Nasdaq:US$8.86 (+0.23) | HKEX:HK$13.22 (-0.58) | AIM:£1.63 (+0.04)
搜索結果
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新聞稿, 腫瘤學 / 免疫學 | 2022-08-08

和黃醫藥與阿斯利康宣佈SAVANNAH II期研究中泰瑞沙®和賽沃替尼聯合療法治療高MET過表達和/或擴增水平的肺癌患者客觀緩解率(ORR)達49%

— MET是對靶向治療產生耐藥性的EGFR突變肺癌患者中最常見的生物標誌物 —

— 評估該聯合療法的SAFFRON全球III期研究正在進行中 —

 

中國香港、上海和美國新澤西州:2022年8月8日(星期):和黃醫藥(中國)有限公司(簡稱「和黃醫藥」或「HUTCHMED」)(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)與阿斯利康(LSE/STO/Nasdaq: AZN)今天宣佈,SAVANNAH II期研究的初步結果顯示,泰瑞沙®(TAGRISSO®/奧希替尼/ osimertinib)和賽沃替尼(savolitinib)聯合療法治療既往接受泰瑞沙®治療後疾病進展、伴有高水平間充質上皮轉化因子(「MET」)過表達和/或擴增(定義為IHC90+和/或FISH10+)的表皮生長因子受體(「EGFR」)突變的非小細胞肺癌患者的客觀緩解率(「ORR」)為49% (95% 置信區間 [「CI」],39-59%)。

其中,未接受過化療的高MET水平的患者中觀察到最高的ORR(52% [95% CI,41-63%])。在未顯示高MET水平的患者中,ORR則為9% (95% CI,4-18%)。上述研究結果已於2022年8月6日至9日在奧地利維也納舉行的由國際肺癌研究協會(IASLC)主辦的2022年世界肺癌大會(WCLC)上公佈。

賽沃替尼在中國以商品名沃瑞沙®上市,是一種強效、高選擇性的口服MET酪氨酸激酶抑制劑(「TKI」),由阿斯利康與和黃醫藥共同合作開發及商業化。

儘管EGFR靶向治療可為EGFR突變的非小細胞肺癌患者帶來持久的生存獲益,然而大多數患者最終會對其治療產生耐藥,而MET是最常見的與耐藥相關的生物標誌物。1 所有參加SAVANNAH研究入組篩查的患者均在泰瑞沙®治療後疾病出現進展,其中62%患者的腫瘤伴有MET過表達和/或擴增,超過三分之一(34%)的患者符合定義的高MET水平閾值。

SAVANNAH II期研究的主要研究者、韓國首爾成均館大學醫學院三星醫療中心內科血液及腫瘤學系Myung-Ju Ahn教授表示:「對靶向治療產生獲得性耐藥並導致疾病進展是大多數EGFR突變的非小細胞肺癌患者都會面臨的艱難現實。SAVANNAH研究的初步數據或許提供了一種新的解決方法,幫助識別出最有可能從賽沃替尼等以MET為基礎的療法中獲益的MET過表達和/或擴增患者。該些研究數據亦表明,通過合適的生物標誌物檢測策略,MET這一靶點在耐藥患者中或許比以往認為的更加普遍,為對奧希替尼和賽沃替尼聯合療法方案開展進一步研究提供了依據。」

阿斯利康首席醫學官兼腫瘤領域首席開發官Cristian Massacesi表示:「目前對接受靶向治療後疾病進展的EGFR突變肺癌患者的標準治療是化療。SAVANNAH的研究數據表明,在疾病進展時將賽沃替尼聯合泰瑞沙®使用,或可為這些經生物標誌物篩選的患者提供毒性更低、更有效的潛在治療選擇。我們期待通過這項研究以及SAFFRON III期研究,更好地了解泰瑞沙®和賽沃替尼聯合療法方案的潛力。」

和黃醫藥首席執行官兼首席科學官蘇慰國表示:「我們對賽沃替尼和泰瑞沙®聯合療法方案進入SAFFRON全球III期研究感到鼓舞,其患者篩選策略得到了充分的證據支持,或可使比預想更多的患者受益。SAVANNAH研究的初步結果也肯定了對EGFR靶向治療後疾病進展的非小細胞肺癌患者在後續治療開始前進行分子檢測的作用。賽沃替尼用於治療此類患者的研發過程中,我們一直致力於採用更具針對性、以患者為中心的方法。」

