Nasdaq:US$34.13 (+0.27) | HKEX:HK$55.60 (+0.60) | AIM:£5.14 (+0)
搜索结果
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新闻稿, 肿瘤学 / 免疫学 | 2021-11-01

和黄医药与阿斯利康启动赛沃替尼(Savolitinib)与英飞凡®(IMFINZI®)联合疗法 治疗MET驱动的晚期乳头状肾细胞癌患者的SAMETA国际III期临床试验

— 基于赛沃替尼包括SAVOIR及CALYPSO在内的多项乳头状肾细胞癌全球研究 —
— CALYPSO研究中,赛沃替尼和英飞凡®联合疗法治疗伴有MET驱动突变的乳头状肾细胞癌患者确认的缓解率为57% —

 

中国香港、上海和美国新泽西州:2021年11月1日,星期和黄医药(中国)有限公司(简称“和黄医药” 或 “HUTCHMED”)(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)与阿斯利康(LSE/STO/Nasdaq: AZN)已启动SAMETA研究。SAMETA是一项全球III 期临床试验,旨在研究强效、高选择性的口服间质上皮转化因子(“MET”,一种受体酪氨酸激酶)小分子抑制剂赛沃替尼(中国商品名:沃瑞沙®/ ORPATHYS®)与阿斯利康的PD-L1抑制剂英飞凡®(通用名:度伐利尤单抗/ durvalumab)联合疗法用于治疗MET驱动的乳头状肾细胞癌患者。首名患者已于2021 年10月28日接受首次给药治疗。

 

该项III期研究是在未接受治疗的的MET驱动的无法手术切除的局部晚期或转移性乳头状肾细胞癌中开展的开放标签、随机对照的多中心临床试验。该研究将评估赛沃替尼与英飞凡®联合疗法对比英飞凡®单药疗法或索坦®(sunitinib,一种口服多激酶抑制剂,目前被认为是此类患者的标准疗法)单药疗法的疗效及安全性。研究的主要终点是中位无进展生存期(“PFS”)。其他终点包括中位总生存期(“OS”)、客观缓解率(“ORR”)、缓解持续时间(“DoR”)、 6 个月和12个月的疾病控制率(“DCR”)、第二次无进展生存期(“PFS2”)、安全性、药代动力学及生存质量。该研究的其他详情,请浏览clinicaltrials.gov ,检索注册号NCT05043090查看。

 

关于乳头状肾细胞癌

乳头状肾细胞癌是肾癌的一种亚型,通常难以治疗,现有疗法能够获得的缓解率较低,目前对于伴有MET驱动突变的患者暂无获批的治疗方式。全球范围内,2020年约新增430,000例肾癌新症。[1] 在美国,估计2021年将有76,000例肾癌新症。[2] 在肾脏肿瘤中,约九成属于肾细胞癌。肾细胞癌是由多种肿瘤亚型组成的一种异质性疾病,各亚型的临床病程和预后变化很大。[3],[4]肾细胞癌中约15%属于乳头状肾细胞癌。[4],[5] MET基因是乳头状肾细胞癌的其中一种主要染色体水平改变,占所有乳头状肾细胞癌的63%,Ⅰ型乳头状肾细胞癌的81%,及II型乳头状肾细胞癌的46%。[6]

 

关于赛沃替尼(中国商品名:沃瑞沙®

赛沃替尼(旧称沃利替尼)是一种强效、高选择性的口服MET酪氨酸激酶抑制剂,在晚期实体瘤中表现出临床活性。赛沃替尼可阻断因突变(例如外显子14跳跃突变或其他点突变)或基因扩增而导致的MET受体酪氨酸激酶信号通路的异常激活。

 

赛沃替尼在中国获批,并以商品名沃瑞沙®上市用于治疗接受全身性治疗后疾病进展或无法接受化疗的MET外显子14跳跃突变的非小细胞肺癌患者。目前,赛沃替尼正作为单药疗法或与其他药物的联合疗法,开发用于治疗包括肺癌、肾癌和胃癌在内的多种肿瘤类型。

 

