Nasdaq:US$20.17 (-0.79) | HKEX:HK$32.05 (+0.35) | AIM:£3.20 (-0.04)
搜索結果
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新聞稿, 腫瘤學 / 免疫學 | 2023-08-21

和黃醫藥宣佈索樂匹尼布治療原發免疫性血小板減少症的 ESLIM-01中國III期研究達到主要終點

— 該隨機、雙盲、安慰劑對照的臨床試驗達到持續應答率的主要終點和所有次要終點 —

— 整體安全性特徵與索樂匹尼布既往研究發現一致 —

— 計劃於中國提交監管審批申請,已獲納入突破性治療品種 —

— 結果將提交於即將召開的學術會議供發表 —

 

中國香港、上海和美國新澤西州:2023年8月21 日,星期一:和黃醫藥(中國)有限公司(簡稱「和黃醫藥」或「HUTCHMED」)(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)今日宣佈索樂匹尼布探索用於治療成人原發免疫性血小板減少症(ITP)的ESLIM-01中國關鍵性III期研究已達到持續應答率這一主要終點以及所有的次要終點。和黃醫藥計劃於2023年年底左右提交新藥上市申請。

 

索樂匹尼布於2022年1月獲中國國家藥品監督管理局(「國家藥監局」)納入突破性治療品種,用於ESLIM-01研究所探索的適應症。作為用於防治嚴重危及生命的疾病,且尚無有效防治手段或與現有治療手段相比具有明顯臨床優勢的創新藥物,國家藥監局將索樂匹尼布納入突破性治療品種。有鑒於此,索樂匹尼布用於治療免疫性血小板減少症的新藥上市申請或有資格獲得優先審評資格。

 

ESLIM-01研究是一項索樂匹尼布在中國開展的隨機、雙盲、安慰劑對照的III期臨床試驗,共納入188名既往接受過至少一種治療的慢性成人原發免疫性血小板減少症患者。研究於2022年12月完成患者入組。該試驗成功達到了其主要終點,即與接受安慰劑治療的患者相比,接受索樂匹尼布治療的患者的持續應答率取得了具有臨床意義和統計學意義的顯著改善。包括總體應答率和安全性在內的所有次要終點亦已達到。完整的研究數據將提交於近期的學術會議上發表。

 

索樂匹尼布是一種用於治療血液惡性腫瘤和自身免疫性疾病的新型、高選擇性的口服脾酪氨酸激酶(「Syk」)抑製劑。 Syk是Fc受體和B細胞受體信號傳導通路的關鍵組成部分。免疫性血小板減少症是一種導致出血風險增加的自身免疫疾病。令人鼓舞的概念驗證數據已於2021年美國血液學會(ASH)年會[1]上公佈,並於 2023 年 6 月發表於《柳葉刀 · 血液病學(The Lancet Haematology)》。[2]

 

和黃醫藥研發負責人及首席醫學官石明博士表示:「慢性成人原發免疫性血小板減少症是一種可能長期存在的異質性疾病,並且仍然非常需要新的治療方法。索樂匹尼布為這些既往接受過至少一種治療的患者提供了一種潛在的新療法。我們非常高興看到 ESLIM-01 研究取得積極結果,並感謝參與這項研究並幫助實現這一成就的患者、他們的家人以及醫護人員。」

 

ESLIM-01研究的聯合主要研究者及科學指導委員會成員、中國醫學科學院血液病醫院楊仁池教授表示:「該研究達到了主要終點和所有次要終點,同時表現出良好的耐受性以及每日一次口服給藥的便利性,我對索樂匹尼布可能成為一種潛在的免疫性血小板減少症治療選擇,為患者尋求更好的生活帶來希望感到樂觀。」

 

研究的聯合主要研究者及科學指導委員會成員、華中科技大學同濟醫學院附屬協和醫院胡豫教授表示:「許多複發性或難治性免疫性血小板減少症患者在日常生活中因為疾病以及管理他們的用藥背負沉重的負擔。 我很高興有機會為我們的患者提供另一種治療選擇,幫助他們更好地應對疾病。」

 

關於索樂匹尼布

索樂匹尼布是一種新型、選擇性的Syk抑制劑,每日一次口服用藥。Syk作為B細胞受體和Fc受體信號傳導通路中的一個關鍵蛋白,是多種亞型的B細胞淋巴瘤及自身免疫疾病的成熟治療靶點。

