Nasdaq:US$8.86 (+0.23) | HKEX:HK$13.22 (-0.58) | AIM:£1.63 (+0.04)
搜索結果
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新聞稿, 腫瘤學 / 免疫學 | 2022-08-08

和黃醫藥宣佈呋喹替尼用於治療轉移性結直腸癌的 FRESCO-2全球III期研究達到主要終點

— 研究達到總生存期的主要終點和所有次要終點 —

— 整體安全性特徵與呋喹替尼既往研究發現一致 —

— 於美國、歐洲和日本提交監管審批的計劃進行中 —

— 結果將於即將召開的學術會議發表 —

 

中國香港、上海和美國新澤西州:2022年8月8日,星期一:和黃醫藥(中國)有限公司(簡稱「和黃醫藥」或「HUTCHMED」)(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)今天宣佈呋喹替尼用於探索性治療晚期難治性的轉移性結直腸癌的FRESCO-2關鍵性全球III期研究已達到總生存期(「OS」)這一主要終點。

FRESCO-2研究是一項在美國、歐洲、日本及澳洲開展的全球多中心臨床試驗,旨在探索呋喹替尼加最佳支持治療對比安慰劑加最佳支持治療用於治療標準化療及相關生物製劑治療後疾病進展或對TAS-102和/或瑞戈非尼(regorafenib)不耐受的轉移性結直腸癌患者。除OS外,關鍵次要終點無進展生存期(「PFS」)亦觀察到具有統計學意義的顯著改善。呋喹替尼的安全性與先前臨床試驗中觀察到的一致。完整的研究數據將提交於學術會議上發表。

和黃醫藥一直與全球監管機構就FRESCO-2研究的試驗設計及實施保持溝通,並將與美國、歐洲及日本的監管機構討論這些數據,以盡快提交上市許可申請。美國食品藥品監督管理局(FDA)已於 2020 年 6 月授予呋喹替尼快速通道資格,開發用於治療轉移性結直腸癌患者。

和黃醫藥(國際)執行副總裁、董事總經理兼首席醫學官Marek Kania醫生表示:「我們對FRESCO-2研究取得積極結果感到十分欣喜,該研究為晚期轉移性結直腸癌患者提供了一種潛在的新療法。晚期結直腸癌尚存在巨大尚未被滿足的醫療需求,患者的治療選擇有限。FRESCO研究的結果支持了呋喹替尼在中國的獲批及商業化,而FRESCO-2全球研究又在此基礎上作出了進一步佐證及補充。我們對參與了該項研究並幫助實現這一重要里程碑的患者、他們的家人和醫療保健專業人員致以衷心的感謝。」

FRESCO-2研究的聯合主要研究者及指導委員會成員、美國范德比爾特-英格拉姆癌症中心(Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center)外科和內科腫瘤學David H. Johnson講席教授兼胃腸道癌症研究項目聯合領導人Cathy Eng 教授(MD, FACP, FASCO)表示:「儘管面對新冠肺炎疫情帶來的隔離等挑戰, FRESCO-2國際研究能夠如期完成,反映了轉移性結直腸癌對創新療法未被滿足的需求。通過達到主要終點OS及次要終點PFS,呋喹替尼為難治性結直腸癌患者提供了一種重要的潛在的新治療選擇。作為一種口服藥物,呋喹替尼為患者提供了更便利的選擇。基於呋喹替尼的特點,我們將會在未來看到其在不同疾病中的更多探索。這讓人感到非常振奮,我期待最終結果發表。」

和黃醫藥首席執行官兼首席科學官蘇慰國博士表示:「我們很高興成功完成我們的首項全球多中心臨床試驗FRESCO-2研究,以支持呋喹替尼的全球註冊。自2018年上市以來,呋喹替尼已為中國的轉移性結直腸癌患者帶來獲益。呋喹替尼單藥療法以及與其他藥物聯合療法在多個瘤種中的研究亦正在世界各地進行中。」

和黃醫藥擁有呋喹替尼在中國以外區域的所有商業化權利。在中國,呋喹替尼以商品名愛優特®(ELUNATE®)上市銷售,和黃醫藥與禮來公司在中國範圍內合作,負責開發和執行在中國市場的所有醫學資訊溝通、推廣以及本地和區域市場活動。呋喹替尼在中國以外國家或地區尚未獲批。

 

