Nasdaq:US$13.50 (+0.55) | HKEX:HK$22.10 (+0.30) | AIM:£2.26 (+0.09)
新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新聞稿, 集團 | 2022-11-15

和黃醫藥宣佈專注於取得後期管線監管批准的戰略

重新調整優先順序加速盈利之路

評估選定後期研發藥物的合作機會

 

中國香港、上海和美國新澤西州:2022年11月15日,星期二:和黃醫藥(中國)有限公司(簡稱「和黃醫藥」或「HUTCHMED」)(納斯達克/ AIM:HCM; 香港交易所:13)在對業務進行深入評估后,於今天提供了公司戰略更新。

應對當前影響全球生物製藥行業的具有挑戰性的市場條件,和黃醫藥已做出幾項決定,旨在加快公司的盈利之路並建立長期可持續的業務。

和黃醫藥正在積極進行戰略轉變,專注於其內部開發管線中最前沿的、最有可能推動近期價值的藥物。 因此:

  • 和黃醫藥將優先考慮其後期註冊研究及通過監管機構的批准這些藥物上市,特別是呋喹替尼(fruquintinib)的全球註冊。
  • 某些早期研究不會再被優先考慮用於內部開發,而某些其他專案會考慮外部商業機會,讓公司能夠將資源集中在其後期藥物上。 隨著一些相關臨床試驗的結束,和黃醫藥將繼續致力於道德上及患者關愛方面將繼續是我們的首要出發點。
  • 和黃醫藥將尋求潛在的合作夥伴,將其藥物在中國境外商業化,以加速為全球患者提供創新藥物。

和黃醫藥將在適當時提供更新,包括有關簡化組織、重新部署關鍵人才以支持註冊研究和監管申請的具體計劃和進展的具體決定。

鑒於這一戰略重心調整,現任執行副總裁、研發負責人兼首席醫學官(中國)石明博士將總體負責全球研發及臨床開發。 在石博士的領導下,和黃醫藥繼FRESCO-2於2022年8月取得成功的多中心臨床試驗結果後,將繼續高度聚焦其領先國際的藥物呋喹替尼的監管申請和進一步開發,包括即將提交美國食品藥物管理局的新藥上市申請 。 作為戰略重心調整的一部分,執行副總裁、總經理及首席醫學官(國際)Marek Kania 博士將逐漸卸任在和黃醫藥的職位。

和黃醫藥執行董事、首席執行官兼首席科學官蘇慰國博士表示:

「我們相信,這些經慎重考慮的行動將確保我們加快盈利之路,從而建立可持續的業務以支持我們未來的成功。 影響全球生物製藥公司的具有挑戰的市場環境要求公司規範其方法。 與許多其他公司一樣,我們決定現在進行調整,以令我們能夠專注於後期管線產品的開發。

我謹代表董事會和管理團隊感謝受我們決策影響的每個人的貢獻,感謝我們的全球團隊為和黃醫藥的成功所作出的持續努力。 我還要感謝Marek對和黃醫藥的貢獻,他在建立我們的國際影響力以及設立強大的領導團隊以加速多個主要專案的臨床開發方面所發揮的作用。

我們成為一家全球性生物製藥公司的願景保持不變,但是我們希望主要通過合作的方式在中國境外實現商業化以實現這一戰略。 無論如何,我們將繼續投資於全球發展,以實現我們為全球患者帶來創新藥物的目標。 」

 

關於和黃醫藥

和黃醫藥(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM; 香港交易所:13)是一家處於商業化階段的創新型生物醫藥公司,致力於發現、全球開發和商業化治療癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向藥物和免疫療法。 集團旗下公司共有超過4,900名員工,其中核心的腫瘤/免疫業務擁有約1,800人的團隊。 自成立以來,和黃醫藥在全球範圍內致力於將自主發現的抗腫瘤候選藥物惠及患者,其中首三個創新腫瘤藥物現已在中國獲批上市。 欲瞭解更多詳情,請訪問:www.hutchmed.com 或關注我們的LinkedIn專頁。

 

前瞻性陳述

本公包含1995年《美國私人證券訴訟改革法案》“安全港”條款中定義的前瞻性陳述。 這些前瞻性陳述反映了和黃醫藥目前對未來事件的預期,包括對其企業戰略的實施和結果的預期,以及對成功建立合作夥伴關係,使其藥物在中國境外商業化的能力的預期。 前瞻性陳述涉及風險和不確定性。 此類風險和不確定性包括(除其他以外)下列假設:對和黃醫藥正在研發的候選藥物的潛在效益、安全性和有效性或進展的假設,將候選藥物推進臨床開發的數量和時間,合作夥伴的計劃以及這些合作對產品開發活動和財務資源的影響,和黃醫藥或其合作夥伴迅速或完全獲得監管當局批准的可能性,擁有足夠的資金使和黃醫藥能夠繼續執行其策略並實現盈利, 此類事件發生的時間,以及新冠肺炎全球大流行對整體經濟、監管及政治狀況帶來的影響等。 當前和潛在投資者請勿過度依賴這些前瞻性陳述,這些陳述僅在截至本公告發佈當日有效。 有關這些風險和其他風險的進一步討論,請查閱和黃醫藥向美國證券交易委員會、AIM以及香港聯合交易所有限公司提交的檔。 無論是否出現新訊息、未來事件或情況或其他因素,和黃醫藥均不承擔更新或修訂本公告所含訊息的義務。