於《柳葉刀 · 血液病學》上發表的中國I/II期研究結果顯示,索樂匹尼布為經治的免疫性血小板減少症患者帶來快速且持久的血小板計數改善。在接受每日一次300mg的II期臨床試驗推薦劑量(「RP2D」)的20名患者中,8名(40%)患者出現持續應答,即在研究的第14至24週期間,6次隨訪中至少有4次的血小板計數大於或等於50×109/L。所有20名患者既往均曾接受過糖皮質類固醇激素治療,其中15名既往曾接受過血小板生成素或血小板生成素受體激動劑治療。在研究的前8週內接受RP2D治療的16名患者的出現應答(定義為首次血小板計數達到大於或等於30×109/L)的中位時間為1.1週。41名在研究的第24週期間接受任何劑量治療的患者中,3名(7%)因治療期間不良事件(TEAE)導致劑量減少或中斷,但未出現停藥。截至整個研究的24週內,未出現發生於超過一名患者的3級或以上治療期間不良事件。

索樂匹尼布目前正在臨床研究中,其安全性和療效尚未得到任何監管機構的評估。

和黃醫藥目前擁有索樂匹尼布在全球範圍內的所有權利。除了免疫性血小板減少症外,索樂匹尼布用於治療溫抗體性自身免疫性溶血性貧血(NCT05535933)和惰性非霍奇金淋巴瘤(NCT03779113)的研究亦在進行中。

 

關於免疫性血小板減少症(ITP)

免疫性血小板減少症是一種自身免疫疾病,表現為血小板受免疫性破壞以及血小板生成減少。免疫性血小板減少症的患者有著更高的過度出血和瘀傷風險。[3] 免疫性血小板減少症還與疲乏(成年免疫性血小板減少症患者中報告率多達39%)和生活質量受損有關。[4],[5],[6],[7],[8] 成人原發免疫性血小板減少症的發病率估計為每年每10萬成人中有3.3名,患病率為每10萬成人中有9.5名。[9] 根據上述患病率數據,中國估計約有 110,000 名原發免疫性血小板減少症患者。在除中國以外的主要醫藥市場中,據估計有多達 145,000 名慢性免疫性血小板減少症患者。[10]

成人免疫性血小板減少症是一種異質性疾病,即使接受現有最佳治療,仍可持續數年,並且治癒率較低。儘管現時已有數種不同作用機制的治療方法,但慢性疾病仍是一個難題。許多患者出現耐藥性而容易復發。[11] 因此,目前仍有大量對現有治療反應不佳的患者人群,急需新的治療方法。

由於免疫性血小板減少症的血小板破壞是和Syk調控的細胞吞噬與Fcγ受體結合的血小板有關,因此Syk抑制劑可能成為頗具前景的免疫性血小板減少症療法。[12]

 

關於和黃醫藥

和黃醫藥(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)是一家處於商業化階段的創新型生物醫藥公司,致力於發現、全球開發和商業化治療癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向藥物和免疫療法。集團旗下公司共有約5,000名員工,其中核心的腫瘤/免疫業務擁有約1,800人的團隊。自成立以來,和黃醫藥致力於將自主發現的抗腫瘤候選藥物帶向全球患者,其中首三個創新腫瘤藥物現已在中國獲批上市。欲了解更多詳情,請訪問:www.hutch‑med.com或關注我們的LinkedIn專頁。

 

前瞻性陳述

本公告包含1995年《美國私人證券訴訟改革法案》「安全港」條款中定義的前瞻性陳述。這些前瞻性陳述反映了和黃醫藥目前對未來事件的預期,包括對索樂匹尼布用於治療免疫性血小板減少症患者的治療潛力的預期以及索樂匹尼布針對此適應症及其他適應症的進一步臨床研究計劃。前瞻性陳述涉及風險和不確定性。此類風險和不確定性包括下列假設:臨床試驗的時間和結果發佈的預期、支持索樂匹尼布在中國或其他地區獲批用於治療免疫性血小板減少症或其他適應症的新藥上市申請的數據充足性、獲得監管部門快速審批或審批的潛力,索樂匹尼布的安全性。和黃醫藥為索樂匹尼布進一步臨床開發計劃及商業化提供資金並實現及完成的能力以及新冠肺炎對整體經濟、監管及政治狀況帶來的影響等。當前和潛在投資者請勿過度依賴這些前瞻性陳述,這些陳述僅在截至本新聞稿發佈當日有效。有關這些風險和其他風險的進一步討論,請查閱和黃醫藥向美國證券交易委員會、香港聯合交易所有限公司和AIM提交的文件。無論是否出現新訊息、未來事件或情況或其他因素,和黃醫藥均不承擔更新或修訂本新聞稿所含訊息的義務。