關於結直腸癌

結直腸癌是始於結腸或直腸的癌症,為全球第三大常見癌症,在2020年估計造成超過91.5萬人死亡。[i] 在美國,2022年估計將新增15.1萬例結直腸癌新症以及5.3萬例死亡。[ii] 在歐洲,結直腸癌是第二大常見癌症,2020年估計有50.7萬例新增病例和24萬例死亡。1 在日本,結直腸癌是最常見的癌症,2020年估計有14.7萬例新增病例和5.9萬例死亡。1

 

關於呋喹替尼

呋喹替尼是一種高選擇性、強效的口服血管內皮生長因子受體(「VEGFR」)-1、2及3抑制劑。VEGFR抑制劑在抑制腫瘤的血管生成中起到至關重要的作用。呋喹替尼的獨特設計使其激酶選擇性更高,以達到更低的脫靶毒性、更高的耐受性及對靶點更穩定的覆蓋。迄今,呋喹替尼在患者中的耐受性普遍良好,並且臨床前研究中展示出的較低的藥物間相互作用的可能性,或使其非常適合與其他癌症療法聯合使用。

 

關於呋喹替尼在中國獲批

中國轉移性結直腸癌研究:呋喹替尼於2018年9月獲中國國家藥品監督管理局(國家藥監局)批准在中國銷售,並於2018年11月以商品名愛優特®商業上市。其自2020年1月起獲納入中國國家醫保藥品目錄。愛優特®適用於既往接受過氟嘧啶、奧沙利鉑和伊立替康治療的轉移性結直腸癌患者,包括既往接受過抗VEGF治療和/或抗表皮生長因子受體(EGFR)治療(RAS野生型)的患者。在中國416例轉移性結直腸癌患者中開展的呋喹替尼FRESCO 關鍵性III期註冊研究[iii]的研究成果已於2018年6月在《美國醫學會雜誌》(JAMA)上發表(clinicaltrials.gov註冊號:NCT02314819)。

 

關於呋喹替尼單藥療法的非結直腸癌開發項目

呋喹替尼用於以下研究用途的安全性及療效和/或用途尚不明確,不能保證其將在任何國家或地區獲得衛生部門批准或在商業上市。

中國胃癌研究:FRUTIGA研究是一項隨機雙盲III期臨床試驗,旨在評估呋喹替尼和紫杉醇聯合療法治療對一線標準化療無應答的晚期胃癌或胃食管結合部(GEJ)腺癌患者的療效和安全性。約700名患者接受了呋喹替尼聯合紫杉醇或安慰劑聯合紫杉醇治療。研究的聯合主要療效終點為OS和PFS(clinicaltrials.gov 註冊號:NCT03223376)。

免疫療法聯合用藥:和黃醫藥已訂立合作協定,以評估呋喹替尼與PD-1單克隆抗體聯合療法的安全性、耐受性和療效,包括替雷利珠單抗(tislelizumab)(BGB-A317,由百濟神州有限公司(「百濟神州」)開發)和信迪利單抗(sintilimab)(IBI308,由信達生物製藥(蘇州)有限公司開發,中國商品名達伯舒®(TYVYT®))。

  • 美國轉移性乳腺癌、子宮內膜癌和結直腸癌研究:和黃醫藥在美國啟動了一項開放標籤、多中心、非隨機、Ib/II期研究,以探索聯合呋喹替尼是否可以潛在地誘導晚期難治性三陰性乳腺癌、子宮內膜癌和結直腸癌中免疫檢查點抑制劑治療的活性。該項研究的其他詳情可登錄gov,檢索註冊號NCT04577963查看。在中國進行的I期研究(NCT01645215)和美國的I/Ib期研究(NCT03251378)中,證實了呋喹替尼單藥治療包括三陰性乳腺癌在內的晚期實體瘤中的安全性和初步療效。
  • 中國和韓國胃癌、結直腸癌和非小細胞肺癌研究百濟神州已啟動一項開放標籤、多中心的II期研究,以評估呋喹替尼與替雷利珠單抗聯合療法治療晚期或轉移性、不可切除的胃癌、結直腸癌或非小細胞肺癌患者的安全性和療效。該項研究的其他詳情可登錄gov,檢索註冊號NCT04716634查看。
  • 中國子宮內膜癌及其他實體瘤研究和黃醫藥已啟動一項開放標籤、多中心、非隨機的II期研究,以評估呋喹替尼與信迪利單抗聯合療法治療晚期宮頸癌、子宮內膜癌、胃癌、肝細胞癌、非小細胞肺癌或腎細胞癌患者的安全性和療效。部分隊列的初步數據已在2021年美國臨床腫瘤學會(ASCO)年會和中國臨床腫瘤學會(CSCO)年會上公佈。繼晚期子宮內膜癌隊列取得令人鼓舞的數據後,該隊列已擴大為超過130名患者的單臂註冊性 II 期研究。該項研究的其他詳情可登錄gov,檢索註冊號NCT03903705查看。

