治疗对比安慰剂联合最佳支持治疗用于治疗经治转移性结直肠癌患者。两项研究均达到了其主要终点及关键次要终点,研究显示呋喹替尼治疗在总生存期(“OS”)和无进展生存期(“PFS”)均达到具有统计学意义和临床意义的显著改善。呋喹替尼在患者中的耐受性普遍良好。

 

和黄医药研发负责人及首席医学官石明博士表示:“与我们的合作伙伴武田一起,我们很高兴迈出将呋喹替尼带给日本患者的关键一步。在强大的临床数据集及其在中国取得的成功的支持下,我们相信呋喹替尼对于这些患者来说是一个重要的选择,并且对其在日本获得批准后所产生的影响感到乐观。呋喹替尼在监管审评方面的势头良好,我们很期待看到这种药物走向全球舞台。”

 

在此项申请提交前,呋喹替尼已在美国及欧洲递交同一适应症的申请。美国食品和药物管理局(“FDA”)已予以优先审评,处方药用户付费法案(PDUFA)目标审评日期为2023年11月30日。FDA的监管审评正有序进行中,和黄医药位于中国苏州的生产设施核查已经完成。向欧洲药品管理局(“EMA”)提交的上市许可申请已于2023年6月获确认及受理。FRESCO-2全球III期注册研究的结果亦已于2023年6月在《柳叶刀(The Lancet)》上发表NCT04322539)。[2]

 

武田拥有全球独家许可在中国以外的全球范围内推进呋喹替尼针对所有适应症的开发、商业化和生产。在中国,呋喹替尼由和黄医药开发并以商品名爱优特®(ELUNATE®)上市销售。在中国416例转移性结直肠癌患者中开展的呋喹替尼FRESCO关键性III期注册研究的研究成果支持了呋喹替尼在中国获批,并已于《美国医学会杂志(JAMA)》上发表(NCT02314819)。 [3]

 

关于呋喹替尼

呋喹替尼是一种选择性的口服VEGFR-1、-2及-3抑制剂。VEGFR抑制剂在抑制肿瘤的血管生成中起到至关重要的作用。呋喹替尼被设计为拥有更高的激酶选择性,旨在降低脱靶激酶活性,从而实现更高的药物暴露、对靶点的持续覆盖以及当潜在作为联合疗法时拥有更高的灵活度。迄今为止,呋喹替尼在患者中的耐受性普遍良好。

 

关于FRESCO‑2研究

FRESCO‑2研究是一项在美国、欧洲、日本及澳洲开展的全球多中心临床试验,旨在探索呋喹替尼联合最佳支持治疗对比安慰剂联合最佳支持治疗用于治疗经治转移性结直肠癌患者。如早前公布,该项共纳入691名患者的研究在既往接受标准化疗及相关生物制剂治疗后疾病进展或对TAS-102和/或瑞戈非尼(regorafenib)不耐受的转移性结直肠癌患者中,已达到OS这一主要终点。除OS外,关键次要终点PFS亦观察到具有统计学意义的显著改善。迄今为止,呋喹替尼在患者中的耐受性普遍良好。其结果于2022年9月的欧洲肿瘤内科学会(ESMO)年会上公布,并随后于《柳叶刀(The Lancet)》。[4]  该研究的其他详情,请浏览clinicaltrials.gov ,检索注册号NCT04322539查看。

 

关于结直肠癌

结直肠癌是始于结肠或直肠的癌症。根据国际癌症研究机构(IARC)的数据,结直肠癌是全球第三大常见癌症。在2020年估计造成超过93.5万人死亡。[5] 在美国,2023年估计将新增15.3万例结直肠癌新症以及5.3万例死亡。[6] 在欧洲,结直肠癌是第二大常见癌症,2020年约有52万例新增病例和24.5万例死亡。在日本,结直肠癌是最常见的癌症,2020年估计有14.8万例新增病例和6万例死亡。5 尽管早期结直肠癌能够通过手术切除,但转移性结直肠癌目前治疗结果不佳且治疗方案有限,仍然存在大量未被满足的医疗需求。虽然部分转移性结直肠癌患者或可受益于基于分子特征的个性化治疗策略,然而大部分患者未携带可作为治疗靶点的突变。 [7],[8],[9],[10],[11]

