Nasdaq:US$38.18 (-0.75) | HKEX:HK$60.55 (-0.45) | AIM:£5.64 (+0)
搜索结果
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新闻稿, 新闻稿, 肿瘤学 / 免疫学 | 2021-03-29

和黄医药在美国和欧洲启动两项IDH1/2双重抑制剂治疗晚期实体瘤或恶性血液肿瘤患者的国际I期临床试验

— HMPL-306是和黄医药第6个自主研发并进入全球开发阶段的创新肿瘤药物 —

 

中国香港、上海和美国新泽西州:2021329日,星期 和黄中国医药科技有限公司(简称“和黄医药”或“HUTCHMED”)(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM)今日宣布,已启动两项HMPL-306的国际I期研究。HMPL-306 是一种新型双重靶向异柠檬酸脱氢酶(“IDH”)1 和 2突变的选择性小分子抑制剂。两项研究分别用于治疗晚期实体瘤患者及恶性血液肿瘤患者,均于美国和欧洲设立临床试验中心。继2020年下半年中国I期研究启动后,国际研究的首名患者已于2021年3月25日接受给药治疗。这项新的研究标志着和黄医药正进一步加速和扩展全球临床研发业务。

这两项多中心临床试验旨在评估HMPL-306的安全性、耐受性、药代动力学、药效学和初步疗效。首项临床试验针对实体瘤(包括但不限于胶质瘤、软骨肉瘤或胆管癌),而第二项临床试验针对伴有IDH1和/或IDH2突变的晚期复发性或难治性恶性血液肿瘤。在各研究的第一阶段,每组患者将接受递增剂量的口服HMPL-306治疗,以确定最大耐受剂量和/或II期推荐剂量(“RP2D”)。研究的第二阶段是剂量扩展阶段,患者将接受HMPL-306 治疗,以进一步评估RP2D的安全性、耐受性和临床疗效。该项研究的其他详情可登录clinicaltrials.gov,分別以检索注册号NCT04762602NCT04764474查看。

该两项研究由MD安德森癌症中心(“MDACC”)主导。其中恶性血液肿瘤研究的主要研究者是美国德克萨斯大学MDACC白血病系Janiece和Stephen A.Lasher医学教授兼治疗发展部门主任 Farhad Ravandi博士。实体肿瘤研究的主要研究者是美国德克萨斯大学MDACC研究性癌症疗法学系副教授Filip Janku博士。

HMPL-306的中国I期研究正在进行中,首名患者已于2020年7月接受给药治疗。 该项研究的其他详情可登录clinicaltrials.gov,检索注册号NCT04272957查看。

HMPL-306是和黄医药自主研发的第9个处于临床阶段的创新肿瘤药物。已有临床数据表明,当使用单一靶向IDH1突变或靶向IDH2突变的抑制剂时,细胞质的IDH1突变和线粒体的IDH2突变会相互转化。通过同时抑制IDH1和IDH2突变,HMPL-306有望为有其中任何一种IDH突变的癌症患者提供治疗效益,并可能解决因亚型转化导致的IDH抑制获得性耐药问题。

 

关于IDH和恶性肿瘤

IDH是一类重要的代谢酶,参与分解营养物质并为细胞提供能量。发生突变的IDH会产生一种能改变细胞遗传程序并阻止细胞成熟的分子2-羟基戊二酸(”2-HG”)。2-HG水平的降低可作为IDH抑制剂与靶点接合的标志。IDH1或IDH2突变是各种类型的血液肿瘤和实体瘤中常见的基因变异,急性髓系白血病(“AML”)患者中约有20%伴有IDH基因突变,在骨髓增生异常综合症(MDS)、骨髓增生性肿瘤(MPN)和低级别神经胶质瘤和肝内胆管癌中也有一定的发生率。IDH突变亚型转化,是对IDH抑制剂产生获得性耐药的主要机制之一,无论是由细胞质的IDH1突变转为线粒体的IDH2突变,或反之亦然。[1],[2],[3] 目前,美国食品药品监督管理局(FDA)已批准一种靶向于IDH1突变的药物以及一种靶向于IDH2突变的药物,但尚无可同时靶向IDH1和IDH2突变的双重抑制剂获批。

在美国,2020年将估计有约2万例AML新增病例,五年相对存活率为28.7%。[4]

