Nasdaq:US$17.69 (-2.18) | HKEX:HK$29.50 (+0.00) | AIM:£2.98 (-0.36)
搜索结果
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新闻稿, 肿瘤学 / 免疫学 | 2022-12-19

和黄医药开始向美国FDA滚动提交呋喹替尼用于治疗难治性结直肠癌的新药上市申请

– 公司计划于2023年上半年完成美国新药上市申请的滚动提交 ,欧洲及日本的提交将紧随其后 –

– 在美国、欧洲、日本和澳洲开展的全球III期FRESCO-2研究支持了该新药上市申请 –

– FRESCO-2研究示,呋喹替尼治降低移性癌的死亡风险达34%(0.66 HR)–

 

中国香港、上海和美国新泽西州:2022年12月19日,星期一:和黄医药(中国)有限公司(简称“和黄医药”或“HUTCHMED”)(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)今天宣布已开始向美国食品药品监督管理局(“FDA”)滚动提交呋喹替尼用于治疗难治性转移性结直肠癌的新药上市申请。呋喹替尼是一种高选择性、强效的口服血管内皮生长因子受体(“VEGFR”)-1、-2及-3抑制剂。和黄医药计划于2023年上半年完成新药上市申请提交,并随后向欧洲药品管理局(“EMA”)提交上市许可申请(MAA)以及向日本医药品和医疗器械局(“PMDA”)提交新药上市申请。

美国FDA于2020年6月授予呋喹替尼快速通道资格,开发用于治疗转移性结直肠癌患者,允许和黄医药以滚动提交的方式分批提交新药上市申请。在美国、欧洲、日本和澳洲开展的呋喹替尼联合最佳支持治疗对比安慰剂联合最佳支持治疗用于治疗难治性转移性结直肠癌患者的全球III期国际多中心临床试验(MRCT)FRESCO-2研究支持了该新药上市申请。

FRESCO-2的研究结果已于近期的欧洲肿瘤内科学会(ESMO)2022年年会上公布。该研究表明,与安慰剂相比,呋喹替尼疗法在主要终点总生存期(“OS”)和关键次要终点无进展生存期(“PFS”)均达到具有统计学意义和临床意义的显著延长。具体而言,461名接受呋喹替尼治疗的患者的中位OS为7.4个月,而230名安慰剂组患者的中位OS为4.8个月(风险比 [“HR”] 0.66;95%置信区间 [“CI”] 0.55–0.80; p<0.001)。接受呋喹替尼治疗的患者的中位PFS为3.7个月,而安慰剂组患者的则为1.8个月(HR 0.32;95% CI 0.27–0.39;p<0.001)。呋喹替尼组的疾病控制率(“DCR”)为55.5%,而安慰剂组的为16.1%。呋喹替尼在FRESCO-2研究中的安全性特征与既往研究中观察到的一致。接受呋喹替尼治疗的患者中,20.4%的患者发生了导致停药的治疗相关不良事件,而安慰剂组的则为21.1%。

和黄医药首席执行官兼首席科学官苏慰国博士表示:“我们正致力于下一步战略的执行,希望将呋喹替尼带向海外患者。结直肠癌是全球最常见的癌症之一,据估计美国每年有超过5万人因结直肠癌而失去生命。我们的美国新药上市申请包括了已取得成功的国际多中心临床试验FRESCO-2研究的结果,其研究设计经过了与FDA、EMA和PMDA的共同讨论。该研究显示,在所有患者群体中接受呋喹替尼治疗的患者均显示出具有意义的生存获益和抗肿瘤效果,与支持了呋喹替尼在中国获批用于治疗结直肠癌的关键III期FRESCO研究的结果一致。我们期待明年在欧洲和日本也提交新药上市申请。”

在中国,呋喹替尼以商品名爱优特®(ELUNATE®)上市,用于治疗既往接受过氟嘧啶、奥沙利铂和伊立替康治疗的转移性结直肠癌患者,包括既往接受过抗VEGF治疗和/或抗表皮生长因子受体(EGFR)治疗(RAS野生型)的患者。其自2020年1月起获纳入中国国家医保药品目录。呋喹替尼在中国获批是基于FRESCO研究的成功结果。FRESCO研究是一项呋喹替尼关键性III期注册研究,共计纳入416名中国结直肠癌患者。

