Nasdaq:US$10.07 (-0.28) | HKEX:HK$16.54 (-0.06) | AIM:£1.75 (+0.01)
新聞中心及演示文稿
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新聞稿, 集團 | 2022-03-03

和黃醫藥宣佈首席執行官退休及委任新首席執行官

中國香港、上海和美國新澤西州:2022年3月3日,星期四:和黃醫藥(中國)有限公司(簡稱「和黃醫藥」或「HUTCHMED」)(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)今日宣佈:

 

  • 首席執行官賀雋先生將退休。賀雋先生已於本公司工作近二十二年(包括擔任執行董事及首席執行官職務十五年);及

 

  • 委任蘇慰國博士為本公司新任首席執行官。蘇慰國博士已於本公司工作約十七年(包括擔任首席科學官約十年及執行董事職務近五年)。

 

蘇博士經篩選後獲委任為首席執行官的新增職務,為本公司經常進行之繼任規劃的一部分。蘇博士自2005年加入本公司,並負責建立腫瘤/免疫創新平台之各個領域,以致公司經內部研發發現十二種創新腫瘤候選藥物;其中首三種已獲得批准並成功上市。當履行新職務時,蘇博士將合併其首席執行官的主要行政工作及其現任關鍵研究和開發之職能。

 

蘇博士,64歲,在加入和黃醫藥前曾於輝瑞公司美國研發部門工作十五年,並在此之前在諾貝爾獎得主E. J. Corey教授指導下於哈佛大學完成七年的化學博士學位課程及博士後研究員工作。蘇博士於上海復旦大學取得化學理學學士學位。

 

於2017年3月,蘇博士更獲中國醫藥創新促進會(PhIRDA)授予《最具影響力的藥物研發領軍人物》獎。

 

蘇博士將暫時兼任首席科學官職務。蘇博士、提名委員會與董事會將按照本公司持續進行之繼任規劃,物識適當人選擔當帶領研究和開發職能之繼任人。

 

即退休的和黃醫藥首席執行官賀雋先生說:「離開歐洲三十四年並於中國工作二十七年後,我決定回到歐洲的家鄉以便專注並緊靠我的重要家庭責任。我很高興董事會委任蘇慰國博士為新任首席執行官。蘇博士作為行業內最備受尊敬的領袖之一,在董事會及經驗豐富的高級管理團隊的支持下,我深信蘇博士將帶領和黃醫藥再創高峰。我謹此感謝和黃醫藥的所有同事和持份者的支持並期待他們繼續取得成功。」

 

和黃醫藥董事長杜志強先生說:「賀雋先生是二十二年前本公司的第一位員工,並為和黃醫藥建設成今天能真正面向全球的生物製藥公司而努力不懈。賀雋先生將繼續擔任本公司策略顧問,並著重於組織發展、維繫與合作夥伴關係、全球商業化策略及投資者關係事宜。」

 

杜先生續說:「我代表董事會謹此祝賀蘇博士被委任為和黃醫藥首席執行官,並祝願他在此實至名歸的新職位,取得巨大成功。同時亦對賀雋先生的貢獻致以深切的謝意,並祝願他退休後一切順利。」

 

首席執行官職位變動將於2022年3月4日生效。於同日,賀雋先生將不再擔任本公司之可持續發展委員會及技術委員會成員之職務。

 

賀雋先生已確認他與董事會並無意見分歧,而就其退休一事無任何需要通知本公司股東之其他事項。

 

關於蘇博士與其委任的更多信息

蘇博士與本公司其他董事、高級管理人員、主要股東或控股股東概無任何關係。根據證券及期貨條例第XV部,蘇博士於本公告日期持有6,833,580股股份之個人權益,約佔已發行股份之0.79%。蘇博士作為本公司執行董事之任期須於本公司股東週年大會上輪值告退及重選。作為本公司執行董事及技術委員會成員,蘇博士按其委任書所訂之董事袍金分別為每年70,000美元及5,000美元。按照委任蘇博士為本公司首席執行官及首席科學官之服務協議,蘇博士之酬金為每年1,959,300美元薪金和現金獎金。另外亦有每年高達4,440,700美元的股權報酬,其包括基於表現和非基於表現的部分。此等酬金乃參照本公司之業績與盈利,以及其個人表現、業界薪酬標準與市場現況而釐定。該等金額將不時予以審訂,倘任期不足一年,金額則按比例計算。