在該項分析中,患者的MET過表達和/或擴增水平通過兩項測試確定:免疫組織化學染色法(「IHC」)—— 檢測癌細胞表面是否有特定蛋白質或標記物;以及螢光原位雜交(「FISH」)——檢測癌細胞中特定的DNA序列。該分析中的所有患者(n=193)至少为IHC50+和/或FISH5+,並在接受泰瑞沙®單藥治療疾病進展後,在80毫克每日一次泰瑞沙®治療基礎上加入300毫克每日一次賽沃替尼。

 

療效結果總結i:

終點 全部患者 (IHC50+/FISH5+; n=193) MET水平患者ii  (IHC90+/FISH10+) MET水平患者ii
(n=77)
所有 (n=108) 無既往化療史 (n=87)
ORR% (95% CI) 32 (26, 39) 49 (39, 59) 52 (41, 63) 9 (4, 18)
中位DoRiii,月
(95% CI)
8.3 (6.9, 9.7) 9.3 (7.6, 10.6) 9.6 (7.6, 14.9) 6.9 (4.1, 16.9)
中位PFSiv,月
(95% CI)
5.3 (4.2, 5.8) 7.1 (5.3, 8.0) 7.2 (4.7, 9.2) 2.8 (2.6, 4.3)
DCRv% (95% CI) 61 (53, 68) 74 (65, 82) 75 (64, 83) 43 (32, 55)

 

  1. 分析數據截止日:2021年8月27日
  2. 亞組分析未包括八名檢測結果無效或缺失的患者
  3. DoR = 緩解持續時間
  4. PFS = 無進展存活期
  5. DCR = 疾病控制率

 

泰瑞沙®和賽沃替尼聯合療法的安全性特徵與已知的聯合療法及各單藥治療的安全性保持一致。沒有發現新的安全性問題。在該項分析中,少於半數(45%)的患者曾經歷3級或以上不良事件,其中最常見的包括肺栓塞、呼吸困難、中性粒細胞計數減少和肺炎。13%的患者發生與賽沃替尼治療相關的導致停藥的不良事件。

SAFFRON全球III期研究將進一步評估泰瑞沙®和賽沃替尼聯合療法對比鉑類雙藥化療,用於治療伴有EGFR突變、MET過表達和/或擴增的局部晚期或轉移性非小細胞肺癌患者的療效。根據SAVANNAH研究中確定的閾值,伴有高MET水平的患者將被前瞻性地被篩選納入研究。

 

關於非小細胞肺癌及MET異常

肺癌是男性和女性癌症死亡的主要原因,約佔所有癌症死亡人數的五分之一。2 肺癌通常分為非小細胞肺癌(NSCLC)和小細胞肺癌(SCLC),其中80-85%為非小細胞肺癌。3 大部分(約75%)非小細胞肺癌患者在確診時已是晚期,而 美國和歐洲的非小細胞肺癌患者中約有10-25%存在EGFR突變,而亞洲患者中該比例高達30-40%。4,5,6,7

MET是一種受體酪氨酸激酶,在細胞的正常發育過程中發揮重要作用。8  MET擴增或過表達可導致腫瘤生長以及癌細胞的轉移進展,且是EGFR突變的轉移性非小細胞肺癌患者對EGFR TKI治療產生獲得性耐藥的主要機制之一。8,9MET擴增和過表達的發生率可能因樣品類型、檢測方法和使用的測定閾值而異。10

 

關於SAVANNAH研究

SAVANNAH研究是一項正在進行中的隨機、單臂、全球II期臨床試驗,旨在評估賽沃替尼與泰瑞沙®聯合療法治療既往曾接受泰瑞沙®治療後疾病進展的EGFR突變、MET擴增或過表達的局部晚期或轉移性非小細胞肺癌患者中的療效。患者按300毫克或600毫克每日一次,或300毫克每日兩次的劑量接受了賽沃替尼的給藥治療,聯合奧希替尼80毫克每日一次的劑量治療。

迄今為止,該研究已在全球包括美國、加拿大、歐洲、南美和亞洲中的80多個研究中心招募了294名患者。主要終點是ORR。關鍵次要終點包括PFS、DoR和安全性。

 