 

內幕消息

本公告包含(歐盟)第596/2014號條例(該條例構成《2018年歐洲聯盟(退出)法》定義的歐盟保留法律的一部分)第7條規定的內幕消息。

[1] ASH = 美國血液學會(American Society of Hematology).

[2] Liu X, et al. Sovleplenib (HMPL-523), a novel Syk inhibitor, for patients with primary immune thrombocytopenia in China: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 1b/2 study. Lancet Haematol. 2023;10(6):e406-e418. doi:10.1016/S2352-3026(23)00034-0

[3] Zufferey A, Kapur R, Semple JW. Pathogenesis and Therapeutic Mechanisms in Immune Thrombocytopenia (ITP). J. Clin. Med. 2017, 6(2), 16.

[4] McMillan R, Bussel JB, et al. Self-reported health-related quality of life in adults with chronic immune thrombocytopenic purpura. Am J Hematol. 2008 Feb;83(2):150-4.

[5] Snyder CF, Mathias SD, Cella D, et al. Health-related quality of life of immune thrombocytopenic purpura patients: results from a web-based survey. Curr Med Res Opin. 2008 Oct;24(10):2767-76.

[6] Doobaree IU, Nandigam R, Bennett D, et al. Thromboembolism in adults with primary immune thrombocytopenia: a systematic literature review and meta-analysis. Eur J Haematol. 2016 Oct;97(4):321-30.

[7] Sarpatwari A, Bennett D, Logie JW, et al. Thromboembolic events among adult patients with primary immune thrombocytopenia in the United Kingdom General Practice Research Database. Haematologica. 2010 Jul;95(7):1167-75.

[8] Sarpatwari A, Watson S, Erqou S, et al. Health-related lifestyle in adults and children with primary immune thrombocytopenia (ITP). Br J Haematol. 2010 Oct;151(2):189-91.

[9] Lambert MP, Gernsheimer TB. Clinical updates in adult immune thrombocytopenia. Blood. 2017 May 25;129(21):2829-2835.

[10] Clarivate Landscape & Forecast for Immune Thrombocytopenic Purpura, 2018.

[11] Provan D, Arnold DM, Bussel JB, et al. Updated international consensus report on the investigation and management of primary immune thrombocytopenia. Blood Adv. 2019;3(22):3780-3817.

[12] Crowley MT, Costello PS, Fitzer-Attas CJ et al. A critical role for Syk in signal transduction and phagocytosis mediated by Fcγ receptors on macrophages. J. Exp. Med. 186(7), 1027–1039 (1997).

Nasdaq:US$15.72 (+0.06) | HKEX:HK$24.75 (+0.75) | AIM:£2.47 (+0.03)
Search Result
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Announcements & Press Releases, Oncology / Immunology | 21 Aug 2023

HUTCHMED Announces that the Sovleplenib Phase III ESLIM-01 Study Met Its Primary Endpoint in Primary Immune Thrombocytopenia in China

— Randomized, double-blind, controlled trial met primary endpoint of durable response rate and all secondary endpoints —

— Overall safety consistent with sovleplenib known profile —

— Plans for regulatory submission underway in China, where it was designated a Breakthrough Therapy —

— Results to be submitted to an upcoming medical meeting —

 

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ — Monday, August 21, 2023: HUTCHMED (China) Limited (“HUTCHMED”) (Nasdaq/AIM:​HCM; HKEX:​13) today announces that the pivotal Phase III trial ESLIM-01 evaluating the investigational use of sovleplenib met its primary endpoint of durable response rate and all secondary endpoints in adult patients with primary immune thrombocytopenia (“ITP”) in China. HUTCHMED plans to submit the New Drug Application (“NDA”) around the end of 2023.

