Nasdaq:US$36.56 (-0.93) | HKEX:HK$58.70 (+0.05) | AIM:£5.38 (-0.09)
搜索结果
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新闻稿, 肿瘤学 / 免疫学 | 2021-09-08

和黄医药与阿斯利康启动沃瑞沙®与泰瑞沙®联合疗法一线治疗某些肺癌患者的SANOVO中国III期临床试验

— 继此联合疗法在治疗伴有EGFR和MET突变或异常的肺癌患者的
SAVANNAH研究中取得重要发现后的又一进展 —

 

中国香港、上海和美国新泽西州2021年9月8日,星期三:和黄医药(中国)有限公司(简称 “和黃医药” 或 “HUTCHMED”)(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)与阿斯利康(LSE/STO/Nasdaq: AZN)已启动SANOVO研究。SANOVO是一项中国III 期临床试验,旨在研究强效、高选择性的口服间质上皮转化因子(“MET”)酪氨酸酶抑制剂(“TKI”)沃瑞沙®(通用名:赛沃替尼/savolitinib)与阿斯利康的第三代不可逆表皮生长因子受体(“EGFR”)TKI泰瑞沙®(通用名:奥希替尼/osimertinib)联合疗法用于一线治疗某些伴有EGFR突变及MET过表达的非小细胞肺癌(“NSCLC”)患者。首名患者已于2021 年9 月7日接受给药治疗。

该项III期研究是一项在伴有EGFR激活突变及MET过表达的未经过治疗的局部晚期或转移性非小细胞肺癌患者中开展的盲法、随机对照的临床试验。该研究将评估泰瑞沙®与沃瑞沙®联合疗法对比泰瑞沙®单药(当前此类患者的标准疗法)的疗效及安全性。研究的主要终点是研究者评估的中位无进展生存期(“PFS”)。其他终点包括独立审查委员会评估的中位PFS,中位总生存期(“OS”)、客观缓解率(“ORR”)、缓解持续时间(“DoR”)、疾病控制率(“DCR”)、到达疾病缓解的时间(“TTR”)及安全性。该研究的其他详情,请浏览clinicaltrials.gov ,检索注册号NCT05009836查看。

 

关于非小细胞肺癌、EGFR及MET异常

肺癌是男性和女性癌症死亡的主要原因,约占所有癌症死亡人数的五分之一。[1]  中国肺癌患者人数占到全世界肺癌患者总数的三分之一以上。[2]  肺癌通常分为非小细胞肺癌和小细胞肺癌(SCLC),其中80%-85%为非小细胞肺癌。[3] 大部分非小细胞肺癌患者在确诊时已是晚期,而大约25-30%的患者在确诊时有机会接受手术治疗。[4],[5] 在有机会接受手术治疗的患者中,大部分患者虽然接受了完全肿瘤切除手术和辅助化疗,最终仍会复发。[6]

美国和欧洲约有10-15%的非小细胞肺癌患者存在EGFR突变,而亚洲患者中该比例高达30-40%。[7],[8],[9]  这些患者对EGFR-TKI的治疗特别敏感,这种抑制剂可阻断驱动肿瘤细胞生长的信号传导途径。[10]

MET是一种受体酪氨酸激酶。[11] MET扩增或过表达不仅可在未经过治疗的患者中出现,亦是EGFR突变的转移性非小细胞肺癌患者使用EGFR-TKI治疗后获得性耐药的主要机制之一。 [12],[13]

 

关于赛沃替尼(中国商品名:沃瑞沙®

赛沃替尼(旧称沃利替尼)是一种强效、高选择性的口服MET酪氨酸激酶抑制剂,在晚期实体瘤中表现出临床活性。赛沃替尼可阻断因突变(例如外显子14跳跃突变或其他点突变)或基因扩增而导致的MET受体酪氨酸激酶信号通路的异常激活。

赛沃替尼在中国获批,并以商品名沃瑞沙®上市用于治疗接受全身性治疗后疾病进展或无法接受化疗的MET外显子14跳跃突变的非小细胞肺癌患者。目前,赛沃替尼正作为单药疗法或与其他药物的联合疗法,开发用于治疗包括肺癌、肾癌和胃癌在内的多种肿瘤类型。