關於泰瑞沙®

泰瑞沙®(奧希替尼)是一種不可逆的第三代EGFR TKI,在非小細胞肺癌中具有抗中樞神經系統轉移的臨床活性。泰瑞沙®(40mg和80mg每天一次的口服片劑)已被用於治療全球範圍內相關適應症的大約575,000名患者,阿斯利康繼續探索泰瑞沙®作爲EGFR突變非小細胞肺癌不同分期患者的治療方法。

目前,泰瑞沙®還在進行多項新的III期臨床研究,探索其在可手術切除肺癌的新輔助治療(NeoADAURA)、IA2-IA3期肺癌的輔助治療(ADAURA2)、III期放化療後局部晚期不可手術切除肺癌的治療(LAURA)以及與化療聯合療法治療晚期肺癌(FLAURA2)中的療效。阿斯利康還在通過SAVANNAH和ORCHARD II期研究,和泰瑞沙®與賽沃替尼(一種口服、强效和高選擇性MET-TKI)聯合療法的SAFFRON III期研究,以及與其他潜在新藥的聯合療法,以探索解决耐藥性機制的方法。

 

關於賽沃替尼(中國商品名:沃瑞沙®

賽沃替尼是一種強效、高選擇性的口服MET TKI,在晚期實體瘤中表現出臨床活性。賽沃替尼可阻斷因突變(例如外顯子14跳躍突變或其他點突變)、基因擴增或蛋白質過表達而導致的MET受體酪氨酸激酶信號通路的異常激活。

賽沃替尼在中國以商品名沃瑞沙®上市,用於治療接受全身性治療後疾病進展或無法接受化療的MET外顯子14跳躍突變的非小細胞肺癌患者。目前,賽沃替尼正作為單藥療法或與其他藥物的聯合療法,開發用於治療包括肺癌、腎癌和胃癌在內的多種腫瘤類型。

 

關於阿斯利康與和黃醫藥的合作

和黃醫藥與阿斯利康於2011年達成一項全球許可和合作協議,旨在共同開發賽沃替尼並促進其商業化。賽沃替尼在中國的聯合開發由和黃醫藥主導,並由阿斯利康主導其海外開發。和黃醫藥負責賽沃替尼在中國的上市許可、生產和供應,而阿斯利康則負責賽沃替尼在中國乃至全球範圍內的商業化。賽沃替尼的銷售收入由阿斯利康確認。

 

關於阿斯利康在肺癌領域的研究

阿斯利康正致力於通過早診早治提高肺癌患者的治愈率,同時推動相關技術不斷向前發展,以改善産生耐藥性和處於晚期情况下的患者的治療結果。通過制定新的治療目標和評估創新療法,阿斯利康致力於實現用藥患者受益最大化的目標。

公司豐富的産品組合包括領先的肺癌藥物以及下一階段的創新藥物,包括泰瑞沙®(奧希替尼)、易瑞沙®(吉非替尼片)、英飛凡®( 度伐利尤單抗)和tremelimumab;與第一三共(Daiichi Sankyo)合作研發的ENHERTU® (trastuzumab deruxtecan) 和datopotamab deruxtecan;與和黃醫藥合作研發的賽沃替尼;同時還有一系列跨越不同作用機制的潛在新藥和組合的産品管綫。

阿斯利康是Lung Ambition Alliance的創始成員,該全球性聯盟致力於加快創新步伐,並爲肺癌患者提供包括治療和治療以外的具有意義的改善措施。

 

關於阿斯利康腫瘤領域的研究

阿斯利康正引領著腫瘤領域的一場革命,致力提供多元化的腫瘤治療方案,以科學探索腫瘤領域的複雜性,發現、研發並向患者提供改變生命的藥物。

阿斯利康專注於最具挑戰性的腫瘤疾病,通過持續不斷的創新,阿斯利康已經建立了行業領先的多元化的産品組合和管綫,持續推動醫療實踐變革,改變患者體驗。

阿斯利康以期重新定義癌症治療並在未來攻克癌症。

 

關於阿斯利康

阿斯利康(LSE/STO/Nasdaq: AZN)是一家科學至上的全球性生物製藥企業,專注於研發、生產及營銷處方類藥品,重點關注腫瘤和心血管、腎臟及代謝、呼吸及免疫三大主要疾病的生物製藥。阿斯利康全球總部位於英國劍橋,業務遍布世界100多個國家,創新藥物惠及全球數百萬患者。更多信息,請訪問www.astrazeneca.com

