Nasdaq:US$9.05 (+0.29) | HKEX:HK$13.58 (+0.36) | AIM:£1.58 (+0.06)
搜索结果
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新闻稿, 新闻稿, 肿瘤学 / 免疫学 | 2022-05-02

和黄医药收到美国FDA有关索凡替尼(surufatinib) 用于治疗晚期神经内分泌瘤的完整回复函

和黄医药将于上午8时正(美国东部夏令时间)/ 下午1时正(英国夏令时间)/
晚上8时正(中国香港时间)举行电话会议

 

中国香港、上海和美国新泽西州 2022年5月2日(星期一):和黄医药(中国)有限公司(简称“和黄医药”或“本公司”)(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)宣布,美国食品药品监督管理局(简称“FDA”或“美国当局”)已就索凡替尼用于治疗胰腺和非胰腺神经内分泌瘤的新药上市申请发出完整回复函。FDA认为当前基于两项成功的中国 III 期研究以及一项美国桥接研究的数据包尚不足以支持药品现时于美国获批。该完整回复函中表明,需要纳入更多代表美国患者人群的国际多中心临床试验(MRCT)来支持美国获批。

索凡替尼是一种具有抗血管生成和免疫调节双重活性的口服抑制剂,其安全性和疗效已在两项在中国晚期胰腺和非胰腺神经内分泌瘤患者中开展的随机双盲的III期研究(即SANET-ep和SANET-p研究)中得到证明。一项由和黄医药申办、在美国开展的桥接研究结果亦显示出与两项SANET研究人群中相似的安全性及疗效。索凡替尼于2021年6月及2020年12月,在中国分别获批用于治疗胰腺神经内分泌瘤和非胰腺神经内分泌瘤。

索凡替尼于2020年4月获美国FDA授予取得快速通道资格,用于治疗胰腺和非胰腺神经内分泌瘤,并于2019年11月获授予孤儿药资格用于治疗胰腺神经内分泌瘤。于2020年5月,和黄医药在新药上市申请前会议上与FDA达成一致,索凡替尼用于治疗胰腺和非胰腺神经内分泌瘤患者的两项取得积极结果的中国III期研究,连同索凡替尼美国桥接研究的现有数据,可构成支持在美国提交新药上市申请的依据。FDA于2021年6月30日受理了索凡替尼提交的新药上市申请。

FDA评估了两项SANET研究从单一国家中得出的数据对美国患者及美国医疗实践的适用程度。完整回复函中指出,FDA将要求开展一项纳入更能代表美国患者人群并符合当前美国医疗实践的国际多中心临床试验。此外,与疫情相关的检查日程安排以及进入权利,亦是FDA此次行动的原因之一。FDA的此项举动与索凡替尼的任何安全问题无关。和黄医药正在与FDA合作,以评估下一步行动。

和黄医药首席执行官兼首席科学官苏慰国博士表示:“尽管此次FDA的决定令人感到失望,但我们依然对索凡替尼治疗神经内分泌瘤患者的临床价值充满信心,并致力于将索凡替尼带向全球患者。我们将积极与美国当局保持合作以评估其反馈意见。在整个美国上市申请的审评过程中,我们始终保持透明度并且与FDA合作。此类罕见疾病已获批及使用的疗法非常有限,患者和医生都可从更多选择中获益,以解决这一未满足的医疗需求。我们期待与FDA继续保持沟通,以制定计划将索凡替尼带向为美国的患者。”

和黄医药位于美国新泽西州Florham Park的国际总部,负责在推动美国、欧洲和日本的临床和注册开发。和黄医药(国际)执行副总裁、董事总经理兼首席医学官Marek Kania表示:“我们的全球开发策略维持不变。至于索凡替尼在美国和中国以外的情况,我们持续与欧洲和日本的监管机构进行沟通,其中我们在欧洲提交的上市许可申请(“MAA”)正处于审查过程中,同时亦在日本进行一项持续性的日本桥接研究。此外,多中心注册研究一直是我们的恒常开发策略,例如我们就呋喹替尼(fruquintinib)治疗转移性结直肠癌患者在14个国家开展了涉及691名患者的FRESCO-2 III期研究,其数据预计将在今年下半年公布。”