 

关于和黄医药

和黄医药(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)是一家处于商业化阶段的创新型生物医药公司,致力于发现、全球开发和商业化治疗癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向药物和免疫疗法。集团旗下公司共有约5,000名员工,其中核心的肿瘤/免疫业务拥有约1,800人的团队。自成立以来,和黄医药致力于将自主发现的抗肿瘤候选药物带向全球患者,其中首三个创新肿瘤药物现已在中国获批上市。欲了解更多详情,请访问:www.hutch‑med.com或关注我们的领英专页。

 

前瞻性

本新稿包含1995年《美国私人诉讼改革法案》“安全港”条款中定的前瞻性述。些前瞻性述反映了和黄医目前未来事件的期,包括FDAEMA 及厚生劳动省是否批准呋喹替尼用于治疗结癌的上市以及批准时间期,呋喹替尼用于治疗结癌患者的治潜力的期以及呋喹替尼针对此适症及其他适症的一步床研究划。前瞻性述涉及风险和不确定性。此类风险和不确定性包括下列假研究时间布的期、支持呋喹替尼于日本以及在美国或欧洲等其他地区批用于治疗结癌或其他适症的上市申的数据充足性、管部门快速批或的潜力,呋喹替尼的效及安全性、和黄医/或武田为呋喹替尼一步床开发计划及商化提供金并实现及完成的能力,此类事件生的时间,各方协议的条款和条件的能力,管机构的行或可影响试验的启时间展及呋喹替尼的注册路径,武田成功开、生呋喹替尼的能力,以及新冠肺炎整体经济管及政治状况来的影响等。此外,由于部分研究依与其他品如紫杉醇与呋喹替尼合使用,因此此类风险和不确定性包括有关些治疗药物的安全性、效、供和持续监管批准的假此类前瞻性述包括但不限于以下述:关于根据协议、生呋喹替尼的划的述, 协议项下的潜在付款(包括首付款和任何里程碑付款或特权使用),协议的潜在收益,以及和黄医略、目期的里程碑、业务计划和重点。当前和潜在投度依赖这些前瞻性述,在截至本新稿布当日有效。有关风险和其他风险一步讨论请查阅和黄医向美国券交易委会、AIM以及香港合交易所有限公司提交的文件。是否出息、未来事件或情况或其他因素,和黄医均不承担更新或修本新稿所含息的义务

 

信息

本新稿所提到的品可能并未在所有国家上市,或可能以不同的商标进售,或用于不同的病症,或采用不同的量,或有不同的效力。本文中所包含的任何信息都不被看作是任何的申、推广或广告,包括那些正在研物。

 

联络方法

投资者咨询
+852 2121 8200 / +1 973 306 4490 / ir@hutch-med.com
   
媒体咨询
 
Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 / +44 7771 913 902 (手机) / +44 7779 545 055 (手机)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com

周怡,

博然思维集团

+852 9783 6894(手机)

HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com

龙肇怡 / 何芷晴,

纵横公关集团

+852 9282 4640 / +852 6198 4265 (手机)

SPRG_HUTCHMED@sprg.com.hk

   
任命保荐人
 
Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley/ Daphne Zhang,
Panmure Gordon
+44 (20) 7886 2500

 

[1] Cancer Statistics. Cancer Information Service, National Cancer Center, Japan (Vital Statistics of Japan, Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare). https://ganjoho.jp/public/qa_links/report/statistics/2023_jp.html

[2] Dasari NA, et al. Fruquintinib versus placebo in patients with refractory metastatic colorectal cancer (FRESCO-2): an international, multicentre, randomised, double-blind, phase 3 study [published online ahead of print, 2023 Jun 15]. Lancet. 2023. DOI: 10.1016/S0140-6736(23)00772-9

[3] Li J, et al. Effect of Fruquintinib vs Placebo on Overall Survival in Patients With Previously Treated Metastatic Colorectal Cancer: The FRESCO Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA. 2018;319(24):2486-2496. doi:10.1001/jama.2018.7855.