 

內幕消息

本公告包含(歐盟)第596/2014號條例(該條例構成《2018年歐洲聯盟(退出)法》定義的歐盟保留法律的一部分)第7條規定的內幕消息。

Nasdaq:US$13.50 (+0.55) | HKEX:HK$22.25 (+0.45) | AIM:£2.26 (+0.09)
News & Presentations
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Announcements & Press Releases, Group | 15 Nov 2022

HUTCHMED Announces Strategy to Focus on Late-Stage Pipeline Regulatory Approvals

Reprioritization accelerating path to profitability

Evaluation of partnership opportunities for select late-stage assets

 

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ — Tuesday, November 15, 2022: HUTCHMED (China) Limited (“HUTCHMED”) (Nasdaq/AIM:HCM; HKEX:13) today provides a corporate and strategic update, following an in-depth evaluation of the business.

In response to the challenging market conditions currently affecting the global biopharmaceutical sector, HUTCHMED has taken a number of decisions aimed at accelerating HUTCHMED’s path to profitability and establishing a long-term sustainable business.

HUTCHMED is proactively making a strategic shift to focus on the most advanced assets from its internal developed pipeline, that are most likely to drive near-term value. Accordingly:

  • HUTCHMED will prioritize its late-stage and registrational studies, to focus on bringing these assets through regulatory approval in particular the global registration of fruquintinib.
  • Selected early-stage studies will not be prioritized for internal development, and others will be considered as candidates for out-licensing opportunities, enabling the company to focus resources on its later-stage assets. As some related clinical trials wind down, HUTCHMED remains committed to ethical practices and patient care will continue to be our top priority.
  • HUTCHMED will seek potential partnerships to commercialize its assets outside of China, to accelerate the availability of innovative medicines for patients globally.

HUTCHMED will provide updates in due course with detailed decisions regarding specific programs and progress to streamline the organization, redeploying key talent in support of registrational studies and regulatory submissions.

In light of this strategic shift in focus, Dr. Michael Shi, currently Executive Vice President, Head of Research and Development and Chief Medical Officer, China, will become responsible for clinical development globally. Under Dr. Shi’s leadership, HUTCHMED will remain highly focused on the regulatory submission and further development for fruquintinib, its lead international asset, following the successful multi-regional clinical trial results achieved in August 2022 from FRESCO-2, including its upcoming U.S. FDA New Drug Application filing. As part of this change in strategic focus, Dr. Marek Kania, Executive Vice President, Managing Director and Chief Medical Officer, International, will be transitioning out from his role with HUTCHMED.

Dr. Weiguo Su, Executive Director, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Scientific Officer of HUTCHMED, said:

“We believe that these prudent actions will ensure that we accelerate our path to profitability and therefore establish a sustainable business to support our future success. The challenging market conditions affecting biopharmaceutical companies across the globe require companies to be disciplined in their approach and, like many other companies, we have decided to make adjustments now to enable us to focus on the development of the products in our late-stage pipeline.

“On behalf of the Board and management team, I would like to recognize the contributions of everyone affected by our decisions and I remain grateful to our global team for their continued work towards HUTCHMED’s success. I would also like to thank Marek for his contribution to HUTCHMED, his role in establishing our presence internationally, and building a strong leadership team to accelerate the clinical development of several major programs.

“Our vision of becoming a global biopharmaceutical company remains unchanged, but we expect to fulfill this strategy by commercialization outside China primarily through partnerships. Regardless, we will continue to invest in global development to reach our goal of bringing innovative medicines to patients worldwide.”

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM:HCM; HKEX:13) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery and global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. It has more than 4,900 personnel across all its companies, at the center of which is a team of about 1,800 in oncology/​immunology. Since inception HUTCHMED has been focused on bringing cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery to patients around the world,  with its first three oncology drugs now approved and marketed in China. For more information, please visit: www.hutch‑med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This announcement contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the implementation and results of its corporate strategy and its ability to successfully enter into partnerships to commercialize its assets outside of China. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding the potential benefits, safety and efficacy or progress of the drug candidates in HUTCHMED’s pipeline, the number and timing of advancement of drug candidates into clinical development, the plans of collaborative partners and the impact of those collaborations on product development activities and financial resources, the potential to gain approvals from regulatory authorities by HUTCHMED or its partners on an expedited basis or at all, the availability of sufficient funding to enable HUTCHMED to continue executing on its strategy and achieve profitability, the timing of these events, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, on AIM and on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this announcement, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

Inside Information

This announcement contains inside information for the purposes of Article 7 of Regulation (EU) No 596/2014 (as it forms part of retained EU law as defined in the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018).