 

电话会议

和黄医药将于2022年5月2日上午8时正(美国东部夏令时间)/ 下午1时正(英国夏令时间)/ 晚上8时正(中国香港时间)举行电话会议。

与会者可访问和黄医药网站(www.hutch-med.com/event/),通过如下号码﹕+1 212 444 0378(美国)/ +44 20 3024 5279(英国)/ +852 2112 1888 (中国香港)参与电话会议。

和黄医药网站亦提供查阅其他拨入号码。请使用参与者接入代码“8090502#”。

 

关于索凡替尼

索凡替尼是一种新型的口服酪氨酸激酶抑制剂,具有抗血管生成和免疫调节双重活性。索凡替尼可通过抑制血管内皮生长因子受体(VEGFR)和成纤维细胞生长因子受体(FGFR)以阻断肿瘤血管生成,并可抑制集落刺激因子1受体(CSF-1R),通过调节肿瘤相关巨噬细胞,促进机体对肿瘤细胞的免疫应答。索凡替尼独特的双重机制能产生协同抗肿瘤活性,使其为与其他免疫疗法的联合使用的理想选择。

和黄医药目前拥有索凡替尼在全球范围内的所有权利。

 

索凡替尼开发计划

中国非胰腺神经内分泌瘤研究:索凡替尼于2020年12月29日在中国获药品注册批准以用于治疗非胰腺神经内分泌瘤。索凡替尼在中国市场以商品名苏泰达®(SULANDA®)销售。此获批是基于一项索凡替尼治疗晚期非胰腺神经内分泌瘤患者的中国III期临床试验SANET-ep的研究结果(clinicaltrials.gov注册号NCT02588170)。该研究在预设的中期分析中成功达到无进展生存期(“PFS”)这一预设的主要终点,并在《刺针·肿瘤学》上发表[1]。索凡替尼治疗组患者的中位PFS显著延长为9.2个月,安慰剂组患者则为3.8个月(HR 0.334;95% CI:0.223-0.499;p<0.0001)。索凡替尼具有可接受的安全性特征,最常见的3级或以上治疗相关不良事件是高血压(索凡替尼组患者:36%; 安慰剂组患者:13%)、蛋白尿(索凡替尼组患者:19%; 安慰剂组患者: 0%)和贫血(索凡替尼组患者:5%; 安慰剂组患者:3%)。

中国胰腺神经内分泌瘤研究:索凡替尼于2021年6月16日在中国获药品注册批准以用于治疗胰腺神经内分泌瘤。此获批是基于一项索凡替尼治疗晚期胰腺神经内分泌瘤患者的中国III期临床试验SANET-p的研究结果(clinicaltrials.gov 注册号NCT02589821)。该研究在预设的中期分析中成功达到PFS这一预设主要疗效终点,并在《刺针·肿瘤学》上发表[2],证明索凡替尼将患者疾病进展或死亡风险降低了51%,中位PFS为10.9个月,而安慰剂组患者则为3.7个月((HR 0.491;95% CI: 0.391-0.755;p=0.0011)。索凡替尼展示可控的安全性,并与先前研究中的观察结果一致。

免疫联合疗法:和黄医药达成了数个合作协议,以评估索凡替尼与PD-1单克隆抗体联合疗法的安全性、耐受性和疗效,包括已于中国获批单药疗法的替雷利珠单抗(tislelizumab, BGB-A317)及拓益®(TUOYI®,特瑞普利单抗)。

欧洲神经内分泌瘤研究:向欧洲药品管理局(“EMA”)提交的上市许可申请(“MAA”)已于2021年7月获确认,其中包括美国的I/II期研究数据,以及用于支持在中国取得上市许可的已完成的III期SANET-p和SANET-ep研究数据。

日本神经内分泌瘤研究:和黄医药已于2021年9月在日本启动注册性桥接研究。根据与日本药品和医疗器械局(PMDA)进行的沟通,各方商定新药上市申请包括将在日本进行的一项关键性研究的结果。

在美国的索凡替尼扩充疗程方案(EAP)将不再允许新患者参加该研究。

 

