Nasdaq:US$17.88 (-0.21) | HKEX:HK$28.20 (-0.75) | AIM:£2.85 (-0.05)
搜索结果
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新闻稿, 肿瘤学 / 免疫学 | 2024-01-30

和黄医药宣布爱优特® (呋喹替尼) 于香港获批用于治疗转移性结直肠癌

– 香港特区政府新的“1+”新药审批机制下首个获批在港注册的药物 ,为香港患者带来重要的治疗选择 –

– 爱优特®是中国香港近十年来首个获批的用于治疗转移性结直肠癌的口服标靶疗法,
无论患者的生物标志物状态或既往的治疗种类如何–

– 呋喹替尼于中国内地、澳门特别行政区以及美国均已获批用于结直肠癌 –

 

中国香港、上海和美国新西州:2024130日,星期二:和黄医药(中国)有限公司(简称“和黄医药”或“HUTCHMED”)(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)今日宣布爱优特®(ELUNATE®, 呋喹替尼/fruquintinib)取得香港药剂业及毒药管理局批准在香港注册使用,用于治疗经治的成人转移性结直肠癌患者。爱优特®是血管内皮生长因子受体(“VEGFR”)1、2和3的选择性口服抑制剂,VEGFR抑制剂在抑制肿瘤的血管生成中起到了至关重要的作用。

中国香港特别行政区(“香港特区”)政府于去年10月公布新的新药审批机制(简称“1+”机制),此次呋喹替尼获批成为该“1+”机制下首个获批在港注册使用的药物。该机制于2023年11月1日正式生效,容许用于治疗严重或罕见疾病的新药,在符合本地临床数据支持等要求,并经本地专家认可新药的适用范围后,须提交一个(而非原来的两个)参考药物监管机构的许可,便可以在香港申请注册。基于中国国家药品监督管理局(“国家药监局”)的批准,以及在香港当地的临床数据,和黄医药提交了呋喹替尼在香港的注册申请。此外,呋喹替尼亦已于2023年11月取得美国食品药物管理局(“FDA”)的批准

和黄医药执行副裁兼首席运凯伦医生表示:“香港是和黄医药的诞生地,我们竭尽所能把将我们的创新药物带向香港患者作为优先要务,并很高兴迎来香港的首个药物获批。我们欣然看到简化的新药注册流程,彰显了特区政府对于加快患者获得新疗法的效率和决心。随着我们更多用于其他癌症类型和免疫性疾病的候选药物管线持续推进,我们期待为香港的患者带来更多新的疗法。”

呋喹替尼此次获批用于治疗既往接受过氟尿嘧啶类、奥沙利铂和伊立替康为基础的化疗,以及既往接受过或不适合接受抗血管内皮生长因子(VEGF)治疗、抗表皮生长因子受体(EGFR)治疗(RAS野生型)的转移性结直肠癌患者。

和黄医药肿瘤及免疫业务(香港及区域市)副裁李嘉雯医生表示:“结直肠癌是香港第二常见的癌症,现时有效的治疗选择相当有限,尤其是对于经治的转移性结直肠癌患者来说。呋喹替尼作为口服三线治疗药物,在全球临床试验中表现出具有临床意义的获益和一致的安全性。我们很自豪能够成为“1+”机制下首个获批的药物,并期待尽快为香港患者带来这一重要的治疗选择。”

内科瘤科学者及科医生医生表示:“癌症无论对于患者及其家人,还是对于我们作为医护人员来说,都依然是一项严峻的挑战,且在过去几十年来发病率呈上升趋势。癌症的复杂性令研究人员带来新的治疗进展变得困难重重。本土创新在解决全球未满足的医疗需求方面发挥越来越积极的作用,着实令人感到鼓舞。我们很期待能为香港的癌症患者带来像这样具有意义的治疗选择。”

呋喹替尼将由和黄医药以商品名爱优特®在香港上市销售。在中国内地,呋喹替尼由和黄医药与礼来公司合作开发并销售。武田拥有在中国内地、香港和澳门以外进一步开发、商业化和生产呋喹替尼的全球独家许可。呋喹替尼由武田以商品名FRUZAQLA™于美国上市销售。紧随FDA批准后,呋喹替尼已获纳入到美国国家综合癌症网络(NCCN)肿瘤学临床实践指南中。

 

关于结直肠癌在香港

结直肠癌是始于结肠或直肠的癌症,是香港第二大常见癌症。在2021年,新增约5,900例结直肠癌新症并造成约2,300例死亡。[1]尽管早期结直肠癌能够通过手术切除,但转移性结直肠癌目前治疗结果不佳且治疗方案有限,仍然存在大量未被满足的医疗需求。虽然部分转移性结直肠癌患者或可受益于基于分子特征的个性化治疗策略,然而大部分患者未携带可作为治疗靶点的突变。[2],[3],[4],[5],[6]