和黄医药拥有呋喹替尼在中国以外区域的所有商业化权利。在中国,和黄医药与礼来公司合作推广爱优特®

 

关于结直肠癌

结直肠癌是始于结肠或直肠的癌症,为全球第三大常见癌症,在2020年估计造成超过91.5万人死亡。[1] 在美国,2022年估计将新增15.1万例结直肠癌新症以及5.3万例死亡。[2] 在欧洲,结直肠癌是第二大常见癌症,2020年估计有50.7万例新增病例和24万例死亡。1 在日本,结直肠癌是最常见的癌症,2020年估计有14.7万例新增病例和5.9万例死亡。1

 

关于呋喹替尼

呋喹替尼是一种高选择性、强效的口服VEGFR-1、-2及-3抑制剂。VEGFR抑制剂在抑制肿瘤的血管生成中起到至关重要的作用。呋喹替尼的独特设计使其激酶选择性更高,以达到更低的脱靶毒性、更高的耐受性及对靶点更稳定的覆盖。迄今,呋喹替尼在患者中的耐受性普遍良好,并且临床前研究中展示出的较低的药物间相互作用的可能性,或使其非常适合与其他癌症疗法联合使用。

 

关于呋喹替尼在中国获批

中国转移性结直肠癌研究:呋喹替尼于2018年9月获中国国家药品监督管理局(“国家药监局”)批准在中国销售,并于2018年11月以商品名爱优特®商业上市。其自2020年1月起获纳入中国国家医保药品目录。爱优特®适用于既往接受过氟嘧啶、奥沙利铂和伊立替康治疗的转移性结直肠癌患者,包括既往接受过抗VEGF治疗和/或抗表皮生长因子受体(EGFR)治疗(RAS野生型)的患者。在中国416例转移性结直肠癌患者中开展的呋喹替尼FRESCO关键性III期注册研究[3]的研究成果已于2018年6月在《美国医学会杂志(JAMA)》上发表NCT02314819)。

 

关于呋喹替尼的其他开发项目

呋喹替尼用于以下研究用途的安全性及疗效尚不明确,不能保证其将在任何国家或地区的研究用途能获得卫生部门批准或商业上市。

 

中国胃癌研究:FRUTIGA研究是一项随机双盲III期临床试验,旨在评估呋喹替尼和紫杉醇联合疗法治疗对一线标准化疗无应答的晚期胃癌或胃食管结合部(GEJ)腺癌患者的疗效和安全性(NCT03223376)。FRUTIGA研究的顶线结果已于2022年11月公布。该研究达到其中一个主要终点,即PFS取得具有统计学意义的显著改善,这一结果具有临床意义。另一个主要终点OS尽管在中位OS上观察到改善,但按照预设的统计计划未取得统计学显著性。此外,呋喹替尼在包括客观缓解率(ORR)、DCR和延长缓解持续时间(DoR)在内的次要终点亦均观察到具有统计学意义的显著改善。呋喹替尼在FRUTIGA研究中的安全性特征亦与既往研究中观察到的一致。完整的详细研究结果有待继续分析,预计将于即将举行的学术会议上发布。上述结果以及进一步的分析将递交予中国国家药监局。

和黄医药亦在开发呋喹替尼结合免疫疗法用于治疗多种实体瘤癌症。目前,研究已启动以评估呋喹替尼与PD-1单克隆抗体联合疗法,包括替雷利珠单抗(tislelizumab)(由百济神州有限公司(“百济神州”)开发)和信迪利单抗(sintilimab)(由信达生物制药(苏州)有限公司开发)。研究包括在美国启动的美国转移性乳腺癌、子宫内膜癌和结直肠癌(NCT04577963)研究,在中国和韩国启动的胃癌、结直肠癌和非小细胞肺癌(由百济神州启动)(NCT04716634) 研究;及在中国启动的子宫内膜癌及其他实体瘤(NCT03903705)。

 

关于和黄医药

和黄医药(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)是一家处于商业化阶段的创新型生物医药公司,致力于发现、全球开发和商业化治疗癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向药物和免疫疗法。集团旗下公司共有超过5,000名员工,其中核心的肿瘤/免疫业务拥有约1,800人的团队。自成立以来,和黄医药致力于将自主发现的抗肿瘤候选药物带向全球临床开发,其中首三个创新肿瘤药物现已在中国获批上市。欲了解更多详情,请访问:www.hutch‑med.com或关注我们的领英专页。