继赛沃替尼由和黄医药自主研发及初步开发后,2011年,和黄医药与阿斯利康达成一项全球许可协议,旨在共同开发赛沃替尼并促进其商业化。和黄医药与阿斯利康合作负责赛沃替尼的临床开发,在中国由和黄医药主导,在海外则由阿斯利康主导。此外,和黄医药负责赛沃替尼在中国的上市许可、生产和供应,而阿斯利康则负责实现赛沃替尼在中国乃至全球范围内的商业化。赛沃替尼的销售收入由阿斯利康确认。

 

赛沃替尼用于治疗非小细胞肺癌

赛沃替尼单药治疗MET 外显子14跳跃突变NSCLC的 II 期研究 (NCT02897479–  赛沃替尼于2021年6月获国家药品监督管理局(“国家药监局”)批准用于治疗MET外显子14跳跃突变的NSCLC。此获批是基于一项中国II期临床试验,其研究结果已于《柳叶刀·呼吸医学》[14]上发表。中位随访时间为17.6个月,所有使用赛沃替尼治疗的受试者的ORR为42.9%(95% CI 31.1-55.3),中位PFS为6.8个月(95% CI 4.2-9.6)。整个研究人群的DCR 为 82.9%(95% CI 72.0-90.8)。赛沃替尼的安全性和耐受性特征与之前的研究结果一致,没有发现新的安全性问题。持续批准取决于在该患者人群中成功完成确证性试验 (NCT04923945)。

 

TATTON Ib/II期扩展研究:赛沃替尼联合泰瑞沙®用于治疗因MET扩展引起的EGFR-TKI治疗后进展的患者(NCT02143466– TATTON研究是一项在超过220名接受过任何EGFR-TKI治疗的伴有MET扩增的EGFR突变阳性NSCLC患者中开展的全球探索性研究。其研究结果已于《柳叶刀·肿瘤学》[15]上发表,最终分析结果于世界肺癌大会[16]上发布。在接受第一代或第二代EGFR-TKI治疗后疾病进展的三个患者队列中,ORR为64.7-66.7%,中位PFS为9.0-11.1个月。在接受第三代EGFR-TKI治疗后疾病进展的患者队列中,ORR为33.3%(95% CI 22.4-45.7),中位PFS为5.5个月(95% CI 4.1-7.7)。该联合疗法展现出令人鼓舞的抗肿瘤活性及可接受的风险获益特征。

 

SAVANNAH II 期研究:赛沃替尼联合泰瑞沙®用于治疗因 MET 扩增或过表达引起的泰瑞沙®治疗后进展的患者 (NCT03778229 – SAVANNAH 研究是一项针对接受过泰瑞沙®治疗的伴有MET扩增或过表达的EGFR突变阳性的 NSCLC 患者的单臂、开放标签的全球性研究。泰瑞沙®是阿斯利康的一种EGFR-TKI。

 

SACHI III期研究:赛沃替尼联合泰瑞沙®用于因 MET 扩增引起的EGFR-TKI治疗后进展的患者(NCT05015608– SACHI研究是一项在中国开展的随机、开放标签研究,针对接受EGFR-TKI治疗后进展的伴有MET扩增的EGFR突变阳性的NSCLC患者。

 

SANOVO III期研究:赛沃替尼联合泰瑞沙®用于治疗初治的伴有MET过表达的EGFR突变阳性NSCLC患者(NCT05009836– SANOVO研究是一项在中国开展的随机、盲性研究,针对MET阳性的未接受治疗的不可切除或转移性EGFR突变阳性的NSCLC患者。

 

赛沃替尼用于治疗肾癌

SAVOIR研究:赛沃替尼单药治疗MET驱动的乳头状肾细胞癌(NCT03091192 – 2020年5月, 在MET驱动的乳头状肾细胞癌患者中比较赛沃替尼单药治疗与舒尼替尼单药治疗的这项全球研究中60名患者的研究数据于ASCO 2020网上年会发表,并同步发表于《美国医学会杂志•肿瘤学(JAMA Oncology)》[17] 。赛沃替尼表现出令人鼓舞的疗效,ORR为27%,而舒尼替尼的ORR则为7%。至数据截止时,对赛沃替尼有反应的患者均未出现疾病进展,OS的风险比(HR)为0.51(95% CI:0.21–1.17; p=0.110),中位生存期尚未到达。

 