 

关于呋喹替尼

呋喹替尼是一种选择性的口服VEGFR-1、-2及-3抑制剂。VEGFR抑制剂在抑制肿瘤的血管生成中起到至关重要的作用。呋喹替尼被设计为拥有更高的激酶选择性,旨在降低脱靶激酶活性,从而实现更高的药物暴露、对靶点的持续覆盖以及当潜在作为联合疗法时拥有更高的灵活度。迄今为止,呋喹替尼展示出可控的安全性特征,其与其他抗肿瘤疗法联合使用的研究正在进行中。

 

关于呋喹替尼在中国获批

呋喹替尼于2018年9月获国家药监局批准在中国销售,并由和黄医药及礼来合作以商品名爱优特®上市销售。其于2020年1月获纳入中国国家医保药品目录。在中国416例转移性结直肠癌患者中开展的呋喹替尼III期关键性注册研究FRESCO的研究支持了呋喹替尼在中国的获批,该研究的结果已于2018年6月在《美国医学会杂志(JAMA)》上发表。自呋喹替尼在中国上市以来,截至2023年中已经惠及超过8万名结直肠癌患者。

 

关于呋喹替尼在美国获批

呋喹替尼于2023年11月于美国获得批准,并由武田以商品名FRUZAQLA™上市销售。呋喹替尼的美国获批是基于两项大型III期研究的数据,包括已于《柳叶刀 (The Lancet)》发表结果的国际多中心FRESCO-2研究以及中国的FRESCO研究。这两项研究探索了呋喹替尼联合最佳支持治疗对比安慰剂联合最佳支持治疗用于治疗经治转移性结直肠癌患者。FRESCO和FRESCO-2研究均达到了其主要终点及关键次要疗效终点,在共734名接受了呋喹替尼治疗的患者中展示出了一致的获益。各项研究均展示出了一致的安全性特征。

 

关于和黄医药

和黄医药(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)是一家处于商业化阶段的创新型生物医药公司,致力于发现、全球开发和商业化治疗癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向药物和免疫疗法。集团旗下公司共有约5,000名员工,其中核心的肿瘤/免疫业务拥有约1,800人的团队。自成立以来,和黄医药致力于将自主发现的抗肿瘤候选药物带向全球患者,首三个药物现已在中国上市,其中首个药物亦于美国上市。欲了解更多详情,请访问:www.hutch‑med.com或关注我们的领英专页。

 

前瞻性

稿包含1995年《美国私人诉讼改革法案》“安全港”条款中定的前瞻性述。些前瞻性述反映了和黄医目前未来事件的期,包括向国家药监局提交呋喹替尼用于治疗肾细胞癌的新上市申以及提交时间期,呋喹替尼用于治疗肾细胞癌患者的潜力,以及呋喹替尼在上述适症及其他适症中一步床研究划的期。前瞻性述涉及风险和不确定性。此类风险和不确定性包括下列假研究时间布的期、支持呋喹替尼于中国或其他地区批用于治疗结肾细胞癌或其他适症的新上市申的数据充足性、管部门快速批或批的潜力,呋喹替尼的效及安全性、和黄医为呋喹替尼一步床开发计划及商化提供金并实现及完成的能力,此类事件生的时间管机构的行或可影响试验的启时间展及呋喹替尼的注册路径,以及新冠肺炎整体经济管及政治状况来的影响等。此外,由于部分研究依与其他品与呋喹替尼合使用,因此此类风险和不确定性包括有关些治疗药物的安全性、效、供和持续监管批准的假此类前瞻性述包括但不限于以下述:关于开、生和商呋喹替尼的划的述,以及和黄医略、目期的里程碑、业务计划和重点。当前和潜在投度依赖这些前瞻性述,在截至本新稿布当日有效。有关风险和其他风险一步讨论请查阅和黄医向美国券交易委会、AIM以及香港合交易所有限公司提交的文件。无是否出息、未来事件或情况或其他因素,和黄医均不承担更新或修本新稿所含息的义务

 

信息

本新稿所提到的品可能并未在所有国家上市,或可能以不同的商标进售,或用于不同的病症,或采用不同的量,或有不同的效力。本文中所包含的任何信息都不被看作是任何的申、推广或广告,包括那些正在研物。

 

 

联络方法

投资者咨询 +852 2121 8200 / ir@hutch-med.com
媒体咨询  

Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,

FTI Consulting

+44 20 3727 1030 / +44 7771 913 902 (手机) / +44 7779 545 055 (手机)

HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com

周怡,

博然思维集团

+852 9783 6894(手机)

HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com

龙肇怡 / 何芷晴,

纵横公关集团

+852 9282 4640 / +852 6198 4265 (手机)

SPRG_HUTCHMED@sprg.com.hk

任命保荐人

Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley/ Daphne Zhang,

Panmure Gordon

+44 (20) 7886 2500

 

[1] Hong Kong Cancer Registry, Hospital Authority. Colorectal Cancer in 2021. Available at https://www3.ha.org.hk/cancereg/pdf/factsheet/2021/colorectum_2021.pdf

[2] Bando H, et al. Therapeutic landscape and future direction of metastatic colorectal cancer. Nat Rev Gastroenterol Hepatol 2023; 20(5)306-322. doi:10.1038/s41575-022-00736-1.

[3] D’Haene N, et al. Clinical application of targeted next-generation sequencing for colorectal cancer patients: a multicentric Belgian experience. Oncotarget. 2018;9(29):20761-20768. Published 2018 Apr 17. doi:10.18632/oncotarget.25099.

[4] Venderbosch, et al. Mismatch repair status and braf mutation status in metastatic colorectal cancer patients: A pooled analysis of the Cairo, Cairo2, coin, and Focus Studies. Clinical Cancer Res.,2014; 20(20):5322–5330. doi:10.1158/1078-0432.ccr-14-0332.

[5] Koopman, M., et al. Deficient mismatch repair system in patients with sporadic advanced colorectal cancer. Br J Cancer. 209;100(2), 266–273. doi:10.1038/sj.bjc.6604867.

[6] Ahcene Djaballah S, et al. HER2 in Colorectal Cancer: The Long and Winding Road From Negative Predictive Factor to Positive Actionable Target. Am Soc Clin Oncol Educ Book. 2022;42:1-14. doi:10.1200/EDBK_351354.

Nasdaq:US$18.12 (-0.52) | HKEX:HK$28.75 (-0.90) | AIM:£2.93 (-0.03)
Search Result
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Announcements & Press Releases, Oncology / Immunology | 30 Jan 2024

HUTCHMED Receives ELUNATE® (fruquintinib) Marketing Approval in Hong Kong for Treatment of Metastatic Colorectal Cancer

— First medicine approved under new “1+” mechanism by HKSAR Government, providing an important treatment option to patients in Hong Kong —

— ELUNATE® is the first oral targeted therapy approved in Hong Kong for metastatic colorectal cancer regardless of biomarker status or prior types of therapies in almost a decade —

— Fruquintinib already approved in mainland China, Macau SAR and the United States —

 

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ —  Tuesday, January 30, 2024: HUTCHMED (China) Limited (Nasdaq/AIM:​HCM, HKEX:​13) (“HUTCHMED”) today announces that the marketing approval of ELUNATE® (fruquintinib) by the Pharmacy and Poisons Board of Hong Kong for the treatment of adult patients with previously treated metastatic colorectal cancer (“CRC”). ELUNATE® is a selective oral inhibitor of vascular endothelial growth factor (“VEGF”) receptors -1, -2 and -3, which play a pivotal role in blocking tumor angiogenesis.

This marks the first medicine to be approved under the new mechanism for registration of new drugs (“1+” mechanism) announced by the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (“SAR”) in October last year. The mechanism officially commenced on November 1, 2023. It allows drugs which are beneficial for treatment of life-threatening or severely debilitating diseases to apply for registration for use in Hong Kong, if they have supporting local clinical data and recognition from relevant experts, when they have been approved by only one reference drug regulatory authority (instead of two otherwise). HUTCHMED submitted the application based on the approval of ELUNATE® from the China National Medical Products Administration (“NMPA”) supported with local clinical data. Fruquintinib was also approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (“FDA”) in November 2023.

“We have made it a priority to do everything we can to bring the benefits of our innovative medicines to Hong Kong, our Company’s birthplace, and are excited to have our first medicine now approved here,” said Dr Karen Atkin, Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer of HUTCHMED. “We appreciate the streamlined drug registration process, showing the efficiency and commitment of the Hong Kong government to accelerate patient access to novel therapies. As we advance our pipeline of drug candidates in other cancer types and immunological diseases, we look forward to bringing additional therapies to benefit patients in Hong Kong.”

This approval indication is for patients with metastatic CRC who have previously received fluoropyrimidine, oxaliplatin and irinotecan-based chemotherapy, and those who have previously received or are not suitable for receiving anti-VEGF therapy or anti-epidermal growth factor receptor (EGFR) therapy (RAS wild-type).

