Nasdaq:US$32.17 (+0.00) | HKEX:HK$50.40 (+0.75) | AIM:£4.71 (+0.02)
搜索結果
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新聞稿, 腫瘤學 / 免疫學 | 2021-09-20

和黃醫藥於日本啟動索凡替尼用於治療晚期神經內分泌瘤的註冊性橋接研究

繼索凡替尼2021年1月在中國上市、2021年6月新藥上市申請獲美國FDA受理及2021年7月上市許可申請獲歐洲EMA確認用於治療晚期神經內分泌瘤後的又一進展

 

中國香港、上海和美國新澤西州:2021年9月20 日(星期一 ):和黃醫藥(中國)有限公司(簡稱「和黃醫藥」或「HUTCHMED」)(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)今日宣佈已啟動一項索凡替尼的日本註冊性橋接研究,以支持索凡替尼用於治療晚期神經內分泌瘤的藥品上市註冊。 首名患者已於2021 年9 月15日接受給藥治療。

 

根據與日本藥品和醫療器械局(PMDA)的溝通確定,索凡替尼用於治療晚期神經內分泌瘤的日本新藥上市申請包括將在日本進行的一項關鍵性研究的結果, 以補充支持用於向美國食品藥品監督管理局(「FDA」)提交新藥上市申請(於 2021 年 6 月獲受理)和向歐洲藥品管理局(「EMA」)提交上市許可申請(MAA)( 於2021 年 7 月獲確認)所使用的註冊數據包。 上述新藥上市申請和上市許可申請是基於來自美國 I/II 期研究,以及支持了索凡替尼在中國用於治療晚期神經內分泌瘤的上市許可的已完成的SANET-ep 和 SANET-p  III 期研究數據。目前索凡替尼在中國以商品名蘇泰達®上市銷售。

 

該項日本研究是一項索凡替尼的兩階段、開放標籤研究,預計將招募約34名患者。在研究的第一階段,復發或難治性非血液惡性腫瘤患者將接受28天每日一次300mg給藥治療,並評估索凡替尼的安全性及耐受性;次要終點為索凡替尼的藥代動力學特徵及抗腫瘤活性。研究的第二階段,將評估索凡替尼治療局部晚期或轉移性神經內分泌瘤患者的療效;主要結果指標為客觀緩解率(「ORR」);次要結果指標包括疾病控制率(「DCR」)、無進展生存期(「PFS」)、緩解持續時間(「DoR」)、安全性及藥代動力學特徵。

 

索凡替尼是和黃醫藥第三款在日本進入臨床開發的自主研發潛在新藥。目前,呋喹替尼的全球III期註冊研究FRESCO-2研究正在難治性轉移性結直腸癌患者中進行,計劃將於包括日本在內全球14個國家的超過150家研究中心招募逾680名患者。賽沃替尼(與阿斯利康合作)與泰瑞沙®聯合療法的全球單臂、開放標籤研究SAVANNAH研究正在因MET擴增或過表達導致泰瑞沙®治療後疾病進展的非小細胞肺癌患者中進行。

 

關於神經內分泌瘤(NET)

神經內分泌瘤起源於與神經系統相互作用的細胞或產生激素的腺體。神經內分泌瘤可起源於體內各個部位,最

常見於消化道或肺部,可為良性或惡性腫瘤。神經內分泌瘤通常分為胰腺神經內分泌瘤(pNET)和胰腺外(非胰腺)神經內分泌瘤(epNET)。

據 Frost & Sullivan 公司估計,2020 年美國神經內分泌瘤新診斷病例為 19,000 例。基於全球流行病學趨勢的分析,整個歐盟 (EU) 的發病率與美國大致相近,而該分析同時顯示神經內分泌瘤的全球發病率呈上升趨勢。[i] 重要的是,與其他腫瘤相比,神經內分泌瘤的生存期相對較長。 因此,據估計2020 年法國、德國、意大利、西班牙和英國約有 140,000 名神經內分泌瘤患者。[ii] 在日本,2016年約新增6,700例胃腸胰神經內分泌腫瘤新症。[iii]

 