CALYPSO I/II 期研究:赛沃替尼联合英飞凡®(IMFINZI®)PD-L1 抑制剂用于治疗肾细胞癌(NCT02819596 – CALYPSO 研究是一项由研究者发起的开放标签的 I/II 期赛沃替尼与英飞凡®联合疗法研究,英飞凡®是阿斯利康的一种PD-L1抗体。该研究旨在评估赛沃替尼/英飞凡®联合治疗乳头状肾细胞癌患者和肾透明细胞癌患者的安全性和疗效。在 ASCO 2021年网上年会上[18] ,公布了一项该研究中对转移性乳头状肾细胞癌患者(PRCC) 队列 41 名患者的分析,其中显示 14 名 MET 驱动患者中8名达到确认反应(57%),中位DoR 为 9.4 个月,中位 PFS 为 10.5 个月,中位 OS 为 27.4 个月。而在该研究中没有出现新的安全信号。

 

SAMETA III期研究: 联合英飞凡® PD-L1 抑制剂用于治疗MET 驱动且不可切除的局部晚期或转移性 PRCC (计划中) – 鉴于SAVOIR和 CALYPSO 的研究成果令人鼓舞,我们计划启动一项开放标签、随机对照的全球 III 期研究,评估赛沃替尼与英飞凡®联合疗法对比舒尼替尼单药疗法或英飞凡®单药疗法,用于治疗 MET驱动的肿瘤不可切除的局部晚期或转移性乳头状肾细胞癌患者。

 

赛沃替尼用于治疗胃癌

赛沃替尼单药疗法治疗MET扩增的晚期或转移性胃癌或胃食管结合部腺癌患者的II期研究(NCT04923932– 这是一项开放标签及两队列的多中心临床试验,旨在评估赛沃替尼在至少接受过一线标准治疗后疾病进展的局部晚期或转移性胃癌或胃食管结合部腺癌患者中的疗效、安全性和药代动力学特征。

 

赛沃替尼用于治疗其他癌症

通过研究者发起的临床试验,赛沃替尼在包括非小细胞肺癌、胃癌和结直肠癌在内的其他多种MET驱动的肿瘤中的应用潜力也在继续探索中。

 

关于泰瑞沙®

泰瑞沙®是一种不可逆的第三代EGFR-TKI,具有抗中枢神经系统转移的临床活性。泰瑞沙®40mg和80mg每天一次的口服片剂已被用于治疗全球范围内相关适应征的大约325,000名患者,阿斯利康继续探索泰瑞沙®作为EGFR突变非小细胞肺癌不同分期患者的治疗方法。

目前,泰瑞沙®还在进行多项新的III期临床研究,探索其在III期局部晚期不可手术切除肺癌的治疗(LAURA)、可手术切除肺癌的新辅助治疗(NeoADAURA)及晚期肺癌与化疗联合治疗(FLAURA2)中的疗效。阿斯利康还在通过泰瑞沙®与赛沃替尼或其他潜在创新药物联合疗法的SACHI和SANOVO III期研究,以及SAVANNAH和ORCHARD II期研究,探索解决耐药性机制的方法。

 

关于和黄医药

和黄医药(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)是一家处于商业化阶段的创新型生物医药公司,致力于发现、全球开发和商业化治疗癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向药物和免疫疗法。超过1,400人的专业团队已将自主发现的11个候选癌症药物推进到在全球开展临床研究,其中首三个创新肿瘤药物现已获批上市。欲了解更多详情,请访问:www.hutch-med.com 或关注我们的领英专页

 

前瞻性陈述

本新闻稿包含1995年《美国私人证券诉讼改革法案》”安全港”条款中定义的前瞻性陈述。这些前瞻性陈述反映了和黄医药目前对未来事件的预期,包括对沃瑞沙®用于治疗非小细胞肺癌患者的治疗潜力的预期,沃瑞沙®针对此适应症及其他适应症的进一步临床研究计划,对此类研究是否能达到其主要或次要终点的预期,以及对此类研究完成时间和结果发布的预期。前瞻性陈述涉及风险和不确定性。此类风险和不确定性包括下列假设:支持沃瑞沙®获批用于在中国治疗非小细胞肺癌的新药上市申请的数据充足性,沃瑞沙®在美国、欧洲和日本等其他地区获得快速审批的潜力,沃瑞沙®的安全性,沃瑞沙®成为治疗非小细胞肺癌患者治疗新标准的潜力、实现及完成沃瑞沙®进一步临床开发计划的能力,在中国或其他地区推出上市沃瑞沙®的可能性,上述事件的时间,以及新冠肺炎全球大流行对整体经济、监管及政治状况带来的影响等。此外,由于某些研究依赖于泰瑞沙®和英飞凡®作为与沃瑞沙®的联合疗法,此类风险和不确定性包括下列假设:泰瑞沙®和英飞凡®的安全性、有效性、供应和持续监管批准。当前和潜在投资者请勿过度依赖这些前瞻性陈述,这些陈述仅在截至本新闻稿发布当日有效。有关这些风险和其他风险的进一步讨论,请查阅和黄医药向美国证券交易委员会、AIM及香港联合交易所有限公司提交的文件。无论是否出现新讯息、未来事件或情况或其他因素,和黄医药均不承担更新或修订本新闻稿所含讯息的义务。