 

The National Medical Products Administration of China (“NMPA”) granted Breakthrough Therapy designation (“BTD”) to sovleplenib for the indication studied in ESLIM-01 in January 2022. The NMPA granted this designation to sovleplenib as a new drug that could treat a serious condition for which there are no effective treatment options, and where clinical evidence demonstrates significant advantages over existing therapies. As such, the sovleplenib NDA may be considered for priority review for its use in ITP.

 

ESLIM-01 is a randomized, double-blinded, placebo-controlled Phase III trial in China of sovleplenib in 188 adult patients with primary ITP who have received at least one prior line of standard therapy. Enrollment was completed in December 2022. The trial met its primary endpoint of demonstrating a clinically meaningful and a statistically significant increase in durable response rate in patients treated with sovleplenib as compared to patients treated with placebo. Secondary endpoints including response rate and safety were also met. Full results will be submitted for presentation at an upcoming scientific conference.

 

Sovleplenib is a novel, selective, oral inhibitor targeting spleen tyrosine kinase (“Syk”) for the treatment of hematological malignancies and immune diseases. Syk is a component in Fc receptor (“FcR”) and B-cell receptor signaling pathway. ITP is an autoimmune disorder that can lead to increased risk of bleeding. Encouraging proof of concept data was presented at ASH[1] 2021 and published in The Lancet Haematology in June 2023.[2]

 

“Sovleplenib offers a potential new treatment for patients with chronic adult primary ITP who have received at least one prior therapy, a heterogeneous disease that can persist for years and where there remains a significant need for new treatments,” said Dr Michael Shi, Chief Medical Officer of HUTCHMED. “We are very pleased to see the positive outcomes of the ESLIM-01 study and would like to thank the patients, their families, and the healthcare professionals who participated in this study and helped reach this achievement.”

 

Professor Ren-Chi Yang, MD, of the Institute of Hematology and Blood Diseases Hospital, Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences, who served as the ESLIM-01 co-Leading Principal Investigator (“PI”) and Steering Committee (“SC”) member, said, “By meeting the primary and all the secondary endpoints in this study while demonstrating a good level of tolerability and once daily oral dosing, I am optimistic that sovleplenib may be a potential choice to help ITP patients.”

 

Professor Yu Hu, MD, at the Union Hospital, Tongji Medical College, Huazhong University of Science and Technology, co-Leading PI and SC member commented, “Many patients with recurrent or refractory ITP feel burdened by their disease in their daily lives and by the management of their current medications. I welcome the opportunity to offer my patients another treatment option to live better with their disease.”

 

About Sovleplenib

Sovleplenib is a novel, selective inhibitor of Syk for once daily oral administration. Syk is a major component in B-cell receptor and FcR signaling and is an established target for the treatment of multiple subtypes of B-cell lymphomas and autoimmune disorders.

 

Results from the Phase I/II study in China study published in The Lancet Haematology showed a rapid and durable increase in platelet counts in previously treated patients with ITP. Among the 20 patients who received the recommend Phase II dose of 300mg once daily (“RP2D”), 8 (40%) patients experienced durable response, as defined by platelet count equal to or exceeding 50×109/L in four out of six visits during week 14 to 24 of the study. All 20 patients had been previously treated with glucocorticoid steroid, and 15 previously treated with thrombopoietin or thrombopoietin receptor agonists. Median time to response to treatment was 1.1 weeks for the 16 patients who received the RP2D during the first 8 weeks of the study, as defined by first platelet count equal to or exceeding 30×109/L. Among the 41 patients who received treatment at all doses through week 24 of the study, treatment-emergent adverse events (“TEAE”) led to dose reduction or interruption in three (7%) patients, and no dose discontinuation. No TEAEs of grade 3 or above occurred in more than one patient through week 24 of the study.

 

Sovleplenib is currently under clinical investigation and its safety and efficacy have not been evaluated by any regulatory authority.

 

HUTCHMED currently retains all rights to sovleplenib worldwide. In addition to ITP, sovleplenib is also being studied in warm antibody autoimmune hemolytic anemia (NCT05535933) and indolent non-Hodgkin’s lymphoma (NCT03779113).