 


[1] The Global Cancer Observatory.  Accessed September 21, 2021.
[2] SEER. Cancer Stat Facts: Colorectal Cancer. National Cancer Institute. https://seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/colorect.html. Accessed June 27, 2022.
[3] Li J, Qin S, Xu RH, et al. Effect of Fruquintinib vs Placebo on Overall Survival in Patients with Previously Treated Metastatic Colorectal Cancer: The FRESCO Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA. 2018;319(24):2486-2496. doi:10.1001/jama.2018.7855.

 

前瞻性陈述

本新闻稿包含1995年《美国私人证券诉讼改革法案》“安全港”条款中定义的前瞻性陈述。这些前瞻性陈述反映了和黄医药目前对未来事件的预期,包括FDA提交呋喹替尼用于治疗结的新药上市申以及提交间的期,呋喹替尼用于治疗结直肠癌患者的治疗潜力的预期以及呋喹替尼针对此适应症及其他适应症的进一步临床研究计划。前瞻性陈述涉及风险和不确定性。此类风险和不确定性包括下列假设:对研究时间和结果发布的预期、支持呋喹替尼在美国或欧洲、日本等其他地区获批用于治疗结直肠癌或其他适应症的新药上市申请的数据充足性、获得监管部门快速审批或审批的潜力,呋喹替尼的安全性、和黄医药为呋喹替尼进一步临床开发计划及商业化提供资金并实现及完成的能力,此类事件发生的时间,以及新冠肺炎全球大流行对整体经济、监管及政治状况带来的影响等。此外,由于部分研究赖于把其他药物产品如紫杉醇、替雷利珠单抗、信迪利单抗与呋喹替尼联合使用,因此此类风险和不确定性包括有关这些治疗药物的安全性、疗效、供应和监管批准的假设。当前和潜在投资者请勿过度依赖这些前瞻性陈述,这些陈述仅在截至本新闻稿发布当日有效。有关这些风险和其他风险的进一步讨论,请查阅和黄医药向美国证券交易委员会、AIM以及香港联合交易所有限公司提交的文件。无论是否出现新讯息、未来事件或情况或其他因素,和黄医药均不承担更新或修订本新闻稿所含讯息的义务。

 

联络方法

投资者谘询

李健鸿,高级副总裁 +852 2121 8200
郑嘉惠,副总裁 +1 (973) 567 3786

媒体谘询

美洲 – Brad Miles,
Solebury
+1 (917) 570 7340(手机)
bmiles@soleburystrat.com
欧洲 – Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902(手机)/
+44 7779 545 055(手机)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
中国大陆 – 龙肇怡 / 何芷晴,
纵横公关集团
+852 9282 4640 (手机)/
+852 6198 4265 (手机)
SPRG_HUTCHMED@sprg.com.hk

任命保荐人

Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500

Nasdaq:US$17.69 (-2.18) | HKEX:HK$29.50 (-2.25) | AIM:£2.98 (-0.36)
Search Result
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Announcements & Press Releases, Oncology / Immunology | 19 Dec 2022

HUTCHMED Initiates Rolling Submission of NDA to U.S. FDA for Fruquintinib for the Treatment of Refractory Colorectal Cancer

— Company plans to complete rolling submission to the U.S. in the first half of 2023, followed by filings in Europe and Japan —

— NDA is supported by global Phase III FRESCO-2 study conducted in the U.S., Europe, Japan and Australia —

— FRESCO-2 showed fruquintinib treatment reduced the risk of death by 34% in metastatic colorectal cancer (0.66 HR) —

 

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ — Monday, December 19, 2022: HUTCHMED (China) Limited (“HUTCHMED”) (Nasdaq/AIM:​HCM, HKEX:​13) today announces that it has initiated the filing of a rolling submission of a New Drug Application (“NDA”) to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”) for fruquintinib, a highly selective and potent oral inhibitor of VEGFR-1, -2 and -3, for the treatment of refractory metastatic colorectal cancer (“CRC”). HUTCHMED plans to complete the NDA submission in the first half of 2023, to be followed by filing of a Marketing Authorization Application (“MAA”) to the European Medicines Agency (“EMA”) and an NDA to the Japan Pharmaceuticals and Medical Devices Agency (“PMDA”).

