Nasdaq: $28.36 (+0.24) | AIM: £3.86 (-0.26)
新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
新聞稿, 監管信息公告, 腫瘤學 / 免疫學 | 2021-05-03

和黃醫藥完成向美國FDA提交索凡替尼用於治療晚期神經內分泌瘤的新藥上市申請

– 和黃醫藥在美國提交的首個新藥上市申請;正準備產品上市–

 

中國香港、上海和美國新澤西州:2021年5月3日,星期一:和黃醫藥(中國)有限公司(簡稱「和黃醫藥」或「HUTCHMED」)(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM)今日宣佈已完成向美國食品藥品監督管理局(「FDA」)滾動提交索凡替尼用於治療胰腺和非胰腺神經內分泌瘤(NET)的新藥上市申請。

和黃醫藥(國際)董事總經理兼首席醫學官Marek Kania表示:「和黃醫藥正在海外臨床開發6種創新腫瘤藥物,而此次索凡替尼新藥上市申請是我們在美國的首次申請。索凡替尼已於今年年初在中國成功上市。若索凡替尼能夠獲得美國FDA批准,我們期望它能為美國及其他地區更多的神經內分泌瘤患者帶來新的治療選擇。我們的國際團隊主要設在美國,人數超過七十人並正在迅速擴張,與中國的藥物研發團隊聯手合作,共同完成了這份向FDA提交的索凡替尼新藥上市申請。」

該新藥上市申請是基於索凡替尼兩項成功的中國III期神經內分泌瘤臨床研究(SANET-p[1] 及SANET-ep[2]),以及在美國開展的一項索凡替尼治療胰腺和非胰腺神經內分泌瘤患者的研究數據支持。和黃醫藥此前宣佈於新藥上市申請前(pre-NDA)會議與FDA達成協議,這些現有研究數據`可作為新藥上市申請提交的依據。FDA於2020年4月授予的快速通道資格允許和黃醫藥以滾動提交的方式分批提交新藥上市申請。FDA收到完整申請材料後會對申請進行審查,並決定是否受理。 基於歐洲藥品管理局(「EMA」)的人用藥品委員會(CHMP)的科學建議,這些研究數據還將用作在2021年向EMA提交上市許可申請(MAA)的依據。

和黃醫藥已在美國啟動一項擴充療程方案(Expanded Access Protocol),以確保治療選擇有限的神經內分泌瘤患者能夠獲取該療法。該擴充療程方案已獲FDA監管批准,項目已開放中心啟用(clinicaltrials.gov 註冊號:NCT04814732)。

除了於2020年4月獲FDA授予兩項快速通道資格用於治療胰腺和非胰腺神經內分泌瘤以外,索凡替尼亦於2019年11月獲授予孤兒藥資格,用於治療胰腺神經內分泌瘤。

 

關於神經內分泌瘤(NET)

神經內分泌瘤起源於與神經系統相互作用的細胞或產生激素的腺體。神經內分泌瘤可起源於體內各個部位,最常見於消化道或肺部,可為良性或惡性腫瘤。神經內分泌瘤通常分為胰腺神經內分泌瘤(pNET)和非胰腺神經內分泌瘤(epNET)。

據Frost & Sullivan公司估計,2020年美國神經內分泌瘤新診斷病例為19,000例。值得關注的是,與其他腫瘤相比,神經內分泌瘤患者的生存期相對較長。因此,據估計2020年美國神經內分泌瘤患者約143,000名。[3]

 

關於索凡替尼

索凡替尼(surufatinib)是一種新型的口服酪氨酸激酶抑制劑,具有抗血管生成和免疫調節雙重活性。索凡替尼可通過抑制血管內皮生長因數受體(VEGFR)和成纖維細胞生長因數受體(FGFR)以阻斷腫瘤血管生成,並可抑制集落刺激因數1受體(CSF-1R),通過調節腫瘤相關巨噬細胞,促進機體對腫瘤細胞的免疫應答。索凡替尼獨特的雙重機制能產生協同抗腫瘤活性,使其為與其他免疫療法的聯合使用的理想選擇。

和黃醫藥目前擁有索凡替尼在全球範圍內的所有權利。

 