 

  1. World Health Organization. International Agency for Research on Cancer. Lung Fact Sheet. Available at https://gco.iarc.fr/today/data/factsheets/cancers/15-Lung-fact-sheet.pdf. Accessed June 2021.
  2. World Health Organization. International Agency for Research on Cancer. Globocan China Fact Sheet 2020. Available at http://gco.iarc.fr/today/data/factsheets/populations/160-china-fact-sheets.pdf. Accessed June 2021.
  3. LUNGevity Foundation. Types of Lung Cancer. Available at https://lungevity.org/for-patients-caregivers/lung-cancer-101/types-of-lung-cancer. Accessed June 2021.
  4. Cagle P, et al. Lung Cancer Biomarkers: Present Status and Future Developments. Archives Pathology Lab Med. 2013;137:1191-1198.
  5. Le Chevalier T, et al. Adjuvant Chemotherapy for Resectable Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer: Where is it Going? Ann Oncol. 2010;21:vii196-vii198.
  6. Pignon J, et al. Lung Adjuvant Cisplatin Evaluation: A Pooled Analysis by the LACE Collaborative Group. J Clin Oncol. 2008;26:3552-3559.
  7. Zhang YL, et al. The prevalence of EGFR mutation in patients with non-small cell lung cancer: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Oncotarget. 2016;7(48):78985-78993. doi:10.18632/oncotarget.12587
  8. Keedy V.L., et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology Provisional Clinical Opinion: Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR) Mutation Testing for Patients with Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Considering First-Line EGFR Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor Therapy. J Clin Oncol. 2011:29;2121-27.
  9. Ellison G, et al. EGFR Mutation Testing in Lung Cancer: a Review of Available Methods and Their Use for Analysis of Tumour Tissue and Cytology Samples. J Clin Pathol. 2013:66;79-89.
  10. Cross DA, et al. AZD9291, an Irreversible EGFR TKI, Overcomes T790M-Mediated Resistance to EGFR Inhibitors in Lung Cancer. Cancer Discov. 2014;4(9):1046-1061.
  11. Organ SL, et al. An overview of the c-MET signaling pathway. Ther Adv Med Oncol 2011; 3(1Suppl): S7-S19.
  12. Ramalingham SS, et al. Mechanisms of acquired resistance to first-line osimertinib: Preliminary data from the phase III FLAURA study.  Ann Oncol. 2018; 29, SUPPLEMENT 8, VIII740. DOI:https://doi.org/10.1093/annonc/mdy424.063
  13. Sterlacci W, et al. MET overexpression and gene amplification: prevalence, clinico-pathological characteristics and prognostic significance in a large cohort of patients with surgically resected NSCLC. Virchows Arch. 2017;471(1):49-55. doi:10.1007/s00428-017-2131-1
  14. Lu S, et al. Once-daily savolitinib in Chinese patients with pulmonary sarcomatoid carcinomas and other non-small-cell lung cancers harbouring MET exon 14 skipping alterations: a multicentre, single-arm, open-label, phase 2 study. Lancet Respir Med. 2021 Jun 21:S2213-2600(21)00084-9. doi: 10.1016/S2213-2600(21)00084-9.
  15. Sequist LV, et al. Osimertinib plus savolitinib in patients with EGFR mutation-positive, MET-amplified, non-small-cell lung cancer after progression on EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibitors: interim results from a multicentre, open-label, phase 1b study. Lancet Oncol. 2020;21(3):373-386. doi:10.1016/S1470-2045(19)30785-5.
  16. Han J, et al. FP14.03 Osimertinib + Savolitinib in pts with EGFRm MET-Amplified/Overexpressed NSCLC: Phase Ib TATTON Parts B and D Final Analysis. J Thorac Oncol. 2021;16(3S):S227-S228. doi: 10.1016/j.jtho.2021.01.146.
  17. Choueiri TK, et al. Efficacy of Savolitinib vs Sunitinib in Patients With MET-Driven Papillary Renal Cell Carcinoma: The SAVOIR Phase 3 Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Oncol. 2020 Aug 1;6(8):1247-1255. doi: 10.1001/jamaoncol.2020.2218.
  18. Suarez C, et al. Clinical activity of durvalumab and savolitinib in MET-driven, metastatic papillary renal cancer. J Clin Oncol 39, no. 15_suppl (May 20, 2021) 4511-4511. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2021.39.15_suppl.4511.