关于和黄医药

和黄医药(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)是一家处于商业化阶段的创新型生物医药公司,致力于发现、全球开发和商业化治疗癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向药物和免疫疗法。集团旗下公司共有超过4,600名员工,其中核心的肿瘤/免疫业务拥有约1,500人的团队。自成立以来,和黄医药已将自主发现的12个候选癌症药物推进到在全球开展临床研究,其中首三个创新肿瘤药物现已在中国获批上市。欲了解更多详情,请访问:www.hutch‑med.com或关注我们的领英专页。

 

前瞻性陈述

本公告包含1995年《美国私人证券诉讼改革法案》“安全港”条款中定义的前瞻性陈述。这些前瞻性陈述反映了和黄医药目前对未来事件的预期,包括索凡替尼用于治疗神经内分泌瘤患者的治疗潜力的预期以及索凡替尼针对此适应症及其他适应症的进一步临床研究计划。前瞻性陈述涉及风险和不确定性。此类风险和不确定性包括下列假设:支持索凡替尼获批用于在美国、欧盟、中国、日本及及其他地区治疗神经内分泌瘤的新药上市申请的数据充足性、获得监管部门快速审批或根本可以获得监管部门审批的可能性,索凡替尼的安全性。和黄医药为索凡替尼进一步临床开发计划及商业化提供资金并实现及完成的能力,此类事件发生的时间,以及新冠肺炎全球大流行对监管机构进入并视察中国临床场所的能力以及对整体经济、监管及政治状况带来的影响等。此外,由于部分研究赖于将替雷利珠单抗和拓益®与索凡替尼联合使用,因此此类风险和不确定性包括有关这些治疗药物的安全性、疗效、供应和监管批准的假设。当前和潜在投资者请勿过度依赖这些前瞻性陈述,这些陈述仅在截至本公告发布当日有效。有关这些风险和其他风险的进一步讨论,请查阅和黄医药向美国证券交易委员会、AIM以及香港联合交易所有限公司提交的文件。无论是否出现新讯息、未来事件或情况或其他因素,和黄医药均不承担更新或修订本公告所含讯息的义务。

 

内幕消息

本公告包含(欧盟)第596/2014号条例(该条例构成《2018年欧洲联盟(退出)法》定义的欧盟保留法律的一部分)第7条规定的内幕消息。

 

[1]    Xu J, Shen L, Zhou Z, et al. Surufatinib in advanced extrapancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (SANET-ep): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 study. Lancet Oncol. 2020;21(11):1500-1512. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(20)30496-4.

[2]    Xu J, Shen L, Bai C, et al. Surufatinib in advanced pancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (SANET-p): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 study. Lancet Oncol. 2020; 21(11):1489-1499. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(20)30493-9.

 

联络方法

投资者咨询

李健鸿,高级副总裁 +852 2121 8200
郑嘉惠,副总裁 +1 (973) 567 3786

传媒咨询

美洲 – Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340(手机)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
欧洲 – Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902(手机)/
+44 7779 545 055(手机)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
中国大陆 – 龙肇怡 / 何芷晴,
纵横财经公关顾问有限公司
+852 9282 4640 / +852 6198 4265(手机)
SPRG_HUTCHMED@sprg.com.hk

任命保荐人

Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500

Nasdaq:US$9.16 (+0.40) | HKEX:HK$13.58 (+0.36) | AIM:£1.58 (+0.06)
Search Result
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Announcements & Press Releases, Oncology / Immunology, Press Releases | 2 May 2022

HUTCHMED Receives Complete Response Letter from the U.S. FDA for Surufatinib for the Treatment of Advanced Neuroendocrine Tumors

HUTCHMED to hold a conference call at 8:00 am EDT / 1:00 pm BST / 8:00 pm HKT

 

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ — Monday, May 2, 2022: HUTCHMED (China) Limited (“HUTCHMED” or the “Company”) (Nasdaq/AIM:HCM; HKEX:13) announced that the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (“FDA” or the “Agency”) has issued a Complete Response Letter (“CRL”) regarding the New Drug Application (“NDA”) for surufatinib for the treatment of pancreatic (“pNETs”) and extra-pancreatic (non-pancreatic, “epNETs”) neuroendocrine tumors (“NETs”). FDA determined that the current data package, based on two positive Phase III trials in China and one bridging study in the United States (U.S.), does not support an approval in the U.S. at this time. The CRL indicated that a multi-regional clinical trial (“MRCT”) is required for U.S. approval.