關於索凡替尼

索凡替尼(surufatinib)是一種新型的口服酪氨酸激酶抑制劑,具有抗血管生成和免疫調節雙重活性。索凡替 尼可通過抑制血管內皮生長因子受體(VEGFR)和成纖維細胞生長因子受體(FGFR)以阻斷腫瘤血管生成, 並可抑制集落刺激因子 1 受體(CSF-1R),通過調節腫瘤相關巨噬細胞,促進機體對腫瘤細胞的免疫應答。索凡替尼獨特的雙重機制能產生協同抗腫瘤活性,使其為與其他免疫療法的聯合使用的理想選擇。

和黃醫藥目前擁有索凡替尼在全球範圍內的所有權利。

 

索凡替尼開發計劃

中國非胰腺神經內分泌瘤研究:索凡替尼於2020年12月29日獲中國國家藥品監督管理局(「國家藥監局 」)批准用於治療非胰腺神經內分泌瘤。索凡替尼在中國市場以商品名蘇泰達®銷售。此獲批是基於一項索凡替尼治療晚期非胰腺神經內分泌瘤患者的中國III期臨床試驗SANET-ep的研究結果(clinicaltrials.gov注冊號NCT02588170)。該研究在中期分析中成功達到PFS這一預設的主要終點,研究結果已於《刺針·腫瘤學》上發表[iv]  索凡替尼治療組患者的中位PFS顯著延長為9.2個月,安慰劑組患者則為3.8個月(HR 0.334;95% CI 0.223 – 0.499;p <0.0001)。索凡替尼具有可接受的安全性特徵,最常見的3級或以上治療相關不良事件是高血壓(索凡替尼組患者:36%; 安慰劑組患者:13%)、蛋白尿(索凡替尼組患者:19%; 安慰劑組患者: 0%)和貧血(索凡替尼組患者:5%; 安慰劑組患者:3%)。

 

中國胰腺神經內分泌瘤研究:索凡替尼於2021年6月16日獲國家藥監局批准用於治療胰腺神經內分泌瘤。此獲批是基於一項索凡替尼治療晚期胰腺神經內分泌瘤患者的中國III期臨床試驗SANET-p(clinicaltrials.gov 註冊號NCT02589821)的研究結果。該研究在預設的中期分析中成功達到PFS這一預設主要療效終點,研究結果已於《刺針·腫瘤學》發表[v]。研究顯示索凡替尼將患者疾病進展或死亡風險降低了51%,中位PFS為10.9個月,而安慰劑組患者則為3.7個月(HR 0.491; 95%CI:0.391-0.755; = 0.0011)。 索凡替尼展示可控的安全性,並與先前研究中的觀察結果一致。

 

免疫聯合療法:和黃醫藥達成了數個合作協議,以評估索凡替尼與PD-1單克隆抗體聯合療法的安全性、耐受性和療效,包括已於中國獲批單藥療法的替雷利珠單抗(BGB-A317)、拓益®(特瑞普利單抗)和達伯舒®(,信迪利單抗)。

 

美國與歐洲神經內分泌瘤研究:索凡替尼的美國新藥上市申請已於 2021 年 6 月獲FDA受理,向EMA提交的上市許可申請亦於 2021 年 7 月獲確認。以上申請均是基於已完成的SANET-ep和SANET-p研究,以及索凡替尼在美國治療非胰腺和胰腺神經內分泌瘤患者的現有數據(clinicaltrials.gov 註冊號NCT02549937)。在美國,索凡替尼于2020年4月被授予快速通道資格,用於治療胰腺和非胰腺神經內分泌瘤,並於2019年11月被授予「孤兒藥」資格,用於治療胰腺神經內分泌瘤 。

 

和黃醫藥已在美國啟動一項擴充療程方案(Expanded Access Protocol),確保治療方案有限的神經內分泌瘤患者能夠獲得該療法治療。該擴充療程方案已獲FDA監管批准,項目已開放中心啟用(clinicaltrials.gov 註冊號:NCT04814732)。

 

關於和黃醫藥

和黃醫藥(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)是一家處於商業化階段的創新型生物醫藥公司,致力於發現、全球開發和商業化治療癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向藥物和免疫療法。超過1,400人的專業團隊已將自主發現的11個候選癌症藥物推進到在全球開展臨床研究,其中首三個創新腫瘤藥物現已獲批上市。欲瞭解更多詳情,請訪問:http://www.hutch-med.com或關注我們的LinkedIn專頁