索凡替尼開發計畫

美國與歐洲神經內分泌瘤研究:在美國,索凡替尼於2020年4月被授予快速通道資格,用於治療胰腺和非胰腺神經內分泌瘤,並於2019年11月被授予「孤兒藥」資格認證,用於治療胰腺神經內分泌瘤 。美國新藥上市申請已於2020年12月開始向FDA滾動提交,並其後將向EMA提交歐洲上市許可申請。以上申請均是基於已完成的SANET-ep和SANET-p研究,以及索凡替尼在美國治療非胰腺和胰腺神經內分泌瘤患者的現有數據(clinicaltrials.gov 註冊號NCT02549937)。

中國非胰腺神經內分泌瘤研究:索凡替尼於2020年12月30日獲中國國家藥品監督管理局(「國家藥監局」)批准用於治療非胰腺神經內分泌瘤。索凡替尼在中國市場以商品名蘇泰達®銷售。此次獲批是基於一項索凡替尼治療晚期非胰腺神經內分泌瘤患者的中國III期臨床試驗SANET-ep的研究結果(clinicaltrials.gov註冊號NCT02588170)。該研究在中期分析中成功達到無進展生存期(「PFS」)這一預設的主要終點。該研究的積極結果於2019年歐洲腫瘤內科學會(ESMO)年會上以口頭報告的形式公佈,並於2020年9月在《刺針·腫瘤學》上發表[4] 索凡替尼治療組患者的中位PFS顯著延長為9.2個月,安慰劑組患者則為3.8個月(HR 0.334;95% CI 0.223 – 0.499;p <0.0001)。索凡替尼具有可接受的安全性特徵,最常見的3級或以上治療相關不良事件是高血壓(索凡替尼組患者:36%; 安慰劑組患者:13%)、蛋白尿(索凡替尼組患者:19%; 安慰劑組患者: 0%)和貧血(索凡替尼組患者:5%; 安慰劑組患者:3%)。

中國胰腺神經內分泌瘤研究:和黃醫藥於2016年啟動了SANET-p研究,這是一項針對低級別或中級別晚期胰腺神經內分泌瘤患者的中國關鍵性III期研究。該研究在預設的中期分析中成功達到PFS這一預設主要療效終點並提前終止研究(clinicaltrials.gov 註冊號NCT02589821),並以此為基礎於2020年9月獲國家藥監局受理其第二項新藥上市申請。該項研究的結果已於2020年ESMO線上年會上公佈,並同步發表於《刺針·腫瘤學》[5],證明索凡替尼將患者疾病進展或死亡風險降低了51%,中位PFS為10.9個月,而安慰劑組患者則為3.7個月(HR 0.491; 95%CI:0.391-0.755; p = 0.0011)。 索凡替尼展示可控的安全性,並與先前研究中的觀察結果一致。

中國膽道癌研究:和黃醫藥於2019年3月啟動了一項IIb/III期臨床試驗,旨在對比索凡替尼和卡培他濱治療一線化療失敗晚期膽道癌患者的療效和安全性。該研究的主要終點為總生存期(OS)(clinicaltrials.gov 註冊號:NCT03873532)。

免疫聯合療法:和黃醫藥達成了數個合作協議,以評估索凡替尼與PD-1單克隆抗體聯合療法的安全性、耐受性和療效,包括已於中國獲批單藥療法的百澤安®(替雷利珠單抗, 由百濟神州有限公司開發)、拓益®(特瑞普利單抗, 由上海君實生物醫藥科技股份有限公司開發)和達伯舒®(信迪利單抗, 由信達生物製藥(蘇州)有限公司開發)。

 

關於和黃醫藥

和黃醫藥(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM)(舊稱:和黃中國醫藥科技有限公司)是一家處於商業化階段的創新型生物醫藥公司,致力於發現、全球開發和商業化治療癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向藥物和免疫療法。超過1,200人的專業團隊已將自主發現的10個候選癌症藥物推進到在全球開展臨床研究,其中首兩個創新腫瘤藥物現已獲批並上市。欲瞭解更多詳情,請訪問:www.hutch-med.com或關注我們的領英專頁

 