The U.S. FDA granted Fast Track Designation for the development of fruquintinib for the treatment of patients with metastatic CRC in June 2020, enabling the company to submit sections of the NDA on a rolling basis. The NDA is supported by the global Phase III multi-regional clinical trial (MRCT) FRESCO-2 study conducted in the U.S., Europe, Japan and Australia that investigated fruquintinib plus best supportive care (“BSC”) vs placebo plus BSC in patients with refractory metastatic CRC.

The FRESCO-2 results were recently presented at the European Society for Medical Oncology Congress 2022. The study demonstrated that treatment with fruquintinib resulted in a statistically significant and clinically meaningful increase in the primary endpoint of overall survival (“OS”) and the key secondary endpoint of progression free survival (“PFS”) compared to treatment with placebo. Specifically, the median OS was 7.4 months for the 461 patients treated with fruquintinib compared to 4.8 months for the 230 patients in the placebo group (hazard ratio [“HR”] 0.66; 95% confidence interval [“CI”] 0.55–0.80; p<0.001). The median PFS was 3.7 months for patients treated with fruquintinib compared to 1.8 months for patients in the placebo group (HR 0.32; 95% CI 0.27–0.39; p<0.001). The disease control rate (“DCR”) was 55.5% in the fruquintinib group compared to 16.1% for patients in the placebo group. The safety profile of fruquintinib in FRESCO-2 was consistent with previously reported fruquintinib studies. Treatment related adverse events leading to discontinuation occurred in 20.4% of patients who received fruquintinib, compared to 21.1% of patients who received placebo.

“We are dedicated to executing on the next strategic steps in bringing fruquintinib to patients outside of China,” said Dr. Weiguo Su, Executive Director, Chief Executive Officer and Chief Scientific Officer of HUTCHMED. “Colorectal cancer is one of the most common cancers worldwide, and over 50,000 people in the U.S. are estimated to die of colorectal cancer each year. Our U.S. NDA submission includes the successful multi-regional clinical trial, FRESCO-2, designed in consultation with the FDA, the EMA and the PMDA. The study showed a meaningful survival benefit and anti-tumor effect in patients treated with fruquintinib across patient populations, consistent with the pivotal Phase III FRESCO study supporting approval of fruquintinib for CRC in China. We look forward to submitting additional new drug applications in Europe and Japan next year.”

Fruquintinib is approved in China under the brand name ELUNATE® for the treatment of patients with metastatic CRC who have been previously treated with fluoropyrimidine, oxaliplatin and irinotecan, including those who have previously received anti-VEGF therapy and/or anti-EGFR therapy (RAS wild type). It has been included in the China National Reimbursement Drug List (“NRDL”) since January 2020. Approval in China is supported by the results of the FRESCO study, a Phase III pivotal trial of fruquintinib in 416 patients with metastatic CRC in China.

HUTCHMED retains all commercial rights to fruquintinib outside of China. In China, ELUNATE® is partnered with Eli Lilly and Company.

 

About CRC

CRC is a cancer that starts in either the colon or rectum. CRC is the third most common cancer worldwide, estimated to have caused more than 915,000 deaths in 2020.[1] In the U.S., an estimated 151,000 people will have been diagnosed with CRC and 53,000 people will have died from CRC in 2022.[2] In Europe, CRC is the second most common cancer, with an estimated 507,000 new cases and 240,000 deaths in 2020.1 In Japan, CRC is the most common cancer, with an estimated 147,000 new cases and 59,000 deaths in 2020.1

 

About Fruquintinib  

Fruquintinib is a highly selective and potent oral inhibitor of VEGFR-1, -2 and -3. VEGFR inhibitors play a pivotal role in blocking tumor angiogenesis. Fruquintinib was designed to improve kinase selectivity to minimize off-target toxicities, improve tolerability and provide more consistent target coverage. The generally good tolerability in patients to date, along with fruquintinib’s low potential for drug-drug interaction based on preclinical assessment, suggests that it may also be highly suitable for combinations with other anti-cancer therapies.