 

前瞻性陳述

本新聞稿包含1995年《美國私人證券訴訟改革法案》「安全港」條款中定義的前瞻性陳述。這些前瞻性陳述反映了和黃醫藥目前對未來事件的預期,包括索凡替尼用於治療神經內分泌瘤患者的治療潛力的預期以及索凡替尼針對此適應症及其他適應症的進一步臨床研究計劃。前瞻性陳述涉及風險和不確定性。此類風險和不確定性包括下列假設:支持索凡替尼獲批用於在美國、中國、日本及其他地區(如歐洲)治療神經內分泌瘤的新藥上市申請的數據充足性、獲得監管部門快速審批的潛力,索凡替尼的安全性。和黃醫藥為索凡替尼進一步臨床開發計劃及商業化提供資金並實現及完成的能力,此類事件發生的時間,以及新冠肺炎全球大流行對整體經濟、監管及政治狀況帶來的影響等。此外,由於部分研究賴於將卡培他濱、替雷利珠單抗、拓益®、達伯舒®與索凡替尼聯合使用,因此此類風險和不確定性包括有關這些治療藥物的安全性、療效、供應和監管批准的假設。當前和潛在投資者請勿過度依賴這些前瞻性陳述,這些陳述僅在截至本新聞稿發佈當日有效。有關這些風險和其他風險的進一步討論,請查閱和黃醫藥向美國證券交易委員會、AIM以及香港聯合交易所有限公司提交的文件。無論是否出現新訊息、未來事件或情況或其他因素,和黃醫藥均不承擔更新或修訂本新聞稿所含訊息的義務。

 

[i] Fraenkel M, Kim M, Faggiano A, de Herder WW, Valk GD; Knowledge NETwork. Incidence of gastroenteropancreatic neuroendocrine tumours: a systematic review of the literature. Endocr Relat Cancer. 2014;21(3):R153-R163. Published 2014 May 6. doi:10.1530/ERC-13-0125.

[ii] 根據Frost & Sullivan公司的數據,2020年美國神經內分泌瘤新診斷病例為19,000例,美國的神經內分泌瘤患者總數約為143,000名。

[iii] Masui T, et al; JNETS Project Study Group. Recent epidemiology of patients with gastro-entero-pancreatic neuroendocrine neoplasms (GEP-NEN) in Japan: a population-based study. BMC Cancer. 2020;20(1):1104. Published 2020 Nov 14. doi:10.1186/s12885-020-07581-y

[iv] Xu J, Shen L, Zhou Z, et al. Surufatinib in advanced extrapancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (SANET-ep): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 study [published online ahead of print, 2020 Sep 20]. Lancet Oncol. 2020; S1470-2045(20)30496-4. DOI: 10.1016/S1470-2045(20)30496-4.

[v] Xu J, Shen L, Bai C, et al. Surufatinib in advanced pancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (SANET-p): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 study [published online ahead of print, 2020 Sep 20]. Lancet Oncol. 2020; S1470-2045(20)30493-9. DOI: 10.1016/S1470-2045(20)30493-9.

Nasdaq:US$32.30 (+0.56) | HKEX:HK$49.55 (-1.35) | AIM:£4.69 (-0.02)
Search Result
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Announcements & Press Releases, Oncology / Immunology | 20 Sep 2021

HUTCHMED Initiates a Japan Bridging Study to Support Surufatinib Registration for Advanced Neuroendocrine Tumors

— Following surufatinib launch in China in January 2021; NDA acceptance by the U.S. FDA for review in June 2021; and MAA validation by the EMA in July 2021 all for advanced neuroendocrine tumors —

 

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ — Monday, September 20, 2021: HUTCHMED (China) Limited (“HUTCHMED”) (Nasdaq/AIM: HCM; HKEX: 13) today announces that it has initiated a Japan registration-enabling bridging study for surufatinib to support the registration of surufatinib in the treatment of patients with advanced neuroendocrine tumors (“NETs”).  The first patient was dosed on September 15, 2021.