继赛沃替尼由和黄医药自主研发及初步开发后,2011年,和黄医药与阿斯利康达成一项全球许可协议,旨在共同开发赛沃替尼并促进其商业化。和黄医药与阿斯利康合作负责赛沃替尼的临床开发,在中国由和黄医药主导,在海外则由阿斯利康主导。此外,和黄医药负责赛沃替尼在中国的上市许可、生产和供应,而阿斯利康则负责实现赛沃替尼在中国乃至全球范围内的商业化。赛沃替尼的销售收入由阿斯利康确认。

 

赛沃替尼用于治疗非小细胞肺癌(“NSCLC”)

赛沃替尼单药治疗MET 外显子14跳跃突变NSCLC的 II 期研究 (NCT02897479–  赛沃替尼于2021年6月获中国国家药品监督管理局(“国家药监局”)批准用于治疗MET外显子14跳跃突变的NSCLC。此获批是基于一项中国II期临床试验,其研究结果已于《柳叶刀·呼吸医学》[7]上发表。中位随访时间为17.6个月,所有使用赛沃替尼治疗的受试者的ORR为42.9%(95%置信区间 [“CI”] 31.1-55.3),中位PFS为6.8个月(95% CI 4.2-9.6)。整个研究人群的DCR 为 82.9%(95% CI 72.0-90.8)。赛沃替尼的安全性和耐受性特征与之前的研究结果一致,没有发现新的安全性问题。持续批准取决于在该患者人群中成功完成确证性试验 (NCT04923945)。

 

TATTON Ib/II期扩展研究:赛沃替尼联合泰瑞沙®(TAGRISSO®)用于治疗因MET扩展引起的EGFR-TKI治疗后进展的患者(NCT02143466– TATTON研究是一项在超过220名接受过任何EGFR-TKI治疗的伴有MET扩增的表皮生长因子受体(“EGFR” )突变阳性NSCLC患者中开展的全球探索性研究。其研究结果已于《柳叶刀·肿瘤学》[8]上发表,最终分析结果于世界肺癌大会[9]上发布。在接受第一代或第二代EGFR-TKI治疗后疾病进展的三个患者队列中,ORR为64.7-66.7%,中位PFS为9.0-11.1个月。在接受第三代EGFR-TKI治疗后疾病进展的患者队列中,ORR为33.3%(95% CI 22.4-45.7),中位PFS为5.5个月(95% CI 4.1-7.7)。该联合疗法展现出令人鼓舞的抗肿瘤活性及可接受的风险获益特征。

 

SAVANNAH II 期研究:赛沃替尼联合泰瑞沙®用于治疗因 MET 扩增或过表达引起的泰瑞沙®治疗后进展的患者 (NCT03778229 – SAVANNAH 研究是一项针对接受过泰瑞沙®治疗的伴有MET扩增或过表达的EGFR突变阳性的 NSCLC 患者的单臂、开放标签的全球性研究。泰瑞沙®是阿斯利康的一种EGFR-TKI。

 

SACHI III期研究:赛沃替尼联合泰瑞沙®用于因 MET 扩增引起的EGFR-TKI治疗后进展的患者(NCT05015608– SACHI研究是一项在中国开展的随机、开放标签研究,针对接受EGFR-TKI治疗后进展的伴有MET扩增的EGFR突变阳性的NSCLC患者。

 

SANOVO III期研究:赛沃替尼联合泰瑞沙®用于治疗初治的伴有MET过表达的EGFR突变阳性NSCLC患者(NCT05009836– SANOVO研究是一项在中国开展的随机、盲性研究,针对MET阳性的未接受治疗的不可切除或转移性EGFR突变阳性的NSCLC患者。

 

赛沃替尼用于治疗肾癌

SAVOIR研究:赛沃替尼单药治疗MET驱动的乳头状肾细胞癌(NCT03091192 – 2020年5月, 在MET驱动的乳头状肾细胞癌患者中比较赛沃替尼单药治疗与舒尼替尼单药治疗的这项全球研究中60名患者的研究数据于ASCO 2020网上年会发表,并同步发表于《美国医学会杂志•肿瘤学(JAMA Oncology)》[10] 。赛沃替尼表现出令人鼓舞的疗效,ORR为27%,而舒尼替尼的ORR则为7%。至数据截止时,对赛沃替尼有反应的患者均未出现疾病进展,OS的风险比(HR)为0.51(95% CI:0.21–1.17; p=0.110),中位生存期尚未到达。

 