 

關於和黃醫藥

和黃醫藥(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)是一家處於商業化階段的創新型生物醫藥公司,致力於發現、全球開發和商業化治療癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向藥物和免疫療法。集團旗下公司共有超過4,900名員工,其中核心的腫瘤/免疫業務擁有約1,800人的團隊。自成立以來,和黃醫藥在全球範圍內已有13個自主發現的抗腫瘤候選藥物進入臨床研究階段,其中首三個創新腫瘤藥物現已在中國獲批上市。欲了解更多詳情,請訪問:www.hutch‑med.com或關注我們的LinkedIn專頁。

 

前瞻性陳述

本公告包含1995年《美國私人證券訴訟改革法案》「安全港」條款中定義的前瞻性陳述。這些前瞻性陳述反映了和黃醫藥目前對未來事件的預期,包括呋喹替尼用於治療晚期結直腸癌患者的治療潛力的預期以及呋喹替尼針對此適應症及其他適應症的進一步臨床研究計劃。前瞻性陳述涉及風險和不確定性。此類風險和不確定性包括下列假設:對研究時間和結果發佈的預期、支持呋喹替尼在美國、歐洲、日本、澳洲或其他地區獲批用於治療晚期結直腸癌或其他適應症的新藥上市申請的數據充足性、獲得監管部門快速審批或審批的潛力,呋喹替尼的安全性。和黃醫藥為呋喹替尼進一步臨床開發計劃及商業化提供資金並實現及完成的能力,此類事件發生的時間,以及新冠肺炎全球大流行對整體經濟、監管及政治狀況帶來的影響等。此外,由於部分研究賴於其他藥物產品如紫杉醇、替雷利珠單抗、信迪利單抗與呋喹替尼聯合使用,因此此類風險和不確定性包括有關這些治療藥物的安全性、療效、供應和監管批准的假設。當前和潛在投資者請勿過度依賴這些前瞻性陳述,這些陳述僅在截至本公告發佈當日有效。有關這些風險和其他風險的進一步討論,請查閱和黃醫藥向美國證券交易委員會、AIM以及香港聯合交易所有限公司提交的文件。無論是否出現新訊息、未來事件或情況或其他因素,和黃醫藥均不承擔更新或修訂本公告所含訊息的義務。

 

內幕消息

本公告包含(歐盟)第596/2014號條例(該條例構成《2018年歐洲聯盟(退出)法》定義的歐盟保留法律的一部分)第7條規定的內幕消息。

[i] The Global Cancer Observatory.  Accessed September 21, 2021.
[ii] SEER. Cancer Stat Facts: Colorectal Cancer. National Cancer Institute.  https://seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/colorect.html.  Accessed June 27, 2022.
[iii] Li J, Qin S, Xu RH, et al. Effect of Fruquintinib vs Placebo on Overall Survival in Patients with Previously Treated Metastatic Colorectal Cancer: The FRESCO Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA. 2018;319(24):2486-2496. doi:10.1001/jama.2018.7855.

Nasdaq:US$10.71 (+0.26) | HKEX:HK$16.88 (-0.24) | AIM:£1.80 (+0.02)
Search Result
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Announcements & Press Releases, Oncology / Immunology | 8 Aug 2022

HUTCHMED Announces that Fruquintinib Global Phase III FRESCO-2 Study Has Met Its Primary Endpoint in Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

— Trial met primary endpoint of overall survival and all secondary endpoints —

— Overall safety consistent with fruquintinib known profile —

— Plans for regulatory submissions underway in the U.S., Europe and Japan —

— Results to be submitted to an upcoming medical meeting —

 

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ — Monday, August 8, 2022: HUTCHMED (China) Limited (“HUTCHMED”) (Nasdaq/AIM: HCM, HKEX: 13) today announces that the pivotal global Phase 3 FRESCO-2 trial evaluating the investigational use of fruquintinib met its primary endpoint of overall survival (“OS”) in patients with advanced, refractory metastatic colorectal cancer (“CRC”).

The FRESCO-2 study was a multi-regional clinical trial conducted in the U.S., Europe, Japan and Australia that investigated fruquintinib plus best supportive care (“BSC”) vs placebo plus BSC in patients with metastatic CRC who had progressed on standard chemotherapy and relevant biologic agents and who had progressed on, or were intolerant to, TAS-102 and/or regorafenib. In addition to OS, a statistically-significant improvement in progression-free survival (“PFS”), a key secondary endpoint, was observed. The safety profile of fruquintinib in FRESCO-2 was consistent with previously reported studies. Full results will be submitted for presentation at an upcoming medical meeting.