關於和黃醫藥

和黃醫藥(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)是一家處於商業化階段的創新型生物醫藥公司,致力於發現、全球開發和商業化治療癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向藥物和免疫療法。集團旗下公司共有超過4,900名員工,其中核心的腫瘤/免疫業務擁有約1,800人的團隊。自成立以來,和黃醫藥在全球範圍內已有13個自主發現的候選藥物進入臨床研究階段,其中首三個創新腫瘤藥物現已在中國獲批上市。欲了解更多詳情,請訪問:www.hutch‑med.com或關注我們的LinkedIn專頁。

 

參考資料

  1. Del MD, et al. Understanding the Mechanisms of Resistance in EGFR-Positive NSCLC: From Tissue to Liquid Biopsy to Guide Treatment Strategy. Int J Mol Sci. 2019;20(16): 3951.
  2. World Health Organization. International Agency for Research on Cancer. All cancers fact sheet. Available at: https://gco.iarc.fr/today/data/factsheets/cancers/39-All-cancers-fact-sheet.pdf. Accessed July 2022.
  3. American Cancer Society. What is Lung Cancer? Available at: https://www.cancer.org/cancer/lung-cancer/about/what-is.html. Accessed July 2022.
  4. Knight SB, et al. Progress and prospects of early detection in lung cancer. Open Biol. 2017;7(9): 170070.
  5. Keedy VL, et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology Provisional Clinical Opinion: Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR) Mutation Testing for Patients with Advanced Non-Small-Cell Lung Cancer Considering First-Line EGFR Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor Therapy. J Clin Oncol. 2011:29;2121-27.
  6. Zhang Y, et al. The prevalence of EGFR mutation in patients with non-small cell lung cancer: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Oncotarget. 2016;7(48).
  7. Szumera-Ciećkiewicz A, et al. EGFR Mutation Testing on Cytological and Histological Samples in 11. Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer: a Polish, Single Institution Study and Systematic Review of European Incidence.Int J Clin Exp Pathol. 2013:6;2800-12.
  8. Uchikawa E, et al. Structural basis of the activation of c-MET receptor. Nat Commun. 2021;12(4074).
  9. Wang Q, et al. MET inhibitors for targeted therapy of EGFR TKI-resistant lung cancer. Journal of Hematology & Oncology. 2019;63.
  10. Coleman N, et al. Beyond epidermal growth factor receptor: MET amplification as a general resistance driver to targeted therapy in oncogene-driven non-small-cell lung cancer. ESMO Open. 2019;6(6).

 

前瞻性陳述

本新聞稿包含1995年《美國私人證券訴訟改革法案》「安全港」條款中定義的前瞻性陳述。這些前瞻性陳述反映了和黃醫藥目前對未來事件的預期,包括對賽沃替尼用於治療非小細胞肺癌患者的治療潛力的預期,賽沃替尼針對此適應症及其他適應症的進一步臨床研究計劃,對此類研究是否能達到其主要或次要終點的預期,以及對此類研究完成時間和結果發佈的預期。前瞻性陳述涉及風險和不確定性。此類風險和不確定性包括下列假設:來自和黃醫藥,用以支援賽沃替尼獲批用於在中國、美國、歐洲和日本或其他地區治療非小細胞肺癌的新藥上市申請的數據充足性,賽沃替尼的安全性,賽沃替尼成為治療非小細胞肺癌和其他癌症患者治療新標準的潛力、實現及完成賽沃替尼進一步臨床開發計畫的能力,在美國、歐洲、日本、中國或其他地區推出上市賽沃替尼的可能性,上述事件的時間,以及新冠肺炎全球大流行對整體經濟、監管及政治狀況帶來的影響等。此外,由於某些研究依賴於泰瑞沙®和英飛凡®作為與賽沃替尼的聯合療法,此類風險和不確定性包括下列假設:泰瑞沙®和英飛凡®的安全性、有效性、供應和持續監管批准。當前和潛在投資者請勿過度依賴這些前瞻性陳述,這些陳述僅在截至本新聞稿發佈當日有效。有關這些風險和其他風險的進一步討論,請查閱和黃醫藥向美國證券交易委員會、AIM及香港聯合交易所有限公司提交的文件。無論是否出現新訊息、未來事件或情況或其他因素,和黃醫藥均不承擔更新或修訂本新聞稿所含訊息的義務。