[4] Dasari NA, et al. LBA25 – FRESCO-2: A global phase III multiregional clinical trial (MRCT) evaluating the efficacy and safety of fruquintinib in patients with refractory metastatic colorectal cancer. Ann Oncol. 2022 Sep;33(suppl_7): S808-S869. doi:10.1016/annonc/annonc1089.

[5] Sung H, et al. Global Cancer Statistics 2020: GLOBOCAN Estimates of Incidence and Mortality Worldwide for 36 Cancers in 185 Countries. CA Cancer J Clin. 2021;71(3):209-249. doi:10.3322/caac.21660.

[6] Siegel RL, et al. Colorectal cancer statistics, 2023 [published online ahead of print, 2023 Mar 1]. CA Cancer J Clin. 2023; 73(3):233-254. doi:10.3322/caac.21772.

[7] Bando H, et al. Therapeutic landscape and future direction of metastatic colorectal cancer. Nat Rev Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2023;20(5):306-322. doi:10.1038/s41575-022-00736-1.

[8] D’Haene N, et al. Clinical application of targeted next-generation sequencing for colorectal cancer patients: a multicentric Belgian experience. Oncotarget. 2018;9(29):20761-20768. Published 2018 Apr 17. doi:10.18632/oncotarget.25099.

[9] Venderbosch, et al. Mismatch repair status and braf mutation status in metastatic colorectal cancer patients: A pooled analysis of the Cairo, Cairo2, coin, and Focus Studies. Clinical Cancer Res. 2014;20(20):5322–5330. doi:10.1158/1078-0432.ccr-14-0332.

[10] Koopman, M., et al. Deficient mismatch repair system in patients with sporadic advanced colorectal cancer. Br J Cancer. 2009;100(2):266–273. doi:10.1038/sj.bjc.6604867.

[11] Ahcene Djaballah S, et al. HER2 in Colorectal Cancer: The Long and Winding Road From Negative Predictive Factor to Positive Actionable Target. Am Soc Clin Oncol Educ Book. 2022;42:1-14. doi:10.1200/EDBK_351354.

Nasdaq:US$18.73 (+0.01) | HKEX:HK$30.75 (+1.05) | AIM:£2.96 (-0.08)
Search Result
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Announcements & Press Releases, Oncology / Immunology | 29 Sep 2023

HUTCHMED Announces Submission of New Drug Application for Fruquintinib for Previously Treated Metastatic Colorectal Cancer in Japan

— Third major market authorization application based on data from the FRESCO-2 global Phase III trial —

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ — Friday, September 29, 2023: HUTCHMED (China) Limited (Nasdaq/AIM:​HCM, HKEX:​13) (“HUTCHMED”) today announced that Takeda (TSE:4502/​NYSE:TAK) has submitted a New Drug Application (“NDA”) to the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare (“MHLW”) in Japan for the approval of fruquintinib for the treatment of adult patients with previously treated metastatic colorectal cancer (“CRC”). Fruquintinib is a selective inhibitor of vascular endothelial growth factor receptors (“VEGFR”) -1, -2 and -3, which play a pivotal role in blocking tumor angiogenesis. CRC has the highest incidence and second highest mortality rate among both men and women in Japan.[1]

The NDA for fruquintinib is based on results from FRESCO-2, a global Phase III multi-regional clinical trial (MRCT) conducted in the U.S., Europe, Japan and Australia, as well as data from the Phase III FRESCO clinical trial conducted in China. The FRESCO-2 and FRESCO clinical trials compared fruquintinib plus best supportive care (“BSC”) with placebo plus BSC in patients with previously treated metastatic CRC. Both trials met their primary and key secondary endpoints, showing a statistically significant and clinically meaningful improvement in overall survival (“OS”) and progression-free survival (“PFS”). Fruquintinib has been generally well tolerated by patients.

“Alongside our partner Takeda, we are pleased to take this key step towards bringing fruquintinib to patients in Japan,” said Dr. Michael Shi, Head of R&D and Chief Medical Officer of HUTCHMED. “Supported by a strong clinical data set, and its success in China, we believe that fruquintinib is an important option for these patients and are optimistic about the impact it will have if approved in Japan. There is now real regulatory momentum behind fruquintinib, and we are excited to see this drug take to the global stage.”