IDH突变存在于一些实体瘤中,包括恶性神经胶质瘤和肝内胆管癌。 在美国,恶性神经胶质瘤的年发病率估计为2万例,其中50-70%为胶质母细胞瘤。[5],[6] 大约60-80%的2级或3级神经胶质瘤和继发性胶质母细胞瘤伴有IDH突变。[7] 肝内胆管癌占原发性肝癌的10-20%,估计2020年将有42,810名美国患者被诊断出患有肝内胆管癌。[8],[9] 约20-30%的肝内胆管癌伴有IDH突变。[10]

 

关于和黄医药

和黄医药(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM)是一家处于商业化阶段的创新型生物医药公司,在过去20年间致力于发现和全球开发治疗癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向药物和免疫疗法。目前,和黄医药共有10个抗癌类候选药物正在全球开发中,并在中国本土市场拥有广泛的商业网络。欲了解更多详情,请访问:www.hutch-med.com

 

前瞻性陈述

本新闻稿包含1995年《美国私人证券诉讼改革法案》安全港条款中定义的前瞻性陈述。这些前瞻性陈述反映了和黄医药目前对未来事件的预期,包括对HMPL-306临床开发的预期及HMPL-306对伴有IDH突变患者的潜在效益。前瞻性陈述涉及风险和不确定性。此类风险和不确定性包括下列假设:临床试验入组率、满足研究入选和排除标准的受试者的时间和可用性、临床方案或监管要求变更、非预期不良事件或安全性问题、候选药物HMPL-306作为单药或联合疗法达到研究的主要或次要终点的疗效、获得不同司法管辖区的监管批准,以及获得监管批准后取得商业认可的能力、HMPL-306用于目标适应症的潜在市场、资金充足性以及新冠肺炎全球大流行对整体经济、监管及政治状况带来的影响等。当前和潜在投资者请勿过度依赖这些前瞻性陈述,这些陈述仅在截至本新闻稿发布当日有效。有关这些风险和其他风险的进一步讨论,请查阅和黄医药向美国证券交易委员会和AIM提交的文件。无论是否出现新信息、未来事件或情况或其他因素,和黄医药均不承担更新或修订本新闻稿所含信息的义务。

 

联系方式

投资者咨询

李健鸿,资深副总裁 +852 2121 8200
郑嘉惠,副总裁 +1 (973) 567 3786

媒体咨询

美洲
Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340(手机)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
欧洲
Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902(手机)/
+44 7779 545 055(手机)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
亚洲
卢志伦,
博然思维集团
+852 9850 5033(手机)
周怡,
博然思维集团
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com
中国大陆
张瑞丹,
爱德曼公关公司
+86 139 1694 1712(手机)
fay.zhang@edelman.com

任命保荐人

Freddy Crossley /
Atholl Tweedie,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500

 

[1] Choe S et al. Blood 2019;134(Supplement_1):545. doi:10.1182/blood-2019-122671.

[2] Harding JJ et al. Isoform Switching as a Mechanism of Acquired Resistance to Mutant Isocitrate Dehydrogenase Inhibition. Cancer Discov. 2018;8(12):1540-1547. doi:10.1158/2159-8290.CD-18-0877.

[3] Delahousse J et al. Circulating oncometabolite D-2-hydroxyglutarate enantiomer is a surrogate marker of isocitrate dehydrogenase-mutated intrahepatic cholangiocarcinomas. Eur J Cancer 2018;90:83-91. doi:10.1016/j.ejca.2017.11.024.

[4] 资料来源: National Cancer Institute – seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/amyl.html.

[5] Ostrom QT, Patil N et al. CBTRUS Statistical Report: Primary Brain and Other Central Nervous System Tumors Diagnosed in the United States in 2013–2017. Neuro Oncol. 2020;22(12 Suppl 2):iv1–iv96. doi:10.1093/neuonc/noaa200.

[6] Wen P, Kesari S.  Malignant Gliomas in Adults.  N Engl J Med 2008;359:492-507.  doi: 10.1056/NEJMra0708126.

[7] Yan H, Parsons W et al.  IDH1 and IDH2 Mutations in Gliomas.  N Engl J Med 2009;360:765-73. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa0808710.

[8] Massarweh NN, El-Serag HB.  Epidemiology of Hepatocellular Carcinoma and Intrahepatic Cholangiocarcinoma.  Cancer Control September 2017. doi: 10.1177/1073274817729245.