 

阿斯利康聯絡方法

投資者諮詢:            點擊此處了解詳情
媒體諮詢:              點擊此處了解詳情

 

和黃醫藥聯絡方法

投資者諮詢

李健鴻,高級副總裁 +852 2121 8200
鄭嘉惠,副總裁 +1 (973) 567 3786

傳媒諮詢

美洲 – Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340(手機)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
歐洲 – Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902(手機)/
+44 7779 545 055(手機)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
亞洲 – 周怡,
博然思維集團
+852 9783 6894(手機)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com
中國大陸及香港 – Cindy Lung / Corinne Ho,
縱橫公關集團
+852 9282 4640 (手機) /
+852 6198 4265 (手機)
SPRG_HUTCHMED@sprg.com.hk

任命保薦人

Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500

Nasdaq:US$8.86 (+0.23) | HKEX:HK$13.22 (-0.58) | AIM:£1.63 (+0.04)
Search Result
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Announcements & Press Releases, Oncology / Immunology | 8 Aug 2022

HUTCHMED and AstraZeneca Announce that TAGRISSO® Plus Savolitinib Demonstrated 49% Objective Response Rate in Lung Cancer Patients with High Levels of MET Overexpression and/or Amplification in SAVANNAH Phase II Trial

— MET is the most common biomarker in patients with EGFR-mutated lung cancer who develop resistance to targeted therapy —

— Global SAFFRON Phase III trial evaluating this combination is underway —

 

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ — Monday, August 8, 2022: HUTCHMED (China) Limited (“HUTCHMED”) (Nasdaq/AIM: HCM, HKEX: 13) and AstraZeneca PLC (“AstraZeneca”) (LON/STO/Nasdaq: AZN) today announce that preliminary results from the SAVANNAH Phase II trial showed that TAGRISSO® (osimertinib) plus savolitinib demonstrated an objective response rate (“ORR”) of 49% (95% confidence interval [“CI”], 39-59%) in patients with epidermal growth factor receptor-mutated (“EGFRm”) non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”) with high levels of mesenchymal epithelial transition (“MET”) overexpression and/or amplification, defined as IHC90+ and/or FISH10+, whose disease progressed on treatment with TAGRISSO®.

The highest ORR was observed in patients with high levels of MET who were not treated with prior chemotherapy (52% [95% CI, 41-63%]). In patients whose tumors did not show high levels of MET, the ORR was 9% (95% CI, 4-18%). These results are being shared at the International Association for the Study of Lung Cancer (IASLC) 2022 World Conference on Lung Cancer (WCLC), taking place on August 6-9, 2022 in Vienna, Austria.

Savolitinib, marketed in China under the brand name ORPATHYS®, is an oral, potent and highly selective MET tyrosine kinase inhibitor (“TKI”) being jointly developed and commercialized by AstraZeneca and HUTCHMED.

While EGFR-targeted therapy can provide a durable survival benefit to patients with EGFRm NSCLC, most will eventually develop resistance to their treatment, with MET being the most common resistance biomarker.1 Among patients screened for enrolment in SAVANNAH, all of whom experienced disease progression on TAGRISSO®, 62% had tumors with MET overexpression and/or amplification, and more than one-third (34%) met the defined high MET level cut-off.

Myung-Ju Ahn, MD, PhD, Professor of Hemato-Oncology at the Department of Medicine, Samsung Medical Center, Sungkyunkwan University School of Medicine, Seoul, South Korea, and Principal Investigator in the SAVANNAH Phase II trial, said: “Acquired resistance to targeted therapy and disease progression are difficult realities for most patients with EGFR-mutated NSCLC. These preliminary SAVANNAH results potentially support a novel approach for identifying patients with MET overexpression and/or amplification who are most likely to benefit from a MET-directed therapy, like savolitinib. They also suggest that with the right biomarker testing strategy, MET may be a more prevalent target among resistant patients than previously understood, supporting further investigation of the osimertinib plus savolitinib regimen.”