 

About Fruquintinib Approval in China

CRC in China: Fruquintinib was approved for marketing by the China National Medical Products Administration (“NMPA”) in September 2018 and commercially launched in China in November 2018 under the brand name ELUNATE®. It has been included in the NRDL since January 2020. ELUNATE® is indicated for the treatment of patients with metastatic CRC who have been previously treated with fluoropyrimidine, oxaliplatin and irinotecan, including those who have previously received anti-VEGF therapy and/or anti-EGFR therapy (RAS wild type). Results of the FRESCO study[3], a Phase III pivotal registration trial of fruquintinib in 416 patients with metastatic CRC in China, were published in The Journal of the American Medical Association, JAMA, in June 2018 (NCT02314819).

 

About Other Fruquintinib Developments

The safety and efficacy of fruquintinib for the following investigational uses have not been established and there is no guarantee that it will receive health authority approval or become commercially available in any country for the uses being investigated.

Gastric Cancer in China: The FRUTIGA study is a randomized, double-blind, Phase III study in China to evaluate fruquintinib combined with paclitaxel compared with paclitaxel monotherapy, for second-line treatment of advanced gastric cancer or GEJ adenocarcinoma (NCT03223376). Topline results were reported in November 2022. The trial met one of the primary endpoints of statistically significant improvement in PFS, which is clinically meaningful. The other primary endpoint of OS was not statistically significant per the pre-specified statistical plan, although there was a numerical improvement in median OS. Fruquintinib also demonstrated a statistically significant improvement in secondary endpoints including objective response rate (ORR), DCR, and improved duration of response (DoR). The safety profile of fruquintinib in FRUTIGA was consistent with previously reported studies. Full detailed results are subject to ongoing analysis and are expected to be disclosed at an upcoming scientific meeting. These results as well as further analyses will be shared with the China NMPA.

HUTCHMED is also developing fruquintinib for the treatment of multiple solid tumor cancers in combination with immunotherapies. Fruquintinib is being evaluated in combination with PD-1 monoclonal antibodies including tislelizumab (developed by BeiGene, Ltd) and sintilimab (developed by Innovent Biologics, Inc.) for the treatment of metastatic breast, endometrial and CRC in the U.S. (NCT04577963); gastric, CRC and NSCLC in China and Korea (initiated by BeiGene) (NCT04716634); and endometrial and other solid tumors in China (NCT03903705).

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM:​HCM; HKEX:​13) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery and global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. It has more than 5,000 personnel across all its companies, at the center of which is a team of about 1,800 in oncology/​immunology. Since inception it has focused on bringing cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery into clinical studies around the world, with its first three oncology drugs now approved and marketed in China. For more information, please visit: www.hutch‑med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

 


[1] The Global Cancer Observatory. Accessed December 12, 2022.
[2] SEER. Cancer Stat Facts: Colorectal Cancer. National Cancer Institute.  https://seer.cancer.gov/statfacts/html/colorect.html. Accessed December 12, 2022.
[3] Li J, Qin S, Xu RH, et al. Effect of Fruquintinib vs Placebo on Overall Survival in Patients With Previously Treated Metastatic Colorectal Cancer: The FRESCO Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA. 2018;319(24):2486-2496. doi:10.1001/jama.2018.7855.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the submission of an NDA for fruquintinib for the treatment of CRC with the FDA and the timing of such submission, the therapeutic potential of fruquintinib for the treatment of patients with CRC and the further clinical development of fruquintinib in this and other indications. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding the timing and outcome of clinical studies and the sufficiency of clinical data to support NDA approval of fruquintinib for the treatment of patients with CRC or other indications in the U.S. or other jurisdictions such as the E.U. or Japan, its potential to gain approvals from regulatory authorities on an expedited basis or at all, the safety profile of fruquintinib, HUTCHMED’s ability to fund, implement and complete its further clinical development and commercialization plans for fruquintinib, the timing of these events, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. In addition, as certain studies rely on the use of other drug products such as paclitaxel, tislelizumab and sintilimab as combination therapeutics with fruquintinib, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and continued regulatory approval of these therapeutics. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, on AIM and on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries

Mark Lee, Senior Vice President +852 2121 8200
Annie Cheng, Vice President +1 (973) 567 3786

Media Enquiries

Americas – Brad Miles,
Solebury
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@soleburystrat.com
Europe – Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902 (Mobile) /
+44 7779 545 055 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
Asia – Zhou Yi,
Brunswick
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com

Nominated Advisor

Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon
+44 (20) 7886 2500