 

联络方法

投资者咨询

李健鸿,高级副总裁 +852 2121 8200
郑嘉惠,副总裁 +1 (973) 567 3786

传媒咨询

美洲
Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340(手机)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
欧洲
Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902(手机)/
+44 7779 545 055(手机)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
亚洲
周怡,
博然思维集团
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com

任命保荐人

Atholl Tweedie/
Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500

Nasdaq:US$36.56 (-0.93) | HKEX:HK$57.55 (-1.15) | AIM:£5.33 (-0.05)
Search Result
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Announcements & Press Releases, Oncology / Immunology | 8 Sep 2021

HUTCHMED and AstraZeneca Initiate SANOVO Phase III Trial of ORPATHYS® and TAGRISSO® Combination as a First-Line Therapy for Certain Lung Cancer Patients in China

— Follows important findings from the SAVANNAH study of this combination in lung cancer patients whose tumors harbor mutations or aberrations of EGFR and MET —

 

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ — Wednesday, September 8, 2021: HUTCHMED (China) Limited (“HUTCHMED”) (Nasdaq/AIM:HCM; HKEX:13) and AstraZeneca PLC (“AstraZeneca”) (LSE/STO/Nasdaq:AZN) have initiated SANOVO, a China Phase III study of ORPATHYS® (savolitinib), an oral, potent, and highly selective MET tyrosine kinase inhibitor (“TKI”), in combination with AstraZeneca’s third-generation, irreversible epidermal growth factor receptor (“EGFR”) TKI, TAGRISSO® (osimertinib) as a first-line treatment in certain non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”) patients whose tumors harbor EGFR mutation and overexpress MET. The first patient was dosed on September 7, 2021.

 

The Phase III trial is a blinded, randomized, controlled study in previously untreated patients with locally advanced or metastatic NSCLC with activating EGFR mutations and MET overexpression. The study will evaluate the efficacy and safety of TAGRISSO® in combination with ORPATHYS® comparing to TAGRISSO® alone, a standard-of-care treatment option for these patients. The primary endpoint of the study is median progression free survival (“PFS”) as assessed by investigators. Other endpoints include median PFS assessed by an independent review committee, median overall survival (“OS”), objective response rate (“ORR”), duration of response (“DoR”), disease control rate (“DCR”), time to response (TTR), and safety. Additional details may be found at clinicaltrials.gov, using identifier NCT05009836.

 

About NSCLC, EGFR and MET Aberrations

Lung cancer is the leading cause of cancer death among men and women, accounting for about one-fifth of all cancer deaths.[1]  More than a third of the world’s lung cancer patients are in China.[2]  Lung cancer is broadly split into NSCLC and small cell lung cancer, with 80-85% classified as NSCLC.[3] The majority of NSCLC patients are diagnosed with advanced disease while approximately 25-30% present with resectable disease at diagnosis.[4],[5] For patients with resectable tumors, the majority of patients eventually develop recurrence despite complete tumor resection and adjuvant chemotherapy.[6]

Approximately 10-25% of NSCLC patients in the US and Europe, and 30-40% of patients in Asia have EGFR-mutated NSCLC.[7],[8],[9]  These patients are particularly sensitive to treatment with an EGFR TKI which blocks the cell-signaling pathways that drive the growth of tumor cells.[10]

MET is a tyrosine kinase receptor.[11] Aberration of MET (amplification or overexpression) is present in both treatment naïve patients as well as being one of the primary mechanisms of acquired resistance to EGFR TKIs for metastatic EGFR-mutated NSCLC. [12],[13]

 

About Savolitinib (ORPATHYS® in China)

Savolitinib is an oral, potent, and highly selective MET TKI that has demonstrated clinical activity in advanced solid tumors. It blocks atypical activation of the MET receptor tyrosine kinase pathway that occurs because of mutations (such as exon 14 skipping alterations or other point mutations) or gene amplification.