Cristian Massacesi, Chief Medical Officer and Oncology Chief Development Officer, AstraZeneca said: “The current standard of care for patients with EGFR-mutated lung cancer who progress on targeted treatment is chemotherapy. The results from SAVANNAH suggest savolitinib added to TAGRISSO® at the time of disease progression could possibly provide these biomarker-selected patients with a potentially less toxic, more effective treatment option. We look forward to better understanding the potential of the TAGRISSO® plus savolitinib regimen in this trial and in the SAFFRON Phase III trial.”

Weiguo Su, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Scientific Officer, HUTCHMED, said: “It is encouraging to see the savolitinib and TAGRISSO® combination regimen progress into a global Phase III study, SAFFRON, with a well-supported patient selection strategy that could benefit more patients than previously recognized. The preliminary results of the SAVANNAH study also affirm the role of molecular testing prior to initiating subsequent treatment for NSCLC patients who experience disease progression on an EGFR-targeted therapy. We are aligned in pursuing a selective, patient-centric approach in development efforts for savolitinib in this setting.”

In this analysis, patients’ MET overexpression and/or amplification levels were determined by two tests: immunohistochemistry (“IHC”), which detects if cancer cells have a particular protein or marker on their surface, and fluorescence in situ hybridization (“FISH”), which detects a specific DNA sequence from cancer cells. All patients in this analysis (n=193) had at least IHC50+ and/or FISH5+, and were treated with savolitinib 300mg once daily added to TAGRISSO® 80mg once daily following disease progression on TAGRISSO® alone.

 

Summary of efficacy resultsi:

Endpoint All patients (IHC50+ and/or FISH5+; n=193)

Patients with high levels of METii

(IHC90+ and/or FISH10+)

Patients with lower levels of METii (n=77)
All
(n=108)
No prior chemo
(n=87)
ORR, % (95% CI) 32 (26, 39) 49 (39, 59) 52 (41, 63) 9 (4, 18)
Median DoRiii, months (95% CI) 8.3 (6.9, 9.7) 9.3 (7.6, 10.6) 9.6 (7.6, 14.9) 6.9 (4.1, 16.9)

Median PFSiv,

months (95% CI)

5.3 (4.2, 5.8) 7.1 (5.3, 8.0) 7.2 (4.7, 9.2) 2.8 (2.6, 4.3)
DCRv, % (95% CI) 61 (53, 68) 74 (65, 82) 75 (64, 83) 43 (32, 55)
  1. Analysis data cut-off: 27 August 2021
  2. Eight patients excluded from subgroup analyses due to invalid or missing test results
  3. DoR, duration of response
  4. PFS, progression-free survival
  5. DCR, disease control rate

 

The safety profile of TAGRISSO® plus savolitinib was consistent with the known profiles of the combination and each treatment alone. No new safety signals were identified. Less than half (45%) of patients in this analysis experienced Grade 3 or higher adverse events (“AEs”), with those most frequently reported including pulmonary embolism, dyspnea, decreased neutrophil count and pneumonia. AEs attributable to savolitinib and leading to discontinuation occurred in 13% of patients.

The global SAFFRON Phase III trial will further assess the TAGRISSO® plus savolitinib combination versus platinum-based doublet chemotherapy in patients with EGFRm, MET-overexpressed and/or amplified, locally advanced or metastatic NSCLC following TAGRISSO®. Patients are being prospectively selected using the high MET level cut-off identified in SAVANNAH.

 

About NSCLC and MET aberrations

Lung cancer is the leading cause of cancer death among men and women, accounting for about one-fifth of all cancer deaths.2 Lung cancer is broadly split into NSCLC and small cell lung cancer, with 80-85% classified as NSCLC.3 The majority of NSCLC patients (approximately 75%) are diagnosed with advanced disease and approximately 10-15% of NSCLC patients in the U.S. and Europe and 30-40% of patients in Asia have EGFRm NSCLC.4,5,6,7

MET is a tyrosine kinase receptor that has an essential role in normal cell development.8 MET overexpression and/or amplification can lead to tumor growth and the metastatic progression of cancer cells, and is the primary mechanism of acquired resistance to EGFR TKIs for metastatic EGFR-mutated NSCLC. 8,9 The prevalence of MET depends on the sample type, detection method and assay cut-off used.10

 

About SAVANNAH

SAVANNAH is an ongoing global, randomized, single-arm Phase II trial studying the efficacy of savolitinib added to TAGRISSO® in patients with EGFRm, locally advanced or metastatic NSCLC with MET overexpression and/or amplification who progressed following treatment with TAGRISSO®. Patients were treated with savolitinib 300 or 600 mg once-daily (QD) or 300 mg twice-daily, in combination with oral osimertinib 80 mg QD.