This submission follows prior submissions for fruquintinib in the U.S. and Europe for the same indication. The U.S. Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”) granted Priority Review and assigned a Prescription Drug User Fee Act (PDUFA) goal date of November 30, 2023. The FDA review is progressing and the inspection of HUTCHMED’s manufacturing facility in Suzhou, China has been completed. A Marketing Authorization Application (MAA) to the European Medicines Agency (EMA) was validated and accepted for regulatory review in June 2023. Data from the global registrational FRESCO-2 clinical trial was published in The Lancet, also in June 2023 (NCT04322539).[2]

Takeda has the exclusive worldwide license to further develop, commercialize, and manufacture fruquintinib outside of China. Fruquintinib is developed and marketed in China by HUTCHMED, under the brand name ELUNATE®. Approval in China was based on the results of the FRESCO study, a Phase III pivotal registration trial of fruquintinib in 416 patients with metastatic CRC in China, published in The Journal of the American Medical Association, JAMA (NCT02314819).[3]

About Fruquintinib

Fruquintinib is a selective oral inhibitor of VEGFR -1, -2 and -3. VEGFR inhibitors play a pivotal role in inhibiting tumor angiogenesis. Fruquintinib was designed to have enhanced selectivity that limits off-target kinase activity, allowing for high drug exposure, sustained target inhibition, and flexibility for the potential use as part of combination therapy. Fruquintinib has been shown to be generally well tolerated in patients to date.

About FRESCO-2

The FRESCO-2 study is a multi-regional clinical trial conducted in the U.S., Europe, Japan and Australia investigating fruquintinib plus BSC vs placebo plus BSC in patients with previously treated metastatic CRC. As previously disclosed, the 691-patient study met its primary endpoint of OS in patients with metastatic CRC who had progressed on standard chemotherapy and relevant biologic agents and who had progressed on, or were intolerant to, TAS-102 and/or regorafenib. In addition to OS, a statistically significant improvement in PFS, a key secondary endpoint, was observed. Fruquintinib has been generally well tolerated in patients to date. Results were presented at the European Society for Medical Oncology (ESMO) Congress in September 2022 and subsequently published in The Lancet.[4] Additional details of the study may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT04322539.

About CRC

CRC is a cancer that starts in either the colon or rectum. According to the International Agency for Research on Cancer, CRC is the third most prevalent cancer worldwide, associated with more than 935,000 deaths in 2020.[5] In the U.S., it is estimated that 153,000 patients will be diagnosed with CRC and 53,000 deaths from the disease will occur in 2023.[6] In Europe, CRC was the second most common cancer in 2020 with approximately 520,000 new cases and 245,000 deaths. In Japan, CRC was the most common cancer with an estimated 148,000 new cases and 60,000 deaths in 2020.5 Although early-stage CRC can be surgically resected, metastatic CRC remains an area of high unmet need with poor outcomes and limited treatment options. Some patients with metastatic CRC may benefit from personalized therapeutic strategies based on molecular characteristics; however, most patients have tumors that do not harbor actionable mutations.[7],[8],[9],[10],[11]

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM:​HCM; HKEX:​13) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery and global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. It has approximately 5,000 personnel across all its companies, at the center of which is a team of about 1,800 in oncology/immunology. Since inception it has focused on bringing cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery to patients around the world, with its first three oncology drugs now approved and marketed in China. For more information, please visit: www.hutch-med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the approval of a NDA for fruquintinib for the treatment of CRC with the FDA, EMA and the MHLW and the timing of such approvals, the therapeutic potential of fruquintinib for the treatment of patients with CRC and the further clinical development of fruquintinib in this and other indications. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding the timing and outcome of clinical studies and the sufficiency of clinical data to support NDA approval of fruquintinib for the treatment of patients with CRC or other indications in Japan or other jurisdictions such as the U.S. or the E.U., its potential to gain approvals from regulatory authorities on an expedited basis or at all; the efficacy and safety profile of fruquintinib; HUTCHMED and/or Takeda’s ability to fund, implement and complete its further clinical development and commercialization plans for fruquintinib; the timing of these events; each party’s ability to satisfy the terms and conditions under the license agreement; actions of regulatory agencies, which may affect the initiation, timing and progress of clinical trials or the regulatory pathway for fruquintinib; Takeda’s ability to successfully develop, manufacture and commercialize fruquintinib; and the impact of COVID-19 on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. In addition, as certain studies rely on the use of other drug products such as paclitaxel as combination therapeutics with fruquintinib, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and continued regulatory approval of these therapeutics. Such forward-looking statements include, without limitation, statements regarding the plan to develop, manufacture and commercialize fruquintinib under the license agreement; potential payments under the license agreement, including the upfront payment and any milestone or royalty payments; potential benefits of the license agreement; and HUTCHMED’s strategy, goals and anticipated milestones, business plans and focus. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, on AIM and on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