Savolitinib is marketed in China under the brand name ORPATHYS® for the treatment of patients with NSCLC with MET exon 14 skipping alterations who have progressed following prior systemic therapy or are unable to receive chemotherapy. It is currently under clinical development for multiple tumor types, including lung, kidney, and gastric cancers, as a single treatment and in combination with other medicines.

In 2011, following its discovery and initial development by HUTCHMED, AstraZeneca and HUTCHMED entered a global licensing agreement to jointly develop and commercialize savolitinib. Joint development in China is led by HUTCHMED, while AstraZeneca leads development outside of China. HUTCHMED is responsible for the marketing authorization, manufacturing and supply of savolitinib in China. AstraZeneca is responsible for the commercialization of savolitinib in China and worldwide. Sales of savolitinib are recognized by AstraZeneca.

 

Savolitinib development in NSCLC

Phase II study of savolitinib monotherapy in MET Exon 14 skipping alteration NSCLC (NCT02897479) – In June 2021, savolitinib was granted drug registration conditional approval by the National Medical Products Administration of China (NMPA) for MET Exon 14 skipping alteration NSCLC. The approval was based on the results of a Phase II study in China; results of this study were published in The Lancet Respiratory Medicine[14]. At a median follow up of 17.6 months, savolitinib demonstrated an ORR of 42.9% (95% confidence interval [CI] 31.1-55.3) and median PFS of 6.8 months (95% CI 4.2-9.6) in the overall trial population. DCR in the overall trial population was 82.9% (95% CI 72.0-90.8). The safety and tolerability profile of savolitinib was consistent with previous trials, and no new safety signals were identified. Continued approval is contingent upon the successful completion of a confirmatory trial in this patient population (NCT04923945).

 

TATTON Phase Ib/II expansion studies of savolitinib in combination with TAGRISSO® in patients who have progressed following EGFR TKI treatment due to MET amplification (NCT02143466) – This global exploratory study in over 220 EGFR mutation positive NSCLC patients with MET amplified tumors following progression after treatment with any EGFR TKI. Results were published in Lancet Oncology[15] and final analysis was presented at the World Conference on Lung Cancer[16]. Three cohorts with patients treated following progression on first- or second-generation EGFR TKI demonstrated an ORR of 64.7-66.7% and a median PFS of 9.0-11.1 months. The cohort of patients treated following progression on a third-generation EGFR TKI demonstrated an ORR of 33.3% (95% CI 22.4-45.7), with a median PFS of 5.5 months (95% CI 4.1-7.7). The combination demonstrated encouraging anti-tumor activity and an acceptable risk-benefit profile.

 

SAVANNAH Phase II study of savolitinib in combination with TAGRISSO® in patients who have progressed following TAGRISSO® due to MET amplification or overexpression (NCT03778229) – This is a single-arm, open-label, global study in epidermal growth factor receptor (“EGFR”) mutation positive NSCLC patients with MET amplified/overexpressed tumors following progression after treatment with TAGRISSO®, an EGFR TKI owned by AstraZeneca.

 

SACHI Phase III study of savolitinib in combination with TAGRISSO® in patients who have progressed following EGFR TKI treatment due to MET amplification (NCT05015608) – This is a randomized, open-label study in China in EGFR mutation positive NSCLC patients with MET amplified tumors following progression after treatment with any EGFR TKI.

 

SANOVO Phase III study of savolitinib in combination with TAGRISSO® in treatment-naïve patients with EGFR mutant positive NSCLC with MET overexpression (NCT05009836) – This is a randomized, blinded study in China in untreated, unresectable or metastatic patients with EGFR mutation positive NSCLC with MET positive tumors.

 

Savolitinib development in kidney cancer

SAVOIR randomized, controlled study of ORPATHYS® monotherapy in MET-driven papillary renal cell carcinoma (“RCC”) (NCT03091192) – In May 2020, data from 60 patients in this global study of savolitinib monotherapy compared with sunitinib monotherapy in MET-driven papillary RCC was presented at the ASCO 2020 Program and published simultaneously in JAMA Oncology[17]. Savolitinib demonstrated encouraging activity, including an ORR of 27% versus 7% for sunitinib, with no savolitinib responding patients experiencing disease progression at data cut-off, and an encouraging OS hazard ratio of 0.51 (95% CI: 0.21–1.17; p=0.110) with median not reached at data cut-off.