 

About ITP

ITP is an autoimmune disorder characterized by immunologic destruction of platelets and decreased platelet production. Patients with ITP are at increased risk of excessive bleeding and bruising.[3] ITP is also associated with fatigue (reported in up to 39% of adults with ITP) and impaired quality of life.[4],[5],[6],[7],[8] The incidence of primary ITP in adults is 3.3/100,000 adults per year with a prevalence of 9.5 per 100,000 adults.[9] Based on this prevalence rate, approximately 110,000 patients are estimated to be living with primary ITP in China, in addition to 56,000 patients in the U.S. Germany, France, Italy, Spain, UK, and Japan. It has been estimated that as many as 145,000 patients are living with chronic ITP in major pharmaceutical markets excluding China.[10]

 

Adult ITP is a heterogeneous disease that can persist for years, even with best available care, and treatments are infrequently curative. Despite availability of several treatments with differing mechanisms of action, chronicity of disease continues to be a problem. Many patients develop resistance to treatment and thereby are prone to relapse.[11] Thus, there remains a significant population of patients who have limited sensitivity to currently available agents and are in need of new treatments.

 

As platelet destruction in ITP is mediated by Syk-dependent phagocytosis of FcγR-bound platelets, Syk inhibition represents a promising approach to management of ITP.[12]

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM:HCM; HKEX: 13) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery, global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. It has approximately 5,000 personnel across all its companies, at the center of which is a team of about 1,800 in oncology/immunology. Since inception, HUTCHMED has focused on bringing cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery to patients around the world, with its first three oncology medicines now approved and marketed in China. For more information, please visit: www.hutch‑med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This announcement contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the therapeutic potential of sovleplenib for the treatment of patients with ITP and the further development sovleplenib in this and other indications. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding the timing and outcome of clinical studies and the sufficiency of clinical data to support NDA approval of sovleplenib for the treatment of patients with ITP or other indications in China or other jurisdictions, its potential to gain approvals from regulatory authorities on an expedited basis or at all, the safety profile of sovleplenib, HUTCHMED’s ability to fund, implement and complete its further clinical development and commercialization plans for sovleplenib, the timing of these events, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and on AIM. HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this announcement, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

Inside Information

This announcement contains inside information for the purposes of Article 7 of Regulation (EU) No 596/2014 (as it forms part of retained EU law as defined in the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018).

 

[1] ASH = American Society of Hematology.

[2] Liu X, Zhou H, Hu Y, et al. Sovleplenib (HMPL-523), a novel Syk inhibitor, for patients with primary immune thrombocytopenia in China: a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 1b/2 study. Lancet Haematol. 2023;10(6):e406-e418. doi:10.1016/S2352-3026(23)00034-0.

[3] Zufferey A, Kapur R, Semple JW. Pathogenesis and Therapeutic Mechanisms in Immune Thrombocytopenia (ITP). J. Clin. Med. 2017, 6(2), 16.

[4] McMillan R, Bussel JB, et al. Self-reported health-related quality of life in adults with chronic immune thrombocytopenic purpura. Am J Hematol. 2008 Feb;83(2):150-4.

[5] Snyder CF, Mathias SD, Cella D, et al. Health-related quality of life of immune thrombocytopenic purpura patients: results from a web‑based survey. Curr Med Res Opin. 2008 Oct;24(10):2767-76.

[6] Doobaree IU, Nandigam R, Bennett D, et al. Thromboembolism in adults with primary immune thrombocytopenia: a systematic literature review and meta-analysis. Eur J Haematol. 2016 Oct;97(4):321-30.

[7] Sarpatwari A, Bennett D, Logie JW, et al. Thromboembolic events among adult patients with primary immune thrombocytopenia in the United Kingdom General Practice Research Database. Haematologica. 2010 Jul;95(7):1167-75.

[8] Sarpatwari A, Watson S, Erqou S, et al. Health-related lifestyle in adults and children with primary immune thrombocytopenia (ITP). Br J Haematol. 2010 Oct;151(2):189-91.

[9] Lambert MP, Gernsheimer TB. Clinical updates in adult immune thrombocytopenia. Blood. 2017 May 25;129(21):2829-2835.

[10] Clarivate Landscape & Forecast for Immune Thrombocytopenic Purpura, 2018.

[11] Provan D, Arnold DM, Bussel JB, et al. Updated international consensus report on the investigation and management of primary immune thrombocytopenia. Blood Adv. 2019;3(22):3780-3817.

[12] Crowley MT, Costello PS, Fitzer-Attas CJ et al. A critical role for Syk in signal transduction and phagocytosis mediated by Fcγ receptors on macrophages. J. Exp. Med. 186(7), 1027–1039 (1997).