The trial has enrolled 294 patients to date in more than 80 centers globally, including centers in the U.S., Canada, Europe, South America and Asia. The primary endpoint is ORR. Key secondary endpoints include PFS, DoR and safety.

 

About TAGRISSO®

TAGRISSO® (osimertinib) is a third-generation, irreversible EGFR-TKI with proven clinical activity in NSCLC, including against central nervous system metastases. TAGRISSO® (40mg and 80mg once-daily oral tablets) has been used to treat approximately 575,000 patients across indications worldwide and AstraZeneca continues to explore TAGRISSO® as a treatment for patients across multiple stages of EGFRm NSCLC.

In Phase III trials, TAGRISSO® is being investigated in the neoadjuvant resectable setting (NeoADAURA), in the Stage IA2-IA3 adjuvant resectable setting (ADAURA2), in the Stage III locally advanced unresectable setting following chemoradiation therapy (LAURA), and in combination with chemotherapy in the advanced setting (FLAURA2). AstraZeneca is also researching ways to address tumor mechanisms of resistance through the SAVANNAH and ORCHARD Phase II trials, and the SAFFRON Phase III trial, which test TAGRISSO® given concomitantly with savolitinib, an oral, potent and highly selective MET TKI, as well as other potential new medicines.

 

About Savolitinib

Savolitinib is an oral, potent and highly selective MET TKI that has demonstrated clinical activity in advanced solid tumors. It blocks atypical activation of the MET receptor tyrosine kinase pathway that occurs because of mutations (such as exon 14 skipping alterations or other point mutations), gene amplification or protein overexpression.

Savolitinib is marketed in China under the brand name ORPATHYS® for the treatment of patients with NSCLC with MET exon 14 skipping alterations who have progressed following prior systemic therapy or are unable to receive chemotherapy. It is currently under clinical development for multiple tumor types, including lung, kidney and gastric cancers, as a single treatment and in combination with other medicines.

 

About AstraZeneca and HUTCHMED collaboration

In 2011, AstraZeneca and HUTCHMED entered a global licensing and collaboration agreement to jointly develop and commercialize savolitinib. Joint development of savolitinib in China is led by HUTCHMED, while AstraZeneca leads development outside of China. HUTCHMED is responsible for the marketing authorization, manufacturing and supply of savolitinib in China. AstraZeneca is responsible for the commercialization of savolitinib in China and worldwide. Sales of savolitinib are recognized by AstraZeneca.

 

About AstraZeneca in lung cancer

AstraZeneca is working to bring patients with lung cancer closer to cure through the detection and treatment of early-stage disease, while also pushing the boundaries of science to improve outcomes in the resistant and advanced settings. By defining new therapeutic targets and assessing innovative approaches, the Company aims to match medicines to the patients who can benefit most.

The Company’s comprehensive portfolio includes leading lung cancer medicines and the next wave of innovations including TAGRISSO® (osimertinib) and IRESSA® (gefitinib); IMFINZI® (durvalumab) and tremelimumab; ENHERTU® (trastuzumab deruxtecan) and datopotamab deruxtecan in collaboration with Daiichi Sankyo; ORPATHYS® (savolitinib) in collaboration with HUTCHMED; as well as a pipeline of potential new medicines and combinations across diverse mechanisms of action.

AstraZeneca is a founding member of the Lung Ambition Alliance, a global coalition working to accelerate innovation and deliver meaningful improvements for people with lung cancer, including and beyond treatment.

 

About AstraZeneca in oncology

AstraZeneca is leading a revolution in oncology with the ambition to provide cures for cancer in every form, following the science to understand cancer and all its complexities to discover, develop and deliver life-changing medicines to patients.

The Company’s focus is on some of the most challenging cancers. It is through persistent innovation that AstraZeneca has built one of the most diverse portfolios and pipelines in the industry, with the potential to catalyze changes in the practice of medicine and transform the patient experience.