[9] SEER Cancer Stat Facts: Liver and Intrahepatic Bile Duct Cancer. National Cancer Institute. seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/livibd.html

[10] Lowery MA, Ptashkin R et al. Comprehensive Molecular Profiling of Intrahepatic and Extrahepatic Cholangiocarcinomas: Potential Targets for Intervention. Clin Cancer Res. 2018;24(17):4154-4161.  doi:10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-18-0078.

 

1 个附件
下载新闻稿 (PDF)

Nasdaq: $29.30 (+0.06) | AIM: £4.18 (-0.01)
News & Presentations
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Oncology / Immunology, Press Releases, RNS Announcements | 29 Mar 2021

HUTCHMED Initiates International Phase I Trials of IDH1/2 Dual Inhibitor in Patients with Advanced Solid Tumors or Hematological Malignancies

— HMPL-306 is the sixth innovative oncology drug candidate discovered in house by HUTCHMED to enter into global development —

 

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ — Monday, March 29, 2021: Hutchison China MediTech Limited (“HUTCHMED”) (Nasdaq/AIM: HCM) has initiated two international Phase I studies of HMPL-306, its novel selective small molecule dual inhibitor of isocitrate dehydrogenase (“IDH”) 1 and 2 mutations. One trial is in patients with advanced solid tumors and one trial is in patients with hematological malignancies. Both trials have sites in the US and Europe. The first international patient was dosed on March 25, 2021, following a Phase I trial that was initiated in China in the second half of 2020. This new program is a demonstration of HUTCHMED’s accelerating and expanding global clinical development presence.

These two trials are multi-center studies to evaluate the safety, tolerability pharmacokinetics, pharmacodynamics and preliminary efficacy of HMPL‑306. The first trial is in solid tumors (including but not limited to gliomas, chondrosarcomas, or cholangiocarcinomas), while a second trial is in advanced relapsed, refractory or resistant hematological malignancies that harbor IDH1 or IDH2 mutations. The first stage of each study is a dose escalation phase where cohorts of patients will receive ascending oral doses of HMPL‑306 to determine the maximum tolerated dose and/or the recommended Phase II dose (“RP2D”). The second stage is a dose expansion phase where patients will receive HMPL‑306 to further evaluate the safety, tolerability, and clinical activity at the RP2D.  Additional details may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifiers NCT04762602 and NCT04764474, respectively.

The MD Anderson Cancer Center (“MDACC”) is the lead institution on both studies. The lead investigator for the hematological malignancies study is Dr. Farhad Ravandi, the Janiece and Stephen A. Lasher Professor of Medicine and Chief of Section of Developmental Therapeutics in the Department of Leukemia at The University of Texas MDACC. The lead investigator for the solid tumor study is Dr. Filip Janku, Associate Professor, Department of Investigational Cancer Therapeutics at The University of Texas MDACC.

A Phase I study of HMPL-306 is underway in China, with the first patient dosed in July 2020.  Additional details of that study may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT04272957.

HMPL-306 is HUTCHMED’s ninth innovative oncology drug candidate that it has discovered that has entered clinical development and the sixth to enter global clinical development. Cytoplasmic mutant IDH1 and mitochondrial mutant IDH2 have been known to switch to the other form when targeted by an inhibitor of IDH1 mutant alone or IDH2 mutant alone. By targeting both IDH1 and IDH2 mutations, HMPL-306 could potentially provide therapeutic benefits in cancer patients harboring either IDH mutation, and may address acquired resistance to IDH inhibition through isoform switching.

 

About IDH and Malignancies

IDHs are critical metabolic enzymes that help to break down nutrients and generate energy for cells. When mutated, IDH creates a molecule that alters the cell’s genetic programming and prevents cells from maturing, 2-hydroxyglutarate (“2-HG”). Reduction in 2-HG levels can be used as a marker of target engagement by an IDH inhibitor. IDH1 or IDH2 mutations are common genetic alterations in various types of blood and solid tumors, including acute myeloid leukemia (“AML”) with approximately 20% of patients having mutant IDH genes, myelodysplastic syndrome (MDS), myeloproliferative neoplasms (MPNs), low-grade glioma and intrahepatic cholangiocarcinoma (“IHCC”). Mutant IDH isoform switching, either from cytoplasmic mutant IDH1 to mitochondrial mutant IDH2, or vice versa, is a mechanism of acquired resistance to IDH inhibition in AML and cholangiocarcinoma.[1],[2],[3] Currently, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has approved one drug for IDH1 mutation and one drug for IDH2 mutation, but no dual inhibitor targeting both IDH1 and IDH2 mutants has been approved.