前瞻性陳述

本新聞稿包含1995美國私人證券訴訟改革法案》「安全港條款中定義的前瞻性陳述這些前瞻性陳述反映了和黃醫藥目前對未來事件的預期包括對向FDA提交索凡替尼用於治療神經內分泌瘤的新藥上市申請以及提交時間的預期索凡替尼用於治療神經內分泌瘤患者的治療潛力的預期索凡替尼針對此適應症及其他適應症的進一步臨床研究計畫前瞻性陳述涉及風險和不確定性此類風險和不確定性包括下列假設支持索凡替尼獲批用於在美國中國及其他地區(如歐洲)治療神經內分泌瘤的新藥上市申請的數據充足性獲得監管部門快速審批的潛力索凡替尼的安全性和黃醫藥為索凡替尼進一步臨床開發計畫及商業化提供資金並實現及完成的能力此類事件發生的時間以及新冠肺炎全球大流行對整體經濟監管及政治狀況帶來的影響等此外由於部分研究賴於將卡培他濱替雷利珠單抗拓益®、達伯舒®與索凡替尼聯合使用因此此類風險和不確定性包括有關這些治療藥物的安全性療效供應和監管批准的假設當前和潛在投資者請勿過度依賴這些前瞻性陳述這些陳述僅在截至本公告發佈當日有效有關這些風險和其他風險的進一步討論請查閱和黃醫藥向美國證券交易委員會和AIM提交的文件無論是否出現新訊息未來事件或情況或其他因素和黃醫藥均不承擔更新或修訂本新聞稿所含訊息的義務

 

聯繫方式

投資者諮詢

李健鴻,資深副總裁 +852 2121 8200
鄭嘉惠,副總裁 +1 (973) 567 3786

媒體諮詢

美洲
Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340(手機)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
歐洲
Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902(手機)/
+44 7779 545 055(手機)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
亞洲
盧志倫,
博然思維集團
+852 9850 5033(手機)
周怡,
博然思維集團
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com
中國大陸
張瑞丹,
愛德曼公關公司
+86 139 1694 1712(手機)
fay.zhang@edelman.com

任命保薦人

Freddy Crossley /
Atholl Tweedie,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500

 

[1] Surufatinib in advanced neuroendocrine tumors – pancreatic. (索凡替尼治療晚期非胰腺神經內分泌瘤)

[2] Surufatinib in advanced neuroendocrine tumors – extra-pancreatic (non-pancreatic). (索凡替尼治療晚期胰腺神經內分泌瘤)

[3] 據Frost & Sullivan公司的數據,2020年美國神經內分泌瘤新診斷病例為19,000例,美國的神經內分泌瘤患者總數約為143,000名。在中國由於治療手段缺乏,神經內分泌瘤的發病率與流行率比例估計為4.4,較美國的7.4為低。

[4] Xu J, Shen L, Zhou Z, et al. Surufatinib in advanced extrapancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (SANET-ep): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 study [published online ahead of print, 2020 Sep 20]. Lancet Oncol. 2020; S1470-2045(20)30496-4. DOI: 10.1016/S1470-2045(20)30496-4.

[5] Xu J, Shen L, Bai C, et al. Surufatinib in advanced pancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (SANET-p): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 study [published online ahead of print, 2020 Sep 20]. Lancet Oncol. 2020; S1470-2045(20)30493-9. DOI: 10.1016/S1470-2045(20)30493-9.

1 個附件
下載新聞稿 (PDF)

Nasdaq: $26.59 (-0.59) | AIM: £3.91 (-0.01)
News & Presentations
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Oncology / Immunology, Press Releases, RNS Announcements | 3 May 2021

HUTCHMED Completes Rolling Submission of NDA to U.S. FDA for Surufatinib for the Treatment of Advanced Neuroendocrine Tumors

– First NDA submission by HUTCHMED in the U.S.; product launch preparations underway –

 

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ — Monday, May 3, 2021: HUTCHMED (China) Limited (“HUTCHMED”) (Nasdaq/AIM: HCM) today announces that it completed the rolling submission of a New Drug Application (“NDA”) to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”) for surufatinib for the treatment of pancreatic and extra-pancreatic (non-pancreatic) neuroendocrine tumors (“NETs”).