 

Based on dialogue with the Japanese Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency (PMDA), it was agreed that the surufatinib Japanese new drug application (“NDA”) for the treatment of advanced NETs include results from a pivotal study to be conducted in Japan, to complement the registration data package supporting the NDA to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”) (accepted for review in June 2021) and the Marketing Authorization Application (“MAA”) to the European Medicines Agency (“EMA”) (validated in July 2021). The basis for the NDA and the MAA includes data from a U.S. Phase I/II study, as well as the completed Phase III SANET-ep and SANET-p studies used to support marketing authorization in China in advanced NETs, where surufatinib is currently marketed under the brand name SULANDA®.

 

This Japan study is a two-stage, open label study of surufatinib where approximately 34 patients are expected to be recruited. In Part 1 of the study, the safety and tolerability of surufatinib 300mg once daily after 28 days of treatment will be assessed in patients with relapsed/refractory non-hematological malignancies; pharmacokinetics (“PK”) and anti-tumor activity of surufatinib are secondary endpoints. In Part 2 of the study, efficacy will be assessed in patients with locally advanced or metastatic NETs; the primary outcome measure is objective response rate (ORR). The secondary outcome measures include disease control rate (DCR), progression free survival (“PFS”), duration of response (DoR), safety, and PK.

 

Surufatinib is the third potential new medicine discovered by HUTCHMED to enter into clinical development in Japan. A global Phase III registration study for fruquintinib, known as the FRESCO-2 study, is ongoing in patients with refractory metastatic colorectal cancer and is expected to enroll over 680 patients from over 150 sites in 14 countries, including Japan. A global single-arm, open-label study, known as the SAVANNAH study, is ongoing for savolitinib (partnered with AstraZeneca PLC) in combination with TAGRISSO® in non-small cell lung cancer patients whose disease progressed following TAGRISSO® due to MET amplification or overexpression.

 

About NETs

NETs form in cells that interact with the nervous system or in glands that produce hormones. They can originate in various parts of the body, most often in the gut or the lungs and can be benign or malignant. NETs are typically classified as pancreatic NET (“pNET”) or extra-pancreatic (non-pancreatic) NET (“epNET”).

According to Frost & Sullivan, there were 19,000 newly diagnosed cases of NET in the U.S. in 2020. Rates across the European Union (E.U.) appear largely similar to the U.S. This is supported by an analysis of global epidemiologic trends, which also show growth in the incidence of NETs worldwide.[i] Importantly, NETs are associated with a relatively long duration of survival compared to other tumors. As a result, there were approximately 140,000 estimated patients living with NET in France, Germany, Italy, Spain, and the United Kingdom in 2020.[ii] In Japan, approximately 6,700 people were diagnosed with gastro-entero-pancreatic neuroendocrine neoplasms in 2016.[iii]

 

About Surufatinib

Surufatinib is a novel, oral angio-immuno kinase inhibitor that selectively inhibits the tyrosine kinase activity associated with vascular endothelial growth factor receptors (VEGFR) and fibroblast growth factor receptor (FGFR), which both inhibit angiogenesis, and colony stimulating factor-1 receptor (CSF-1R), which regulates tumor-associated macrophages, promoting the body’s immune response against tumor cells. Its unique dual mechanism of action may be very suitable for possible combinations with other immunotherapies, where there may be synergistic anti-tumor effects.

HUTCHMED currently retains all rights to surufatinib worldwide.

 

About Surufatinib Development

epNETs in China: On December 29, 2020, surufatinib was granted drug registration approval by the National Medical Products Administration of China (“NMPA”) for the treatment of epNET. Surufatinib is marketed in China under the brand name SULANDA®. The approval was based on results from the SANET-ep study, a Phase III trial (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT02588170) in patients with advanced epNETs conducted in China. The study met the pre-defined primary endpoint of PFS at a preplanned interim analysis, and was published in The Lancet Oncology[iv]. Median PFS was significantly longer for patients treated with surufatinib at 9.2 months, compared to 3.8 months for patients in the placebo group (HR 0.334; 95% CI: 0.223-0.499; p<0.0001). Surufatinib had an acceptable safety profile, with the most common treatment related adverse events of grade 3 or worse being hypertension (36% of surufatinib patients vs. 13% of placebo patients), proteinuria (19% vs. 0%) and anemia (5% vs. 3%).