In the US, it is estimated that there were approximately 20,000 new cases of AML in 2020 and the five-year relative survival rate is 28.7%.[4]

IDH mutations are present in a number of solid tumors, including malignant glioma and IHCC.  In the US, the annual incidence of malignant glioma is estimated to be 20,000, 50-70% of which are glioblastoma.[5],[6] Approximately 60-80% of Grade 2 or 3 glioma and secondary glioblastoma harbor IDH mutations.[7] IHCC accounts for 10-20% of primary liver cancer, which was estimated to be diagnosed in 42,810 US patients in 2020.[8],[9] Approximately 20-30% of IHCC harbors IDH mutations.[10]

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM: HCM) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company committed, over the past twenty years, to the discovery and global development of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. It has advanced ten cancer drug candidates from discovery into clinical studies around the world and has extensive commercial infrastructure in its home market of China. For more information, please visit: www.hutch-med.com.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995.  These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations for the initiation of clinical development of HMPL-306 and the potential benefits of HMPL-306 in patients harboring IDH mutations.  Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties.  Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding clinical trial enrollment rates, timing and availability of subjects meeting a study’s inclusion and exclusion criteria, changes to clinical protocols or regulatory requirements, unexpected adverse events or safety issues, the ability of drug candidate HMPL-306 as a monotherapy or in combinations to meet the primary or secondary endpoint of a study, to obtain regulatory approval in different jurisdictions and to gain commercial acceptance after obtaining regulatory approval, the potential market of HMPL-306 for a targeted indication, the sufficiency of funding, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on general economic, regulatory and political conditions.  Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof.  For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and on AIM.  HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

 

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries

Mark Lee,
Senior Vice President
+852 2121 8200
Annie Cheng,
Vice President
+1 (973) 567 3786

Media Enquiries

Americas
Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
Europe
Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902 (Mobile) /
+44 7779 545 055 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
Asia
Joseph Chi Lo,
Brunswick
+852 9850 5033 (Mobile)
Zhou Yi,
Brunswick
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com

Nominated Advisor

Freddy Crossley /
Atholl Tweedie,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500

 

[1] Choe S et al. Blood 2019;134(Supplement_1):545. doi:10.1182/blood-2019-122671.

[2] Harding JJ et al. Isoform Switching as a Mechanism of Acquired Resistance to Mutant Isocitrate Dehydrogenase Inhibition. Cancer Discov. 2018;8(12):1540-1547. doi:10.1158/2159-8290.CD-18-0877.

[3] Delahousse J et al. Circulating oncometabolite D-2-hydroxyglutarate enantiomer is a surrogate marker of isocitrate dehydrogenase-mutated intrahepatic cholangiocarcinomas. Eur J Cancer 2018;90:83-91. doi:10.1016/j.ejca.2017.11.024.

[4] National Cancer Institute – seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/amyl.html.

[5] Ostrom QT, Patil N et al. CBTRUS Statistical Report: Primary Brain and Other Central Nervous System Tumors Diagnosed in the United States in 2013–2017. Neuro Oncol. 2020;22(12 Suppl 2):iv1–iv96. doi:10.1093/neuonc/noaa200.

[6] Wen P, Kesari S.  Malignant Gliomas in Adults.  N Engl J Med 2008;359:492-507.  doi: 10.1056/NEJMra0708126.

[7] Yan H, Parsons W et al.  IDH1 and IDH2 Mutations in Gliomas.  N Engl J Med 2009;360:765-73. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa0808710.

[8] Massarweh NN, El-Serag HB.  Epidemiology of Hepatocellular Carcinoma and Intrahepatic Cholangiocarcinoma.  Cancer Control September 2017. doi: 10.1177/1073274817729245.

[9] SEER Cancer Stat Facts: Liver and Intrahepatic Bile Duct Cancer. National Cancer Institute. seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/livibd.html

[10] Lowery MA, Ptashkin R et al. Comprehensive Molecular Profiling of Intrahepatic and Extrahepatic Cholangiocarcinomas: Potential Targets for Intervention. Clin Cancer Res. 2018;24(17):4154-4161.  doi:10.1158/1078-0432.CCR-18-0078.