CALYPSO I/II 期研究:赛沃替尼联合英飞凡®(IMFINZI®)PD-L1 抑制剂用于治疗肾细胞癌(NCT02819596 – CALYPSO 研究是一项由研究者发起的开放标签的 I/II 期赛沃替尼与英飞凡®联合疗法研究,英飞凡®是阿斯利康的一种PD-L1抗体。该研究旨在评估赛沃替尼/英飞凡®联合治疗乳头状肾细胞癌患者和肾透明细胞癌患者的安全性和疗效。在 ASCO 2021年网上年会上[11] ,公布了一项该研究中对转移性乳头状肾细胞癌患者队列 41 名患者的分析,其中显示 14 名 MET 驱动患者中8名达到确认反应(57%),中位DoR 为 9.4 个月,中位 PFS 为 10.5 个月,中位 OS 为 27.4 个月。而在该研究中没有出现新的安全信号。

 

SAMETA III期研究: 联合英飞凡® PD-L1 抑制剂用于治疗MET 驱动且不可切除的局部晚期或转移性乳头状肾细胞癌(NCT05043090 – 鉴于SAVOIR和 CALYPSO 的研究成果令人鼓舞,我们已启动SAMETA研究,这是一项开放标签、随机对照的全球 III 期临床试验,评估赛沃替尼与英飞凡®联合疗法对比舒尼替尼单药疗法或英飞凡®单药疗法,用于治疗 MET驱动的肿瘤不可切除的局部晚期或转移性乳头状肾细胞癌患者。

 

赛沃替尼用于治疗胃癌

赛沃替尼单药疗法治疗MET扩增的晚期或转移性胃癌或胃食管结合部腺癌患者的II期研究(NCT04923932) – 这是一项开放标签及两队列的多中心临床试验,旨在评估赛沃替尼在至少接受过一线标准治疗后疾病进展的局部晚期或转移性胃癌或胃食管结合部腺癌患者中的疗效、安全性和药代动力学特征。

 

该项临床试验是继沃瑞沙®多项在亚洲治疗MET驱动的胃癌的 II 期研究后启动,其中包括VIKTORY研究。[12]  VIKTORY 是一项由研究者发起于韩国进行的针对胃癌的 II 期伞式研究,共有 715 名患者接受测序后纳入分子驱动的患者组,其中包括伴有MET 扩增的胃癌患者。 伴有MET 扩增的患者接受赛沃替尼单药治疗,结果显示ORR 为 50%(10/20名,95% CI:28.0-71.9)。

 

赛沃替尼用于治疗其他癌症

通过研究者发起的临床试验,赛沃替尼在包括结直肠癌在内的其他多种MET驱动的肿瘤中的应用潜力也在继续探索中。

 

关于英飞凡®

英飞凡®(度伐利尤单抗)是一个人源化的PD-L1单克隆抗体,可与PD-L1蛋白结合,并阻断PD-L1跟PD-1和CD80蛋白的结合,从而阻断肿瘤免疫逃逸并释放被抑制的免疫反应。

 

英飞凡®是放化疗后疾病未进展的III期不可切除非小细胞肺癌患者中唯一获批的以根治为目的的免疫疗法,基于PACIFIC III期研究结果,英飞凡®亦成为此类患者中的全球治疗标准。

 

基于 CASPIAN III 期研究结果,英飞凡®还在美国、欧盟、日本、中国和全球多个其他国家获批用于治疗广泛期小细胞肺癌。

 

除了广泛期小细胞肺癌和Ⅲ期不可切除非小细胞肺癌适应症的获批外,英飞凡®亦在多个国家被批准用于治疗既往经治的晚期膀胱癌患者。自2017年5月首次获批以来,已有超过100, 000名患者接受了英飞凡®治疗。

 

作为整体研发计划的一部分,英飞凡®目前正以单药或者联合其它抗癌药物的形式,探索在非小细胞肺癌、小细胞肺癌、膀胱癌、肝癌、胆管癌、食管癌、胃癌和胃食管结合部癌、宫颈癌、卵巢癌、子宫内膜癌和其它实体肿瘤等方向的治疗前景。

 

关于和黄医药

和黄医药(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)是一家处于商业化阶段的创新型生物医药公司,致力于发现、全球开发和商业化治疗癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向药物和免疫疗法。集团旗下公司共有超过4,500名员工,其中核心的肿瘤/免疫业务拥有1,400人的团队。自成立以来,和黄医药已将自主发现的11个候选癌症药物推进到在全球开展临床研究,其中首三个创新肿瘤药物现已获批上市。欲了解更多详情,请访问:www.hutch-med.com 或关注我们的领英专页