HUTCHMED has been in communication with regulatory agencies globally regarding the FRESCO-2 trial design and conduct and will discuss these data with the agencies in the U.S., Europe and Japan with the intent to submit marketing authorization applications as soon as possible. The U.S. FDA granted Fast Track Designation for the development of fruquintinib for the treatment of patients with metastatic CRC in June 2020.

“We are very happy to see the positive outcomes of the FRESCO-2 study which offers a potential new treatment for patients with advanced metastatic colorectal cancer, where the unmet need is very high and patients have limited treatment options,” said Dr Marek Kania, Executive Vice President, Managing Director and Chief Medical Officer of HUTCHMED International. “Results from the global FRESCO-2 study supplement findings from the original FRESCO study that led to the marketing approval and commercialization of fruquintinib in China. We would like to thank the patients, their families, and the healthcare professionals who participated in this study and helped achieve this important milestone.”

Professor Cathy Eng, MD, FACP, FASCO, David H. Johnson Endowed Chair in Surgical and Medical Oncology and Co-Leader, Gastrointestinal Cancer Research Program, at the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, who served as the FRESCO2 co-PI and Steering Committee member said: “Completion of the international FRESCO-2 phase III trial in a timely fashion during the era of COVID-19 isolation demonstrates the unmet need for new therapeutic agents in metastatic colorectal cancer. By meeting the primary endpoint of OS with a secondary endpoint of PFS, fruquintinib provides a significant potential new option for our refractory colorectal cancer patients. As an oral agent, fruquintinib also provides added convenience for our patients. Based on fruquintinib’s profile, we will likely see further exploration in future clinical trials in different settings. This is extremely encouraging, and I look forward to seeing the final results.”

Dr Weiguo Su, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Scientific Officer of HUTCHMED, said: “We are pleased to have successfully completed our first multi-regional clinical trial, FRESCO-2, to support the global registration of fruquintinib. It has already benefited patients with advanced CRC in China since its launch in 2018. It is also being evaluated alone and in combination with other agents in various tumor types in ongoing studies around the world.”

HUTCHMED retains all commercial rights to fruquintinib outside of China. In China, where fruquintinib is marketed under the brand name ELUNATE®, HUTCHMED is partnered with Eli Lilly and Company and is responsible for development and execution of all on-the-ground medical detailing, promotion and local and regional marketing. Fruquintinib is not approved for use outside of China.

 

About CRC

CRC is a cancer that starts in either the colon or rectum. CRC is the third most common cancer worldwide, estimated to have caused more than 915,000 deaths in 2020.[i] In the U.S., an estimated 151,000 people will have been diagnosed with CRC and 53,000 people will have died from CRC in 2022.[ii] In Europe, CRC is the second most common cancer, with an estimated 507,000 new cases and 240,000 deaths in 2020.1 In Japan, CRC is the most common cancer, with an estimated 147,000 new cases and 59,000 deaths in 2020.1

 

About Fruquintinib

Fruquintinib is a highly selective and potent oral inhibitor of VEGFR-1, -2 and -3. VEGFR inhibitors play a pivotal role in blocking tumor angiogenesis. Fruquintinib was designed to improve kinase selectivity to minimize off-target toxicities, improve tolerability and provide more consistent target coverage. The generally good tolerability in patients to date, along with fruquintinib’s low potential for drug-drug interaction based on preclinical assessment, suggests that it may also be highly suitable for combinations with other anti-cancer therapies.

 

About Fruquintinib Approval in China

Metastatic CRC in China: Fruquintinib was approved for marketing by the China National Medical Products Administration (NMPA) in September 2018 and commercially launched in China in late November 2018 under the brand name ELUNATE®. It has been included in the China National Reimbursement Drug List (NRDL) since January 2020. ELUNATE® is indicated for the treatment of patients with metastatic CRC who have been previously treated with fluoropyrimidine, oxaliplatin and irinotecan, including those who have previously received anti-VEGF therapy and/or anti-EGFR therapy (RAS wild type). Results of the FRESCO study[iii], a Phase III pivotal registration trial of fruquintinib in 416 patients with metastatic CRC in China, were published in The Journal of the American Medical Association, JAMA, in June 2018 (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT02314819).