 

概無其他有關蘇博士之事項需股東關注,亦無其他資料須根據香港聯合交易所有限公司證券上市規則第13.51(2)條及AIM規則第17條之規定予以披露。

 

關於和黃醫藥

和黃醫藥(納斯達克/倫敦證交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)是一家處於商業化階段的創新型生物醫藥公司,致力於發現、全球開發和商業化治療癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向藥物和免疫療法。集團旗下公司共有超過4,600名員工,其中核心的腫瘤/免疫業務擁有約1,500人的團隊。自成立以來,和黃醫藥已將自主發現的12個候選癌症藥物推進到在全球開展臨床研究,其中首三個創新腫瘤藥物現已獲批上市。欲瞭解更多詳情,請訪問:www.hutch-med.com或關注我們的LinkedIn專頁。

 

前瞻性陳述

本新聞稿包含1995年《美國私人證券訴訟改革法案》「安全港」條款中定義的前瞻性陳述。這些前瞻性陳述反映了和黃醫藥目前對未來事件的預期。前瞻性陳述涉及風險和不確定性。此類風險和不確定性包括下列假設:和黃醫藥董事會目前或將來的委任人不能有效地擔任各自的職務、為其董事會尋找與招聘合適候選人的困難、因和黃醫藥董事會變動而可能引起的管理困難等。當前和潛在投資者請勿過度依賴這些前瞻性陳述,這些陳述僅在截至本新聞稿發佈當日有效。有關這些風險和其他風險的進一步討論,請查閱和黃醫藥向美國證券交易委員會、AIM和香港聯合交易所有限公司提交的文件。無論是否出現新訊息、未來事件或情況或其他因素,和黃醫藥均不承擔更新或修訂本新新聞稿所含訊息的義務。

 

內幕消息

本公告載有條例(歐盟)第 596/2014 號(由於其構成 2018 年脫離歐盟法所界定保留歐盟法例的一部分)第 7 條所指的內幕消息。

 

聯絡方法

投資者諮詢

李健鴻,高級副總裁 +852 2121 8200
鄭嘉惠,副總裁 +1 (973) 567 3786

傳媒諮詢

美洲 – Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340(手機)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
歐洲 – Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 /
+44 7771 913 902(手機)/
+44 7779 545 055(手機)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
亞洲 – 周怡,
博然思維集團
+852 9783 6894(手機)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com

任命保薦人

Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500

Nasdaq:US$9.13 (+0.37) | HKEX:HK$13.58 (+0.36) | AIM:£1.58 (+0.06)
News & Presentations
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Announcements & Press Releases, Group | 3 Mar 2022

HUTCHMED announces retirement of CEO and appointment of new CEO

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ – Thursday, March 3, 2022: (“HUTCHMED” or the “Company”) (Nasdaq/AIM:​HCM; HKEX:​13) today announces:

  • the retirement of Mr. Christian Hogg after almost 22 years with the Company, including 15 years as Executive Director and Chief Executive Officer (“CEO”); and
  • the appointment of Dr. Weiguo Su, who has been with the Company for about 17 years, including about 10 years as Chief Scientific Officer (“CSO”) and almost five years as Executive Director, as the new CEO.

Dr. Su has been selected and appointed to his additional role as the CEO, as part of the Company’s ongoing succession planning. Since joining the Company in 2005, Dr. Su has been responsible for the establishment of all aspects of the oncology/immunology innovation platform which led to the in-house discovery of 12 novel oncology drug candidates of the Company, the first three of which have achieved approval and successful commercial launch. When assuming the new position, Dr. Su will combine the crucial research and development function of the Company for which he has been responsible, with the lead executive role as the CEO.

Prior to HUTCHMED, Dr. Su, aged 64, spent fifteen years in the U.S. Research and Development organization of Pfizer, Inc. and before that, seven years completing his PhD and Post-Doctoral Fellowship in Chemistry at Harvard University under the guidance of Nobel Laureate, Professor E. J. Corey.  Dr. Su received a Bachelor of Science degree in Chemistry from Fudan University in Shanghai.

In March 2017, Dr. Su was granted the prestigious award by the China Pharmaceutical Innovation and Research Development Association (PhIRDA) as one of the Most Influential Drug R&D Leaders in China.