 

前瞻性陈述

本新闻稿包含1995年《美国私人证券诉讼改革法案》“安全港”条款中定义的前瞻性陈述。这些前瞻性陈述反映了和黄医药目前对未来事件的预期,包括对赛沃替尼用于治疗肾癌患者的治疗潜力的预期,赛沃替尼针对此适应症及其他适应症的进一步临床研究计划,对此类研究是否能达到其主要或次要终点的预期,以及对此类研究完成时间和结果发布的预期。前瞻性陈述涉及风险和不确定性。此类风险和不确定性包括下列假设:支持赛沃替尼用于治疗肾癌的新药上市申请获批的数据充足性,赛沃替尼在中国、欧洲和日本等其他地区获得快速审批的潜力,赛沃替尼的安全性,赛沃替尼成为治疗肾癌患者治疗新标准的潜力、实现及完成赛沃替尼进一步临床开发计划的能力,在美国、欧洲、日本、中国或其他地区推出上市赛沃替尼的可能性,上述事件的时间,以及新冠肺炎全球大流行对整体经济、监管及政治状况带来的影响等。此外,由于某些研究依赖于泰瑞沙®和英飞凡®作为与赛沃替尼的联合疗法,此类风险和不确定性包括下列假设:泰瑞沙®和英飞凡® 的安全性、有效性、供应和持续监管批准。当前和潜在投资者请勿过度依赖这些前瞻性陈述,这些陈述仅在截至本新闻稿发布当日有效。有关这些风险和其他风险的进一步讨论,请查阅和黄医药向美国证券交易委员会、AIM及香港联合交易所有限公司提交的文件。无论是否出现新讯息、未来事件或情况或其他因素,和黄医药均不承担更新或修订本新闻稿所含讯息的义务。

 

[1] The Global Cancer Observatory, kidney cancer fact sheet. https://gco.iarc.fr/today/data/factsheets/cancers/29-Kidney-fact-sheet.pdf.  Accessed August 16, 2021.
[2] SEER, Cancer Stat Facts: Kidney and Renal Pelvis Cancer. https://seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/kidrp.html. Accessed August 16, 2021.
[3]American Cancer Society. What Is Kidney Cancer? https://www.cancer.org/cancer/kidney-cancer/about/what-is-kidney-cancer.html. Accessed August 16, 2021.
[4] Leibovich BC, Lohse CM, Crispen PL, et al. Histological subtype is an independent predictor of outcome for patients with renal cell carcinoma. J Urol. 2010;183(4):1309-1315. doi: 10.1016/j.juro.2009.12.035.
[5] https://www.cancer.gov/pediatric-adult-rare-tumor/rare-tumors/rare-kidney-tumors/papillary-renal-cell-carcinoma. Accessed August 16, 2021.
[6] Cancer Genome Atlas Research Network, Linehan WM, Spellman PT, et al. Comprehensive Molecular Characterization of Papillary Renal-Cell Carcinoma. N Engl J Med. 2016;374(2):135-145. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa1505917.
[7] Lu S, et al. Once-daily savolitinib in Chinese patients with pulmonary sarcomatoid carcinomas and other non-small-cell lung cancers harbouring MET exon 14 skipping alterations: a multicentre, single-arm, open-label, phase 2 study. Lancet Respir Med. 2021 Jun 21:S2213-2600(21)00084-9. doi: 10.1016/S2213-2600(21)00084-9.
[8] Sequist LV, et al. Osimertinib plus savolitinib in patients with EGFR mutation-positive, MET-amplified, non-small-cell lung cancer after progression on EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibitors: interim results from a multicentre, open-label, phase 1b study. Lancet Oncol. 2020;21(3):373-386. doi:10.1016/S1470-2045(19)30785-5.
[9] Han J, et al. FP14.03 Osimertinib + Savolitinib in pts with EGFRm MET-Amplified/Overexpressed NSCLC: Phase Ib TATTON Parts B and D Final Analysis. J Thorac Oncol. 2021;16(3S):S227-S228. doi: 10.1016/j.jtho.2021.01.146.
[10] Choueiri TK, et al. Efficacy of Savolitinib vs Sunitinib in Patients With MET-Driven Papillary Renal Cell Carcinoma: The SAVOIR Phase 3 Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Oncol. 2020 Aug 1;6(8):1247-1255. doi: 10.1001/jamaoncol.2020.2218.
[11] Suarez C, et al. Clinical activity of durvalumab and savolitinib in MET-driven, metastatic papillary renal cancer. J Clin Oncol 39, no. 15_suppl (May 20, 2021) 4511-4511. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2021.39.15_suppl.4511.
[12] Lee J, et al. Tumor Genomic Profiling Guides Patients with Metastatic Gastric Cancer to Targeted Treatment: The VIKTORY Umbrella Trial. Cancer Discov. 2019;9(10):1388-1405. doi: 10.1158/2159-8290.CD-19-0442.