The safety and efficacy of surufatinib, an oral inhibitor of angiogenesis and immune modulation, was demonstrated in the SANET-p and SANET-ep studies, two randomized double-blind Phase III trials in patients with advanced pNETs and epNETs conducted in China. Results of a HUTCHMED sponsored bridging study conducted in the U.S. suggest similar safety and efficacy to the SANET study population in China. Surufatinib was approved in China for the treatment of pNETs and epNETs in June 2021 and December 2020, respectively.

Surufatinib received U.S. FDA Fast Track Designations in April 2020 for the treatment of pNETs and epNETs. Orphan Drug Designation for pNETs was granted in November 2019. In a May 2020 pre-NDA meeting, HUTCHMED reached an agreement with the FDA that the two positive Phase III studies of surufatinib in patients with pNETs and epNETs in China, along with the bridging trial in the U.S. could form the basis to support a U.S. NDA submission. The FDA accepted the filing of the NDA on June 30, 2021.

The FDA evaluated the applicability of the SANET studies data generated in one country to U.S. patients and U.S. medical practice. The CRL stated that the FDA will require a MRCT that includes subjects more representative of the US patient population and aligned to current U.S. medical practice. In addition, pandemic-related issues concerning inspection scheduling and access contributed to the FDA action. This action by the FDA is not related to any safety issues with surufatinib. HUTCHMED is working with the FDA to evaluate next steps.

Dr Weiguo Su, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Scientific Officer of HUTCHMED, commented: “Although this decision from the FDA is disappointing, we remain confident about the clinical value of surufatinib for NET patients and committed to making surufatinib available to patients globally. We look forward to working with the Agency to evaluate its feedback. Throughout the duration of the U.S. review process, we have been transparent and collaborative with the FDA. There are very few treatments approved and used in these rare diseases, and patients and physicians would benefit from more options to address the unmet medical need. We look forward to continued engagement with the FDA on developing a plan to bring surufatinib to patients in the U.S.”

HUTCHMED International, headquartered in Florham Park, New Jersey, drives clinical and regulatory development in the US, Europe and Japan. Dr Marek Kania, Executive Vice President, Managing Director and Chief Medical Officer of HUTCHMED International, commented: “Our global development strategy remains unchanged. Outside of the U.S. and China, we remain committed to engaging with regulators in Europe, where our Marketing Authorization Application (“MAA”) submission for surufatinib is under review, and in Japan where we have an ongoing Japanese bridging study. Furthermore, our foundational approach is to conduct multi-regional registration trials, such as our 14-country, 691-patient FRESCO-2 Phase III trial for fruquintinib for patients with metastatic colorectal cancer which is expected to read-out in the second half of this year.”

 

Conference call

HUTCHMED will host a conference call at 8:00 am EDT / 1:00 pm BST / 8:00 pm HKT on Monday, May 2, 2022. Participants may join the call as follows: +1 212 444 0378 (U.S.) / +44 20 3024 5279 (U.K.) / +852 2112 1888 (Hong Kong) or via HUTCHMED’s website at www.hutch-med.com/event/.

Additional dial-in numbers are also available at HUTCHMED’s website. Please use participant access code “8090502#.”

 

About Surufatinib

Surufatinib is a novel, oral angio-immuno kinase inhibitor that selectively inhibits the tyrosine kinase activity associated with vascular endothelial growth factor receptors (VEGFR) and fibroblast growth factor receptor (FGFR), which both inhibit angiogenesis, and colony stimulating factor-1 receptor (CSF-1R), which regulates tumor-associated macrophages, promoting the body’s immune response against tumor cells. Its unique dual mechanism of action may be very suitable for possible combinations with other immunotherapies, where there may be synergistic anti-tumor effects.

HUTCHMED currently retains all rights to surufatinib worldwide.