Dr. Marek Kania, Managing Director and Chief Medical Officer of HUTCHMED International Corporation, said, “HUTCHMED is developing six novel oncology drug candidates internationally and this surufatinib NDA represents our first ever in the United States. Having successfully launched surufatinib in China early this year, we are now looking forward, subject to its approval, to being able to provide access to this important new therapeutic option for NETs patients in the U.S. and beyond. Our surufatinib NDA submission to the FDA was completed by our rapidly expanding international team of over 70 personnel based mainly in the U.S., working side by side with our discovery and development colleagues in China.”

The NDA is supported by data from two positive Phase III studies of surufatinib in NET in China (SANET-p[1] and SANET-ep[2]), and by data from a surufatinib study conducted in the U.S. in patients with pancreatic and extra-pancreatic NET. HUTCHMED previously announced that it had reached an agreement with the FDA during a pre-NDA meeting, whereby these studies may serve as the basis to support an NDA submission. Fast Track Designations granted in April 2020 by the FDA have permitted HUTCHMED to submit sections of the NDA on a rolling basis. Filing acceptance of the NDA is subject to the FDA’s review of the complete application. The data package will also be used to file a Marketing Authorization Application (“MAA”) to the European Medicines Agency (“EMA”) in 2021, based on scientific advice from the EMA’s Committee for Medicinal Products for Human Use.

HUTCHMED initiated an Expanded Access Protocol (EAP) in the U.S. to ensure patients with NET and limited therapeutic options have access to this treatment. Regulatory clearance of this protocol has been granted by the FDA and this program is open for site activation (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT04814732).

In addition to the two Fast Track Designations for surufatinib development in pancreatic and extra-pancreatic NET granted by the FDA in April 2020, Orphan Drug Designation for pancreatic NET was also granted in November 2019.

 

About NETs

NETs form in cells that interact with the nervous system or in glands that produce hormones. They can originate in various parts of the body, most often in the gut or the lungs and can be benign or malignant. NETs are typically classified as pancreatic NET (“pNET”) or extra-pancreatic NET (“epNET”).

According to Frost & Sullivan, there were 19,000 newly diagnosed cases of NET in the U.S. in 2020. Importantly, NETs are associated with a relatively long duration of survival compared to other tumors. As a result, there were approximately 143,000 estimated patients living with NET in the U.S. in 2020.[3]

 

About Surufatinib

Surufatinib is a novel, oral angio-immuno kinase inhibitor that selectively inhibits the tyrosine kinase activity associated with vascular endothelial growth factor receptors (VEGFR) and fibroblast growth factor receptor (FGFR), which both inhibit angiogenesis, and colony stimulating factor-1 receptor (CSF-1R), which regulates tumor-associated macrophages, promoting the body’s immune response against tumor cells. Its unique dual mechanism of action may be very suitable for possible combinations with other immunotherapies, where there may be synergistic anti-tumor effects.

HUTCHMED currently retains all rights to surufatinib worldwide.

 

About Surufatinib Development

NETs in the U.S. and Europe: In the U.S., surufatinib was granted Fast Track Designations for development in pNET and epNET in April 2020, and Orphan Drug Designation for pNET in November 2019. A U.S. FDA NDA rolling submission was initiated in December 2020, to be followed by a MAA submission to the EMA in Europe. The basis to support these filings includes the completed SANET-ep and SANET-p studies, along with existing data from surufatinib in U.S. epNET and pNET patients (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT02549937).

epNETs in China: On December 30, 2020, surufatinib was granted drug registration approval by the National Medical Products Administration of China (“NMPA”) for the treatment of epNET. Surufatinib is marketed in China under the brand name Sulanda®. The approval was based on results from the SANET-ep study, a Phase III trial (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT02588170) in patients with advanced epNETs conducted in China. The study met the pre-defined primary endpoint of progression-free survival (“PFS”) at a preplanned interim analysis. The positive results of this trial were highlighted in an oral presentation at the 2019 ESMO Congress and published in The Lancet Oncology in September 2020.[4] Median PFS was significantly longer for patients treated with surufatinib at 9.2 months, compared to 3.8 months for patients in the placebo group (HR 0.334; 95% CI: 0.223-0.499; p<0.0001). Surufatinib had an acceptable safety profile, with the most common treatment-related adverse events of grade 3 or worse being hypertension (36% of surufatinib patients vs. 13% of placebo patients), proteinuria (19% vs. 0%) and anemia (5% vs. 3%).