 

联络方法

投资者咨询

李健鸿,高级副总裁 +852 2121 8200
郑嘉惠,副总裁 +1 (973) 567 3786

传媒咨询

美洲
Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340(手机)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
欧洲
Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902(手机) /
+44 7779 545 055(手机)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
中国大陆
龙肇怡 / 何芷晴,
纵横财经公关顾问有限公司
+852 9282 4640 /
+852 6198 4265(手机)
sprg_hutchmed@sprg.com.hk

任命保薦人

Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500

Nasdaq:US$34.13 (+0.27) | HKEX:HK$55.30 (+0.30) | AIM:£5.14 (+0)
Search Result
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Announcements & Press Releases, Oncology / Immunology | 1 Nov 2021

HUTCHMED and AstraZeneca Initiate SAMETA Global Phase III Trial of Savolitinib in Combination with PD-L1 Inhibitor IMFINZI® in Patients with MET-Driven Advanced Papillary Renal Cell Carcinoma

— Follows multiple global studies of savolitinib in papillary renal cell carcinoma patients including SAVOIR and CALYPSO —

— In CALYPSO, savolitinib and IMFINZI® combination demonstrated a 57% confirmed response rate in PRCC patients with tumors harboring MET-driven alterations —

 

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ — Monday, November 1, 2021: HUTCHMED (China) Limited (“HUTCHMED”) (Nasdaq/AIM:HCM; HKEX:13) and AstraZeneca PLC (“AstraZeneca”) (LSE/STO/Nasdaq: AZN) have initiated SAMETA, a global Phase III study of savolitinib (ORPATHYS® in China), an oral, potent, and highly selective small molecule inhibitor of MET, a receptor tyrosine kinase, in combination with AstraZeneca’s PD-L1 inhibitor IMFINZI® (durvalumab) in patients with MET-driven advanced papillary renal cell carcinoma (“PRCC”). The first patient received their first dose on October 28, 2021.

 

The Phase III trial is an open-label, randomized, controlled study in treatment-naïve patients with MET-driven, unresectable and locally advanced or metastatic PRCC, to evaluate the efficacy and safety of savolitinib in combination with IMFINZI®, compared to single agent IMFINZI® or single agent SUTENT® (sunitinib), an oral multi-kinase inhibitor considered the standard-of-care treatment option in PRCC. The primary endpoint of the study is median progression free survival (“PFS”). Other endpoints include median overall survival (“OS”), objective response rate (“ORR”), duration of response (“DoR”), 6-months and 12-months disease control rate (“DCR”), time to second progression (PFS2), safety, pharmacokinetics (“PK”) and quality of life. Additional details may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT05043090.

 

About PRCC

PRCC is a subtype of kidney cancer that is unusually difficult to treat, with low response rates from current treatment options and no treatments approved for patients with tumors that harbor MET-driven alterations. Worldwide, about 430,000 new patients were diagnosed with kidney cancer in 2020[1]. In the US, an estimated 76,000 people will be diagnosed with kidney cancer in 2021[2]. Approximately 90% of kidney tumors are renal cell carcinoma (“RCC”), which consist of several heterogeneous subtypes with highly variable clinical courses and outcomes[3],[4]. PRCC accounts for up to 15% of RCC[4],[5]. The MET gene has been found to be a major chromosome-level alteration in 81% of type-1 PRCC and 46% of type-2 PRCC, or 63% of PRCC[6].