Medical Information

This press release contains information about products that may not be available in all countries, or may be available under different trademarks, for different indications, in different dosages, or in different strengths. Nothing contained herein should be considered a solicitation, promotion or advertisement for any prescription drugs including the ones under development.

 

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries
+852 2121 8200 / +1 973 306 4490 / ir@hutch-med.com
Media Enquiries
Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw, FTI Consulting +44 20 3727 1030 / +44 7771 913 902 (Mobile) / +44 7779 545 055 (Mobile) / HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
Zhou Yi, Brunswick +852 9783 6894 (Mobile) / HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com
Nominated Advisor
Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley / Daphne Zhang, Panmure Gordon +44 (20) 7886 2500

 

[1] Cancer Statistics. Cancer Information Service, National Cancer Center, Japan (Vital Statistics of Japan, Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare). https://ganjoho.jp/public/qa_links/report/statistics/2023_jp.html.

[2] Dasari NA, et al. Fruquintinib versus placebo in patients with refractory metastatic colorectal cancer (FRESCO-2): an international, multicentre, randomised, double-blind, phase 3 study [published online ahead of print, 2023 Jun 15]. Lancet. 2023. DOI: 10.1016/S0140-6736(23)00772-9.

[3] Li J, et al. Effect of Fruquintinib vs Placebo on Overall Survival in Patients With Previously Treated Metastatic Colorectal Cancer: The FRESCO Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA. 2018;319(24):2486-2496. doi:10.1001/jama.2018.7855.

[4] Dasari NA, et al. LBA25 – FRESCO-2: A global phase III multiregional clinical trial (MRCT) evaluating the efficacy and safety of fruquintinib in patients with refractory metastatic colorectal cancer. Ann Oncol. 2022 Sep;33(suppl_7): S808-S869. doi:10.1016/annonc/annonc1089.

[5] Sung H, et al. Global Cancer Statistics 2020: GLOBOCAN Estimates of Incidence and Mortality Worldwide for 36 Cancers in 185 Countries. CA Cancer J Clin. 2021;71(3):209-249. doi:10.3322/caac.21660.

[6] Siegel RL, et al. Colorectal cancer statistics, 2023 [published online ahead of print, 2023 Mar 1]. CA Cancer J Clin. 2023; 73(3):233-254. doi:10.3322/caac.21772.

[7] Bando H, et al. Therapeutic landscape and future direction of metastatic colorectal cancer. Nat Rev Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2023;20(5):306-322. doi:10.1038/s41575-022-00736-1.

[8] D’Haene N, et al. Clinical application of targeted next-generation sequencing for colorectal cancer patients: a multicentric Belgian experience. Oncotarget. 2018;9(29):20761-20768. Published 2018 Apr 17. doi:10.18632/oncotarget.25099.

[9] Venderbosch, et al. Mismatch repair status and braf mutation status in metastatic colorectal cancer patients: A pooled analysis of the Cairo, Cairo2, coin, and Focus Studies. Clinical Cancer Res. 2014;20(20):5322–5330. doi:10.1158/1078-0432.ccr-14-0332.

[10] Koopman, M., et al. Deficient mismatch repair system in patients with sporadic advanced colorectal cancer. Br J Cancer. 2009;100(2):266–273. doi:10.1038/sj.bjc.6604867.

[11] Ahcene Djaballah S, et al. HER2 in Colorectal Cancer: The Long and Winding Road From Negative Predictive Factor to Positive Actionable Target. Am Soc Clin Oncol Educ Book. 2022;42:1-14. doi:10.1200/EDBK_351354.