AstraZeneca has the vision to redefine cancer care and, one day, eliminate cancer as a cause of death.

 

About AstraZeneca

AstraZeneca (LSE/STO/Nasdaq: AZN) is a global, science-led biopharmaceutical company that focuses on the discovery, development, and commercialization of prescription medicines in Oncology, Rare Diseases, and BioPharmaceuticals, including Cardiovascular, Renal & Metabolism, and Respiratory & Immunology. Based in Cambridge, UK, AstraZeneca operates in over 100 countries and its innovative medicines are used by millions of patients worldwide. Please visit astrazeneca.com and follow the Company on Twitter @AstraZeneca.

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM: HCM; HKEX: 13) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery and global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. It has more than 4,900 personnel across all its companies, at the center of which is a team of about 1,800 in oncology/​immunology. Since inception it has advanced 13 cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery into clinical studies around the world, with its first three oncology drugs now approved and marketed in China. For more information, please visit: www.hutch‑med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

 

References

  1. Del MD, et al. Understanding the Mechanisms of Resistance in EGFR-Positive NSCLC: From Tissue to Liquid Biopsy to Guide Treatment Strategy. Int J Mol Sci. 2019;20(16): 3951.
  2. World Health Organization. International Agency for Research on Cancer. All cancers fact sheet. Available at: https://gco.iarc.fr/today/data/factsheets/cancers/39-All-cancers-fact-sheet.pdf. Accessed July 2022.
  3. American Cancer Society. What is Lung Cancer? Available at: https://www.cancer.org/cancer/lung-cancer/about/what-is.html. Accessed July 2022.
  4. Knight SB, et al. Progress and prospects of early detection in lung cancer. Open Biol. 2017;7(9): 170070.
  5. Keedy VL, et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology Provisional Clinical Opinion: Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR) Mutation Testing for Patients with Advanced Non-Small-Cell Lung Cancer Considering First-Line EGFR Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor Therapy. J Clin Oncol. 2011:29;2121-27.
  6. Zhang Y, et al. The prevalence of EGFR mutation in patients with non-small cell lung cancer: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Oncotarget. 2016;7(48).
  7. Szumera-Ciećkiewicz A, et al. EGFR Mutation Testing on Cytological and Histological Samples in 11. Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer: a Polish, Single Institution Study and Systematic Review of European Incidence. Int J Clin Exp Pathol. 2013:6;2800-12.
  8. Uchikawa E, et al. Structural basis of the activation of c-MET receptor. Nat Commun. 2021;12(4074).
  9. Wang Q, et al. MET inhibitors for targeted therapy of EGFR TKI-resistant lung cancer. Journal of Hematology & Oncology. 2019;63.
  10. Coleman N, et al. Beyond epidermal growth factor receptor: MET amplification as a general resistance driver to targeted therapy in oncogene-driven non-small-cell lung cancer. ESMO Open. 2019;6(6).

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the therapeutic potential of savolitinib for the treatment of patients with NSCLC, the further clinical development of savolitinib in this and other indications, its expectations as to whether clinical studies of savolitinib would meet their primary or secondary endpoints, and its expectations as to the timing of the completion and the release of results from such studies. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding the sufficiency of HUTCHMED’s data to support New Drug Application approval of savolitinib for the treatment of patients with NSCLC in China, the U.S., E.U., Japan or other jurisdictions, the safety profile of savolitinib, the potential for savolitinib to become a new standard of care for patients with NSCLC and other types of cancer, its ability to implement and complete its further clinical development plans for savolitinib, the potential commercial launch of savolitinib in the U.S., E.U., Japan, China and other jurisdictions, the timing of these events, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. In addition, as certain studies rely on the use of TAGRISSO® and IMFINZI® as combination therapeutics with savolitinib, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and continued regulatory approval of TAGRISSO® and IMFINZI®. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, on AIM and with The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

AstraZeneca Contacts

For details on how to contact the Investor Relations Team, please click here. For Media contacts, click here.

 

HUTCHMED Contacts

Investor Enquiries

Mark Lee, Senior Vice President +852 2121 8200
Annie Cheng, Vice President +1 (973) 567 3786

Media Enquiries

Americas – Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
Europe – Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902 (Mobile) /
+44 7779 545 055 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
Asia – Zhou Yi,
Brunswick
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com

Nominated Advisor

Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500