 

CALYPSO Phase I/II study of savolitinib in combination with IMFINZI® PD-L1 inhibitor in RCC (NCT02819596) – The CALYPSO study is an investigator initiated open-label Phase I/II study of savolitinib in combination with IMFINZI®, a PD-L1 antibody owned by AstraZeneca. The study is evaluating the safety and efficacy of the savolitinib /IMFINZI® combination in patients with papillary RCC and clear cell RCC. An analysis of 41 patients enrolled in the PRCC cohort of in this study was presented at the 2021 ASCO Annual Meeting[18], showing a confirmed response rate in 8 out of 14 MET-driven patients, or 57%, with a median DoR of 9.4 months, median PFS of 10.5 months and median OS of 27.4 months. No new safety signals were seen.

 

SAMETA Phase III study in combination with IMFINZI® PD-L1 inhibitor in MET-driven, unresectable and locally advanced or metastatic PRCC (in planning)Based on the encouraging results of the SAVOIR and CALYPSO studies, we are planning to initiate SAMETA, a global Phase III, open-label, randomized, controlled study of savolitinib plus IMFINZI® versus sunitinib monotherapy versus IMFINZI® monotherapy in patients with MET-driven, unresectable and locally advanced or metastatic PRCC.

 

Savolitinib development in gastric cancer

Phase II study of savolitinib monotherapy in advanced or metastatic MET amplified gastric cancer (“GC”) or adenocarcinoma of the gastroesophageal junction (“GEJ”) (NCT04923932) – This is an open-label, two-cohort, multi-center study to evaluate the efficacy, safety and pharmacokinetics (PK) of savolitinib in locally advanced or metastatic GC or GEJ patients whose disease progressed after at least one line of standard therapy.

 

Savolitinib development in other cancer indications

Savolitinib opportunities are also continuing to be explored in multiple other MET-driven tumor settings via investigator-initiated studies including colorectal cancer.

 

About TAGRISSO®

TAGRISSO® is a third-generation, irreversible EGFR TKI with clinical activity against central nervous system metastases. TAGRISSO® (40mg and 80mg once-daily oral tablets) has been used to treat more than 325,000 patients across indications worldwide and AstraZeneca continues to explore TAGRISSO® as a treatment for patients across multiple stages of EGFR-mutated NSCLC.

In Phase III trials, TAGRISSO® is being tested in the neoadjuvant resectable setting (NeoADAURA), in the Stage III locally advanced unresectable setting (LAURA) and, in combination with chemotherapy, in the Stage III locally advanced or Stage IV metastatic settings (FLAURA2). AstraZeneca is also researching ways to address tumor mechanisms of resistance through the SACHI and SANOVO Phase III trials, as well as the SAVANNAH and ORCHARD Phase II trials, which test TAGRISSO® given concomitantly with savolitinib, as well as other potential new medicines.

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM:HCM; HKEX:13) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery and global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. A dedicated organization of over 1,400 personnel has advanced eleven cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery into clinical studies around the world, with its first three oncology drugs now approved and marketed. For more information, please visit: www.hutch-med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the therapeutic potential of ORPATHYS® for the treatment of patients with NSCLC, the further clinical development of ORPATHYS® in this and other indications, its expectations as to whether clinical studies of ORPATHYS® would meet their primary or secondary endpoints, and its expectations as to the timing of the completion and the release of results from such studies. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding the sufficiency of its data to support New Drug Application approval of ORPATHYS® for the treatment of patients with NSCLC in China, its potential to gain expeditious approvals for ORPATHYS® in other jurisdictions such as the U.S., E.U. or Japan, the safety profile of ORPATHYS®, the potential for ORPATHYS® to become a new standard of care for NSCLC patients, its ability to implement and complete its further clinical development plans for ORPATHYS®, its potential commercial launch of ORPATHYS® in China and other jurisdictions, the timing of these events, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. In addition, as certain studies rely on the use of TAGRISSO® and IMFINZI® as combination therapeutics with ORPATHYS®, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and continued regulatory approval of TAGRISSO® and IMFINZI®. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, on AIM and with The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

 