 

About Surufatinib Development

epNETs in China: On December 29, 2020, surufatinib was granted drug registration approval in China for the treatment of epNET. Surufatinib is marketed in China under the brand name SULANDA®. The approval was based on results from the SANET-ep study, a Phase III trial (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT02588170) in patients with advanced epNETs conducted in China. The study met the pre-defined primary endpoint of PFS at a preplanned interim analysis, and was published in The Lancet Oncology[1]. Median PFS was significantly longer for patients treated with surufatinib at 9.2 months, compared to 3.8 months for patients in the placebo group (HR 0.334; 95% CI: 0.223-0.499; p<0.0001). Surufatinib had an acceptable safety profile, with the most common treatment related adverse events of grade 3 or worse being hypertension (36% of surufatinib patients vs. 13% of placebo patients), proteinuria (19% vs. 0%) and anemia (5% vs. 3%).

pNETs in China: On June 16, 2021, surufatinib was granted drug registration approval in China for the treatment of pNET. The approval was based on results from the SANET-p study, a Phase III trial (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT02589821) in patients with advanced pNET in China. The pre-defined primary endpoint of PFS was met at a preplanned interim analysis and was published in The Lancet Oncology[2], demonstrating that surufatinib reduces the risk of disease progression or death by 51% in patients, with a median PFS of 10.9 months compared to 3.7 months on placebo (HR 0.491; 95% CI: 0.391-0.755; p=0.0011). The safety profile of surufatinib was manageable and consistent with observations in prior studies.

Immunotherapy combinations: HUTCHMED entered into collaboration agreements to evaluate the safety, tolerability and efficacy of surufatinib in combination with anti-PD-1 monoclonal antibodies, including with tislelizumab (BGB-A317) and TUOYI® (toripalimab), which are approved as monotherapies in China.

NETs in Europe: An MAA submission to the EMA was validated in July 2021, which includes data from a U.S. Phase I/II study, as well as the completed Phase III SANET-ep and SANET-p studies used to support marketing authorization in China.

NETs in Japan: A Japan registration-enabling bridging study was initiated in September 2021. Based on dialogue with the Japanese Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency (PMDA), it was agreed that a Japanese NDA include results from a pivotal study to be conducted in Japan.

The surufatinib Expanded Access Protocol (EAP) in the U.S. will no longer allow new patients to enroll in the study.

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM: HCM; HKEX: 13) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery and global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. It has more than 4,600 personnel across all its companies, at the center of which is a team of over 1,600 in oncology/immunology. Since inception it has advanced 12 cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery into clinical studies around the world, with its first three oncology drugs now approved and marketed in China. For more information, please visit: www.hutch‑med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This announcement contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the therapeutic potential of surufatinib for the treatment of patients with NETs and the further clinical development of surufatinib in this and other indications. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding the sufficiency of clinical data to support NDA approval of surufatinib for the treatment of patients with NETs in the U.S.,E.U., China, Japan and other jurisdictions , its potential to gain approvals from regulatory authorities on an expediated basis or at all, the safety profile of surufatinib, HUTCHMED’s ability to fund, implement and complete its further clinical development and commercialization plans for surufatinib, the timing of these events, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on regulators’ ability to access and inspect clinical sites in China, and on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. In addition, as certain studies rely on the use of tislelizumab, and TUOYI® as combination therapeutics with surufatinib, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and continued regulatory approval of these therapeutics. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, on AIM and on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this announcement, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

Inside Information

This announcement contains inside information for the purposes of Article 7 of Regulation (EU) No 596/2014 (as it forms part of retained EU law as defined in the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018).

 

[1]    Xu J, Shen L, Zhou Z, et al. Surufatinib in advanced extrapancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (SANET-ep): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 study. Lancet Oncol. 2020;21(11):1500-1512. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(20)30496-4.

[2]    Xu J, Shen L, Bai C, et al. Surufatinib in advanced pancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (SANET-p): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 study. Lancet Oncol. 2020; 21(11):1489-1499. doi: 10.1016/S1470-2045(20)30493-9.

 

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries

Mark Lee, Senior Vice President +852 2121 8200
Annie Cheng, Vice President +1 (973) 567 3786

Media Enquiries

Americas – Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
Europe – Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902 (Mobile) /
+44 7779 545 055 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
Asia – Zhou Yi,
Brunswick
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com

Nominated Advisor

Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500