 

pNETs in China: On June 16, 2021, surufatinib was granted drug registration approval by the NMPA for the treatment of pNET. The approval was based on results from the SANET-p study, a Phase III trial (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT02589821) in patients with advanced pNET in China. The pre-defined primary endpoint of PFS was met at a preplanned interim analysis and was published in The Lancet Oncology[v], demonstrating that surufatinib reduces the risk of disease progression or death by 51% in patients, with a median PFS of 10.9 months compared to 3.7 months on placebo (HR 0.491; 95% CI: 0.391-0.755; p=0.0011). The safety profile of surufatinib was manageable and consistent with observations in prior studies.

 

Immunotherapy combinations: HUTCHMED entered into collaboration agreements to evaluate the safety, tolerability and efficacy of surufatinib in combination with anti-PD-1 monoclonal antibodies, including with tislelizumab (BGB-A317), TUOYI® (toripalimab) and TYVYT® (sintilimab), which are approved as monotherapies in China.

 

NETs in the U.S. and Europe: A FDA NDA submission was accepted in June 2021, followed by a MAA submission to the EMA validated in July 2021. The basis to support these filings includes the completed SANET-ep and SANET-p studies, along with existing data from surufatinib in U.S. epNET and pNET patients (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT02549937). In the U.S., surufatinib was granted Fast Track Designations for development in pNET and epNET in April 2020, and Orphan Drug Designation for pNET in November 2019.

 

HUTCHMED has initiated an Expanded Access Protocol (EAP) in the U.S. to ensure patients with NET with limited therapeutic options have access to this treatment. Regulatory clearance of this protocol has been granted by the FDA and this program is open for site activation (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT04814732).

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM: HCM; HKEX: 13) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery, global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. A dedicated organization of over 1,400 personnel has advanced eleven cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery into clinical studies around the world, with its first three oncology drugs now approved. For more information, please visit: www.hutch‑med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the therapeutic potential of surufatinib for the treatment of patients with NET and the further clinical development of surufatinib in this and other indications. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding the sufficiency of clinical data to support NDA approval of surufatinib for the treatment of patients with NET in the U.S., China, Japan and other jurisdictions such as the E.U., its potential to gain expeditious approvals from regulatory authorities, the safety profile of surufatinib, HUTCHMED’s ability to fund, implement and complete its further clinical development and commercialization plans for surufatinib, the timing of these events, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. In addition, as certain studies rely on the use of capecitabine, tislelizumab, TUOYI®, and TYVYT® as combination therapeutics with surufatinib, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and continued regulatory approval of these therapeutics. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, on AIM and on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

[i] Fraenkel M, Kim M, Faggiano A, de Herder WW, Valk GD; Knowledge NETwork. Incidence of gastroenteropancreatic neuroendocrine tumours: a systematic review of the literature. Endocr Relat Cancer. 2014;21(3):R153-R163. Published 2014 May 6. doi: 10.1530/ERC-13-0125.
[ii] According to Frost & Sullivan, in 2020, there were 19,000 newly diagnosed cases of NETs in the U.S. and an estimated 143,000 patients living with NETs. Report on file.
[iii] Masui T, Ito T, Komoto I, Uemoto S; JNETS Project Study Group. Recent epidemiology of patients with gastro-entero-pancreatic neuroendocrine neoplasms (GEP-NEN) in Japan: a population-based study. BMC Cancer. 2020;20(1):1104. Published 2020 Nov 14. doi: 10.1186/s12885-020-07581-y.
[iv] Xu J, Shen L, Zhou Z, et al. Surufatinib in advanced extrapancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (SANET-ep): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 study [published online ahead of print, 2020 Sep 20]. Lancet Oncol. 2020; S1470-2045(20)30496-4. doi:10.1016/S1470-2045(20)30496-4.
[v] Xu J, Shen L, Bai C, et al. Surufatinib in advanced pancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (SANET-p): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 study [published online ahead of print, 2020 Sep 20]. Lancet Oncol. 2020; S1470-2045(20)30493-9. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(20)30493-9.

 

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries

Mark Lee, Senior Vice President +852 2121 8200
Annie Cheng, Vice President +1 (973) 567 3786

Media Enquiries

Americas
Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
Europe
Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902 (Mobile) /
+44 7779 545 055 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
Asia
Zhou Yi,
Brunswick
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com

Nominated Advisor

Atholl Tweedie /Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500