While Dr. Su will remain as the CSO for the time being, as part of the ongoing succession planning of the Company, Dr Su, the Nomination Committee and the Board will identify appropriate candidates to take up the leadership of its research and development function.

Mr. Christian Hogg, retiring CEO of HUTCHMED, said “After over 34 years away, and 27 years in China, I have taken the decision to return home to Europe to focus on, and be close to, my important family responsibilities.  I am glad to see the Board’s new appointment of Dr. Weiguo Su, one of the industry’s most respected leaders, and a person who I believe, with the support of our board and deeply experienced senior management team, will take HUTCHMED to greater heights.  I would like to thank all HUTCHMED colleagues and stakeholders for the support they have given me and I look forward to their continued success.”

Mr. Simon To, Chairman of HUTCHMED said, “Christian was the first employee of HUTCHMED twenty-two years ago and he has worked tirelessly to build the Company from its very beginning into the truly globally facing biopharmaceutical company it is today.  Christian will remain as a strategic advisor to the Company, with an emphasis on organizational development, relations with our partners, global commercialization strategy and investor relations matters.”

Mr. To continued, “On behalf of the Board, I would like to congratulate Dr. Su on his appointment to CEO of HUTCHMED, and wish him great success in this well-deserved appointment. I would also like to extend our deepest appreciation to Christian for his contributions and wish him the best in his retirement.”

The change to the position of CEO will take effect on March 4, 2022.  Also effective from the same date, Mr. Hogg will cease to be a member of the Sustainability Committee and the Technical Committee of the Company.

Mr. Hogg has confirmed that he has no disagreement with the Board, and that there are no other matters that need to be brought to the attention of the shareholders of the Company in connection with his retirement.

 

Further information about Dr. Su and his appointment

Dr. Su does not have any relationship with any other Directors, senior management, substantial or controlling shareholders of the Company. As at the date of this announcement, Dr. Su had a personal interest in 6,833,580 ordinary shares in the Company (“Shares”), representing approximately 0.79% of the number of Shares in issue, within the meaning of Part XV of the Securities and Futures Ordinance. The term of Dr. Su’s service as an Executive Director of the Company is subject to retirement by rotation and re-election at the annual general meeting of the Company. The director’s fees of Dr. Su as an Executive Director and a member of the Technical Committee of the Company under his appointment letter are US$70,000 and US$5,000 per annum respectively. The emoluments specified in the service agreement appointing Dr. Su as CEO and CSO of the Company are US$1,959,300 per annum in salary and cash bonus. There will also be equity compensation of up to US$4,440,700 per annum, including performance based and non-performance based portions. Such emoluments are determined by reference to the performance and profitability of the Company as well as his personal performance, remuneration benchmark in the industry and the prevailing market conditions. Such amounts are subject to review from time to time and proration for an incomplete year of service.

There are no other matters concerning Dr. Su that are required to be brought to the attention of the shareholders, nor is there other information that is required to be disclosed pursuant to the requirements of Rule 13.51(2) of the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on the Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited and Rule 17 of the AIM Rules for Companies.

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM:HCM; HKEX:13) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery and global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. It has more than 4,600 personnel across all its companies, at the center of which is a team of over 1,500 in oncology/immunology. Since inception it has advanced 12 cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery into clinical studies around the world, with its first three oncology drugs now approved and marketed. For more information, please visit: www.hutch‑med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This announcement contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995.  These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties.  Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, the risk that current or future appointees to HUTCHMED’s board of directors are not effective in their respective positions, the difficulty in locating and recruiting suitable candidates for its board of directors and the management difficulties which may arise from changes in HUTCHMED’s board of directors.  Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof.  For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, on AIM and with The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited.  HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this announcement, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

Inside Information

This announcement contains inside information for the purposes of Article 7 of Regulation (EU) No 596/2014 (as it forms part of retained EU law as defined in the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018).

 

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries
Mark Lee, Senior Vice President +852 2121 8200
Annie Cheng, Vice President +1 (973) 567 3786
Media Enquiries  
Americas – Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
Europe – Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 / +44 7771 913 902 (Mobile) / +44 7779 545 055 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
Asia – Zhou Yi,
Brunswick
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com
Nominated Advisor
Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500