 

About Fruquintinib Development Beyond CRC Monotherapy

The safety and efficacy of fruquintinib for the following investigational uses have not been established and there is no guarantee that it will receive health authority approval or become commercially available in any country for the uses being investigated:

Gastric Cancer (“GC”) in China: The FRUTIGA study is a randomized, double-blind, Phase III trial evaluating the efficacy and safety of fruquintinib combined with paclitaxel for the treatment of patients with advanced gastric or esophagogastric junction (“GEJ”) adenocarcinoma who did not respond to first-line standard chemotherapy. Approximately 700 patients have received either fruquintinib combined with paclitaxel or placebo combined with paclitaxel. The co-primary efficacy endpoints are OS and PFS (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT03223376).

Immunotherapy combinations: HUTCHMED has entered into collaboration agreements to evaluate the safety, tolerability and efficacy of fruquintinib in combination with PD-1 monoclonal antibodies, including with tislelizumab (BGB-A317, developed by BeiGene, Ltd) and sintilimab (IBI308, developed by Innovent Biologics, Inc. and marketed as TYVYT® in China).

  • Metastatic breast, endometrial, and colorectal cancers in the U.S.: HUTCHMED initiated this open-label, multi-center, non-randomized, Phase Ib/II study in the U.S. to investigate if the addition of fruquintinib can potentially induce activity to immune checkpoint inhibitor therapy in advanced, refractory triple negative breast cancer (“TNBC”), endometrial cancer, and CRC. Additional details of the study may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT04577963. Safety and preliminary efficacy of fruquintinib as a single agent were demonstrated in advanced solid tumors, including TNBC, in a Phase I study conducted in China (NCT01645215) and a Phase I/Ib study is ongoing in the U.S. (NCT03251378).
  • Gastric, colorectal and non-small cell lung cancers in China & Korea: BeiGene, Ltd. initiated this open-label, multi-center, Phase II study to assess the safety and efficacy of fruquintinib in combination with tislelizumab in patients with advanced or metastatic, unresectable GC, CRC or non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”). Additional details of the study may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT04716634.
  • Endometrial cancer and other solid tumors in China: HUTCHMED initiated this open-label, multi-center, non-randomized, Phase II study to assess the safety and efficacy of fruquintinib in combination with sintilimab in patients with advanced cervical cancer, endometrial cancer, GC, hepatocellular carcinoma (HCC), NSCLC or renal cell carcinoma (RCC). Preliminary results of certain cohorts were presented at the 2021 American Society of Clinical Oncology Annual Meeting (ASCO) and the Chinese Society of Clinical Oncology Annual Meeting (CSCO). Following encouraging data in the advanced endometrial cancer cohort, it has been expanded into a single-arm registrational Phase II study of over 130 patients. Additional details of the study may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT03903705.

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM: HCM; HKEX: 13) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery and global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. It has more than 4,900 personnel across all its companies, at the center of which is a team of about 1,800 in oncology/​immunology. Since inception it has advanced 13 cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery into clinical studies around the world, with its first three oncology drugs now approved and marketed in China. For more information, please visit: www.hutch‑med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This announcement contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the therapeutic potential of fruquintinib for the treatment of patients with advanced CRC and the further clinical development of fruquintinib in this and other indications. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding the timing and outcome of clinical studies and the sufficiency of clinical data to support NDA approval of fruquintinib for the treatment of patients with advanced CRC or other indications in the U.S., Europe, Japan, Australia or other jurisdictions, its potential to gain approvals from regulatory authorities on an expedited basis or at all, the safety profile of fruquintinib, HUTCHMED’s ability to fund, implement and complete its further clinical development and commercialization plans for fruquintinib, the timing of these events, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. In addition, as certain studies rely on the use of other drug products such as paclitaxel, tislelizumab and sintilimab as combination therapeutics with fruquintinib, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and continued regulatory approval of these therapeutics. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, on AIM and on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this announcement, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

Inside Information

This announcement contains inside information for the purposes of Article 7 of Regulation (EU) No 596/2014 (as it forms part of retained EU law as defined in the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018).

 

[i] The Global Cancer Observatory. Accessed September 21, 2021.
[ii] SEER. Cancer Stat Facts: Colorectal Cancer. National Cancer Institute. https://seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/colorect.html. Accessed June 27, 2022.
[iii] Li J, Qin S, Xu RH, et al. Effect of Fruquintinib vs Placebo on Overall Survival in Patients With Previously Treated Metastatic Colorectal Cancer: The FRESCO Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA. 2018;319(24):2486-2496. doi:10.1001/jama.2018.7855.