 

About Savolitinib (ORPATHYS® in China)

Savolitinib is an oral, potent, and highly selective MET tyrosine kinase inhibitor (“TKI”) that has demonstrated clinical activity in advanced solid tumors. It blocks atypical activation of the MET receptor tyrosine kinase pathway that occurs because of mutations (such as exon 14 skipping alterations or other point mutations) or gene amplification.

 

Savolitinib is marketed in China under the brand name ORPATHYS® for the treatment of patients with non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”) with MET exon 14 skipping alterations who have progressed following prior systemic therapy or are unable to receive chemotherapy. It is currently under clinical development for multiple tumor types, including lung, kidney, and gastric cancers, as a single treatment and in combination with other medicines.

 

In 2011, following its discovery and initial development by HUTCHMED, AstraZeneca and HUTCHMED entered a global licensing agreement to jointly develop and commercialize savolitinib. Joint development in China is led by HUTCHMED, while AstraZeneca leads development outside of China. HUTCHMED is responsible for the marketing authorization, manufacturing and supply of savolitinib in China. AstraZeneca is responsible for the commercialization of savolitinib in China and worldwide. Sales of savolitinib are recognized by AstraZeneca.

 

Savolitinib development in NSCLC

Phase II study of savolitinib monotherapy in MET Exon 14 skipping alteration NSCLC (NCT02897479) – In June 2021, savolitinib was granted drug registration conditional approval by the National Medical Products Administration of China (NMPA) for MET Exon 14 skipping alteration NSCLC. The approval was based on the results of a Phase II study in China; results of this study were published in The Lancet Respiratory Medicine[7]. At a median follow up of 17.6 months, savolitinib demonstrated an ORR of 42.9% (95% confidence interval [CI] 31.1-55.3) and median PFS of 6.8 months (95% CI 4.2-9.6) in the overall trial population. DCR in the overall trial population was 82.9% (95% CI 72.0-90.8). The safety and tolerability profile of savolitinib was consistent with previous trials, and no new safety signals were identified. Continued approval is contingent upon the successful completion of a confirmatory trial in this patient population (NCT04923945).

 

TATTON Phase Ib/II expansion studies of savolitinib in combination with TAGRISSO® in patients who have progressed following EGFR TKI treatment due to MET amplification (NCT02143466) – This global exploratory study in over 220 EGFR mutation positive NSCLC patients with MET amplified tumors following progression after treatment with any EGFR TKI. Results were published in Lancet Oncology[8] and final analysis was presented at the World Conference on Lung Cancer[9]. Three cohorts with patients treated following progression on first- or second-generation EGFR TKI demonstrated an ORR of 64.7-66.7% and a median PFS of 9.0-11.1 months. The cohort of patients treated following progression on a third-generation EGFR TKI demonstrated an ORR of 33.3% (95% CI 22.4-45.7), with a median PFS of 5.5 months (95% CI 4.1-7.7). The combination demonstrated encouraging anti-tumor activity and an acceptable risk-benefit profile.

 

SAVANNAH Phase II study of savolitinib in combination with TAGRISSO® in patients who have progressed following TAGRISSO® due to MET amplification or overexpression (NCT03778229) – This is a single-arm, open-label, global study in epidermal growth factor receptor (“EGFR”) mutation positive NSCLC patients with MET amplified/overexpressed tumors following progression after treatment with TAGRISSO®, an EGFR TKI owned by AstraZeneca.

 

SACHI Phase III study of savolitinib in combination with TAGRISSO® in patients who have progressed following EGFR TKI treatment due to MET amplification (NCT05015608) – This is a randomized, open-label study in China in EGFR mutation positive NSCLC patients with MET amplified tumors following progression after treatment with any EGFR TKI.

 

SANOVO Phase III study of savolitinib in combination with TAGRISSO® in treatment-naïve patients with EGFR mutant positive NSCLC with MET overexpression (NCT05009836) – This is a randomized, blinded study in China in untreated, unresectable or metastatic patients with EGFR mutation positive NSCLC with MET positive tumors.

 

Savolitinib development in kidney cancer

SAVOIR randomized, controlled study of savolitinib monotherapy in MET-driven PRCC (NCT03091192) – In May 2020, data from 60 patients in this global study of savolitinib monotherapy compared with sunitinib monotherapy in MET-driven papillary RCC was presented at the ASCO 2020 Program and published simultaneously in JAMA Oncology[10]. Savolitinib demonstrated encouraging activity, including an ORR of 27% versus 7% for sunitinib, with no savolitinib responding patients experiencing disease progression at data cut-off, and an encouraging OS hazard ratio of 0.51 (95% CI: 0.21–1.17; p=0.110) with median not reached at data cut-off.