  1. World Health Organization. International Agency for Research on Cancer. Lung Fact Sheet. Available at https://gco.iarc.fr/today/data/factsheets/cancers/15-Lung-fact-sheet.pdf. Accessed June 2021.
  2. World Health Organization. International Agency for Research on Cancer. Globocan China Fact Sheet 2020. Available at http://gco.iarc.fr/today/data/factsheets/populations/160-china-fact-sheets.pdf. Accessed June 2021.
  3. LUNGevity Foundation. Types of Lung Cancer. Available at https://lungevity.org/for-patients-caregivers/lung-cancer-101/types-of-lung-cancer. Accessed June 2021.
  4. Cagle P, et al. Lung Cancer Biomarkers: Present Status and Future Developments. Archives Pathology Lab Med. 2013;137:1191-1198.
  5. Le Chevalier T, et al. Adjuvant Chemotherapy for Resectable Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer: Where is it Going? Ann Oncol. 2010;21:vii196-vii198.
  6. Pignon J, et al. Lung Adjuvant Cisplatin Evaluation: A Pooled Analysis by the LACE Collaborative Group. J Clin Oncol. 2008;26:3552-3559.
  7. Zhang YL, et al. The prevalence of EGFR mutation in patients with non-small cell lung cancer: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Oncotarget. 2016;7(48):78985-78993. doi:10.18632/oncotarget.12587
  8. Keedy V.L., et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology Provisional Clinical Opinion: Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR) Mutation Testing for Patients with Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Considering First-Line EGFR Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor Therapy. J Clin Oncol. 2011:29;2121-27.
  9. Ellison G, et al. EGFR Mutation Testing in Lung Cancer: a Review of Available Methods and Their Use for Analysis of Tumour Tissue and Cytology Samples. J Clin Pathol. 2013:66;79-89.
  10. Cross DA, et al. AZD9291, an Irreversible EGFR TKI, Overcomes T790M-Mediated Resistance to EGFR Inhibitors in Lung Cancer. Cancer Discov. 2014;4(9):1046-1061.
  11. Organ SL, et al. An overview of the c-MET signaling pathway. Ther Adv Med Oncol 2011; 3(1Suppl): S7-S19.
  12. Ramalingham SS, et al. Mechanisms of acquired resistance to first-line osimertinib: Preliminary data from the phase III FLAURA study.  Ann Oncol. 2018; 29, SUPPLEMENT 8, VIII740. DOI:https://doi.org/10.1093/annonc/mdy424.063
  13. Sterlacci W, et al. MET overexpression and gene amplification: prevalence, clinico-pathological characteristics and prognostic significance in a large cohort of patients with surgically resected NSCLC. Virchows Arch. 2017;471(1):49-55. doi:10.1007/s00428-017-2131-1
  14. Lu S, et al. Once-daily savolitinib in Chinese patients with pulmonary sarcomatoid carcinomas and other non-small-cell lung cancers harbouring MET exon 14 skipping alterations: a multicentre, single-arm, open-label, phase 2 study. Lancet Respir Med. 2021 Jun 21:S2213-2600(21)00084-9. doi: 10.1016/S2213-2600(21)00084-9.
  15. Sequist LV, et al. Osimertinib plus savolitinib in patients with EGFR mutation-positive, MET-amplified, non-small-cell lung cancer after progression on EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibitors: interim results from a multicentre, open-label, phase 1b study. Lancet Oncol. 2020;21(3):373-386. doi:10.1016/S1470-2045(19)30785-5.
  16. Han J, et al. FP14.03 Osimertinib + Savolitinib in pts with EGFRm MET-Amplified/Overexpressed NSCLC: Phase Ib TATTON Parts B and D Final Analysis. J Thorac Oncol. 2021;16(3S):S227-S228. doi: 10.1016/j.jtho.2021.01.146.
  17. Choueiri TK, et al. Efficacy of Savolitinib vs Sunitinib in Patients With MET-Driven Papillary Renal Cell Carcinoma: The SAVOIR Phase 3 Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Oncol. 2020 Aug 1;6(8):1247-1255. doi: 10.1001/jamaoncol.2020.2218.
  18. Suarez C, et al. Clinical activity of durvalumab and savolitinib in MET-driven, metastatic papillary renal cancer. J Clin Oncol 39, no. 15_suppl (May 20, 2021) 4511-4511. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2021.39.15_suppl.4511.

 

 

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries

Mark Lee, Senior Vice President +852 2121 8200
Annie Cheng, Vice President +1 (973) 567 3786

Media Enquiries

Americas
Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
Europe
Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902 (Mobile) /
+44 7779 545 055 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
Asia
Zhou Yi,
Brunswick
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com

Nominated Advisor

Atholl Tweedie /Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500