pNETs in China: In 2016, we initiated the SANET-p study, which is a pivotal Phase III study in patients with low- or intermediate-grade, advanced pNET in China. It was terminated early as the pre-defined primary endpoint of PFS was met (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT02589821) at a preplanned interim analysis, leading to a second NDA accepted by the NMPA in September 2020. The positive results of this study were presented at the 2020 ESMO Virtual Congress and published simultaneously in The Lancet Oncology[5], demonstrating that surufatinib reduces the risk of disease progression or death by 51% in patients, with median PFS of 10.9 months compared to 3.7 months on placebo (HR 0.491; 95% CI: 0.391-0.755; p=0.0011). The safety profile of surufatinib was manageable and consistent with observations in prior studies.

Biliary tract cancer in China: In March 2019, we initiated a Phase IIb/III study comparing surufatinib with capecitabine in patients with advanced biliary tract cancer whose disease progressed on first-line chemotherapy. The primary endpoint is overall survival (OS) (clinicaltrials.gov identifier: NCT03873532).

Immunotherapy combinations: We have entered into collaboration agreements to evaluate the safety, tolerability and efficacy of surufatinib in combination with anti-PD-1 monoclonal antibodies, including with tislelizumab (BGB-A317), Tuoyi® (toripalimab) and Tyvyt® (sintilimab), which are approved as monotherapies in China.

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM: HCM) (formerly Hutchison China MediTech Limited) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery and global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. A dedicated organization of over 1,200 personnel has advanced ten cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery into clinical studies around the world, with its first two oncology drugs now approved and launched. For more information, please visit: www.hutch-med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the submission of an NDA for surufatinib for the treatment of NET with the FDA and the timing of such submission, the therapeutic potential of surufatinib for the treatment of patients with NET and the further clinical development of surufatinib in this and other indications. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding the sufficiency of clinical data to support NDA approval of surufatinib for the treatment of patients with NET in the U.S., China and other jurisdictions such as the E.U., its potential to gain expeditious approvals from regulatory authorities, the safety profile of surufatinib, HUTCHMED’s ability to fund, implement and complete its further clinical development and commercialization plans for surufatinib, the timing of these events, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. In addition, as certain studies rely on the use of capecitabine, tislelizumab, Tuoyi®, and Tyvyt® as combination therapeutics with surufatinib, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and continued regulatory approval of these therapeutics. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission and on AIM. HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries

Mark Lee,
Senior Vice President
+852 2121 8200
Annie Cheng,
Vice President
+1 (973) 567 3786

Media Enquiries

Americas
Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
Europe
Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902 (Mobile) /
+44 7779 545 055 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
Asia
Joseph Chi Lo,
Brunswick
+852 9850 5033 (Mobile)
Zhou Yi,
Brunswick
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com

Nominated Advisor

Freddy Crossley /
Atholl Tweedie,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500

 

[1] Surufatinib in advanced neuroendocrine tumors – pancreatic.

[2] Surufatinib in advanced neuroendocrine tumors – extra-pancreatic (non-pancreatic).

[3] According to Frost & Sullivan, in 2020, there were 19,000 newly diagnosed cases of NETs in the U.S. and an estimated 143,000 patients living with NETs. The current incidence to prevalence ratio in China is estimated at 4.4, lower than the 7.4 ratio in the U.S. due to lower access to treatment options.

[4] Xu J, Shen L, Zhou Z, et al. Surufatinib in advanced extrapancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (SANET-ep): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 study [published online ahead of print, 2020 Sep 20]. Lancet Oncol. 2020; S1470-2045(20)30496-4. DOI: 10.1016/S1470-2045(20)30496-4.

[5] Xu J, Shen L, Bai C, et al. Surufatinib in advanced pancreatic neuroendocrine tumours (SANET-p): a randomised, double-blind, placebo-controlled, phase 3 study [published online ahead of print, 2020 Sep 20]. Lancet Oncol. 2020; S1470-2045(20)30493-9. DOI: 10.1016/S1470-2045(20)30493-9.