 

CALYPSO Phase I/II study of savolitinib in combination with IMFINZI® PD-L1 inhibitor in RCC (NCT02819596) – The CALYPSO study is an investigator initiated open-label Phase I/II study of savolitinib in combination with IMFINZI®, a PD-L1 antibody owned by AstraZeneca. The study is evaluating the safety and efficacy of the savolitinib/IMFINZI® combination in patients with papillary RCC and clear cell RCC. An analysis of 41 patients enrolled in the PRCC cohort of in this study was presented at the 2021 ASCO Annual Meeting[11], showing a confirmed response rate in 8 out of the 14 MET-driven patients, or 57%, with a median DoR of 9.4 months, median PFS of 10.5 months and median OS of 27.4 months. No new safety signals were seen.

 

SAMETA Phase III study in combination with IMFINZI® PD-L1 inhibitor in MET-driven, unresectable and locally advanced or metastatic PRCC (NCT05043090) – Based on the encouraging results of the SAVOIR and CALYPSO studies, we have initiated SAMETA, a global Phase III, open-label, randomized, controlled study of savolitinib plus IMFINZI® versus sunitinib monotherapy versus IMFINZI® monotherapy in patients with MET-driven, unresectable and locally advanced or metastatic papillary RCC.

 

Savolitinib development in gastric cancer

Phase II study of savolitinib monotherapy in advanced or metastatic MET amplified gastric cancer (“GC”) or adenocarcinoma of the gastroesophageal junction (“GEJ”) (NCT04923932– This is an open-label, two-cohort, multi-center study to evaluate the efficacy, safety and PK of savolitinib in locally advanced or metastatic GC or GEJ patients whose disease progressed after at least one line of standard therapy.

 

This trial follows multiple Phase II studies that have been conducted in Asia to study savolitinib in MET-driven GC patients, including VIKTORY[12]. VIKTORY is an investigator initiated Phase II umbrella study in GC in South Korea in which a total of 715 patients were successfully sequenced into molecular-driven patient groups, including those with MET amplified GC. Patients whose tumors harbor MET amplification were treated with savolitinib monotherapy, reporting an ORR of 50% (10/20, 95% CI: 28.0, 71.9).

 

Savolitinib development in other cancer indications

Savolitinib opportunities are also continuing to be explored in multiple other MET-driven tumor settings via investigator-initiated studies including colorectal cancer.

 

About IMFINZI®

IMFINZI® (durvalumab) is a human monoclonal antibody that binds to the PD-L1 protein and blocks the interaction of PD-L1 with PD-1 and CD80 proteins, countering the tumor’s immune-evading tactics and releasing the inhibition of immune responses.

 

IMFINZI® is the only approved immunotherapy in the curative-intent setting of unresectable, Stage III NSCLC in patients whose disease has not progressed after chemoradiation therapy and is the global standard of care in this setting based on the PACIFIC Phase III trial.

 

IMFINZI® is also approved in the US, EU, Japan, China and many other countries around the world for the treatment of extensive-stage small cell lung cancer (“SCLC”) based on the CASPIAN Phase III trial.

 

IMFINZI® is also approved for previously treated patients with advanced bladder cancer in several countries. Since the first approval in May 2017, more than 100,000 patients have been treated with IMFINZI®.

 

As part of a broad development program, IMFINZI® is being tested as a single treatment and in combinations with other anti-cancer treatments for patients with NSCLC, SCLC, bladder cancer, liver cancer, biliary tract cancer, esophageal cancer, gastric and gastroesophageal cancer, cervical cancer, ovarian cancer, endometrial cancer, and other solid tumors.

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM:HCM; HKEX:13) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery and global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. It has more than 4,500 personnel across all its companies, at the center of which is a team of over 1,400 in oncology/immunology. Since inception it has advanced eleven cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery into clinical studies around the world, with its first three oncology drugs now approved and marketed. For more information, please visit: www.hutch-med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the therapeutic potential of savolitinib for the treatment of patients with kidney cancer, the further clinical development of savolitinib in this and other indications, its expectations as to whether clinical studies of savolitinib would meet their primary or secondary endpoints, and its expectations as to the timing of the completion and the release of results from such studies. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding the sufficiency of its data to support New Drug Application approval of savolitinib for the treatment of patients with kidney cancer, its potential to gain expeditious approvals for savolitinib in other jurisdictions such as China E.U. or Japan, the safety profile of savolitinib the potential for savolitinib to become a new standard of care for kidney cancer patients, its ability to implement and complete its further clinical development plans for savolitinib its potential commercial launch in the U.S., E.U., Japan, China and other jurisdictions, the timing of these events, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. In addition, as certain studies rely on the use of TAGRISSO® and IMFINZI® as combination therapeutics with savolitinib, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and continued regulatory approval of TAGRISSO® and IMFINZI®. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, on AIM and with The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

[1]  The Global Cancer Observatory, kidney cancer fact sheet. https://gco.iarc.fr/today/data/factsheets/cancers/29-Kidney-fact-sheet.pdf. Accessed August 16, 2021.
[2]  SEER, Cancer Stat Facts: Kidney and Renal Pelvis Cancer. https://seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/kidrp.html. Accessed August 16, 2021.
[3]  American Cancer Society. What Is Kidney Cancer? https://www.cancer.org/cancer/kidney-cancer/about/what-is-kidney-cancer.html. Accessed August 16, 2021.
[4]  Leibovich BC, Lohse CM, Crispen PL, et al. Histological subtype is an independent predictor of outcome for patients with renal cell carcinoma. J Urol. 2010;183(4):1309-1315. doi: 10.1016/j.juro.2009.12.035.
[5]  https://www.cancer.gov/pediatric-adult-rare-tumor/rare-tumors/rare-kidney-tumors/papillary-renal-cell-carcinoma. Accessed August 16, 2021.
[6]  Cancer Genome Atlas Research Network, Linehan WM, Spellman PT, et al. Comprehensive Molecular Characterization of Papillary Renal-Cell Carcinoma. N Engl J Med. 2016;374(2):135-145. doi: 10.1056/NEJMoa1505917.
[7]  Lu S, et al. Once-daily savolitinib in Chinese patients with pulmonary sarcomatoid carcinomas and other non-small-cell lung cancers harbouring MET exon 14 skipping alterations: a multicentre, single-arm, open-label, phase 2 study. Lancet Respir Med. 2021 Jun 21:S2213-2600(21)00084-9. doi: 10.1016/S2213-2600(21)00084-9.
[8]  Sequist LV, et al. Osimertinib plus savolitinib in patients with EGFR mutation-positive, MET-amplified, non-small-cell lung cancer after progression on EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibitors: interim results from a multicentre, open-label, phase 1b study. Lancet Oncol. 2020;21(3):373-386. doi:10.1016/S1470-2045(19)30785-5.
[9]  Han JY, et al. Osimertinib + savolitinib in patients with EGFRm MET-amplified/overexpressed NSCLC: Phase Ib TATTON Parts B and D final analysis.  WCLC January 2021 #FP14.03. doi: 10.1016/j.jtho.2021.01.146.
[10] Choueiri TK, et al. Efficacy of Savolitinib vs Sunitinib in Patients With MET-Driven Papillary Renal Cell Carcinoma: The SAVOIR Phase 3 Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Oncol. 2020 Aug 1;6(8):1247-1255. doi: 10.1001/jamaoncol.2020.2218.
[11] Suarez C, et al. Clinical activity of durvalumab and savolitinib in MET-driven, metastatic papillary renal cancer. J Clin Oncol 39, no. 15_suppl (May 20, 2021) 4511-4511. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2021.39.15_suppl.4511.
[12] Lee J, et al. Tumor Genomic Profiling Guides Patients with Metastatic Gastric Cancer to Targeted Treatment: The VIKTORY Umbrella Trial. Cancer Discov. 2019;9(10):1388-1405. doi: 10.1158/2159-8290.CD-19-0442.

 

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries

Mark Lee, Senior Vice President +852 2121 8200
Annie Cheng, Vice President +1 (973) 567 3786

Media Enquiries

Americas
Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
Europe
Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902 (Mobile) /
+44 7779 545 055 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
Asia
Zhou Yi,
Brunswick
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com

Nominated Advisor

Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500