“CRC is the second most common cancer type in Hong Kong with limited effective treatment options available, especially for previously treated metastatic CRC patients,” said Dr Caron Li, Vice President, Oncology and Immunology, Hong Kong and Regional Markets of HUTCHMED. “Fruquintinib, as a third-line treatment administered orally, demonstrated clinically meaningful benefits and a consistent safety profile in global clinical trials. We are honored to be the first through the “1+” mechanism and look forward to bringing this important treatment option to patients in Hong Kong as quickly as possible.

Dr Stephen Chan, an academic and a specialist in Medical Oncology, said, “Cancer remains to be a major challenge for the patients, their families and us as healthcare providers, with a rising trend in incidence over the past decades. The complex nature of cancer has made it particularly arduous for researchers to bring new advancements to the treatment.  It is truly encouraging to see homegrown innovations taking on an increasingly active role to address the global unmet medical needs. We are excited to bring such meaningful treatment options to the cancer patients in Hong Kong.”

Fruquintinib will be sold and marketed in Hong Kong by HUTCHMED under the brand name ELUNATE®. It has been developed and commercialized in mainland China in partnership with Eli Lilly & Company. Takeda has the exclusive worldwide license to fruquintinib outside of mainland China, Hong Kong and Macau. Takeda markets fruquintinib in the United States under the brand name FRUZAQLA™. Fruquintinib was added to the National Comprehensive Cancer Network Clinical Practice Guidelines in Oncology (NCCN Guidelines) shortly after FDA approval.

 

About CRC in Hong Kong

CRC is a cancer that starts in either the colon or rectum. It was the second most common cancer in Hong Kong in 2021, with about 5,900 new patients diagnosed with CRC, and associated with about 2,300 deaths.[1] Although early-stage CRC can be surgically resected, metastatic CRC remains an area of high unmet need with poor outcomes and limited treatment options. Some patients with metastatic CRC may benefit from personalized therapeutic strategies based on molecular characteristics; however, most patients have tumors that do not harbor actionable mutations.[2],[3],[4],[5],[6]

 

About Fruquintinib

Fruquintinib is a selective oral inhibitor of VEGF receptors (“VEGFR”) -1, -2 and -3. VEGFR inhibitors play a pivotal role in blocking tumor angiogenesis. Fruquintinib was designed to have enhanced selectivity that limits off-target kinase activity, allowing for high drug exposure, sustained target inhibition, and flexibility for the potential use as part of combination therapy. Fruquintinib has demonstrated a manageable safety profile and is being investigated in combination with other anti-cancer therapies.

 

About Fruquintinib Approval in China

Fruquintinib was approved for marketing in China in September 2018, where it is co-marketed by HUTCHMED and Lilly under the brand name ELUNATE®. It was included in the China National Reimbursement Drug List (NRDL) in January 2020. The approval was based on data from the FRESCO study, a Phase III pivotal registration trial of fruquintinib in 416 patients with metastatic CRC in China, which were published in The Journal of the American Medical Association, JAMA. Since its launch in China, fruquintinib has benefited more than 80,000 colorectal cancer patients as of mid-2023.

 

About Fruquintinib Approval in the United States

Fruquintinib received approval in the United States in November 2023, where it is marketed by Takeda under the brand name FRUZAQLA™. The approval was based on data from two large Phase III trials: the multi-regional FRESCO-2 trial, data from which were published in The Lancet, along with the FRESCO trial conducted in China. The trials investigated fruquintinib plus best supportive care versus placebo plus best supportive care in patients with previously treated mCRC. Both FRESCO and FRESCO-2 met their primary and key secondary efficacy endpoints and showed consistent benefit among a total of 734 patients treated with fruquintinib. Safety profiles were consistent across trials.

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM:​HCM; HKEX:​13) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery and global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. It has approximately 5,000 personnel across all its companies, at the center of which is a team of about 1,800 in oncology/immunology. Since inception it has focused on bringing cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery to patients around the world, with its first three medicines marketed in China, the first of which is also marketed in the U.S. For more information, please visit: www.hutch-med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the therapeutic potential of fruquintinib for the treatment of patients with CRC and the further clinical development of fruquintinib in this and other indications. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding the efficacy and safety profile of fruquintinib; HUTCHMED and/or its licensees’ ability to fund, implement and complete its further clinical development and commercialization plans for fruquintinib; the timing of these events; HUTCHMED and its licensees’ ability to satisfy their obligations; actions of regulatory agencies, which may affect the initiation, timing and progress of clinical trials or the regulatory pathway for fruquintinib; HUTCHMED and its licensees’ ability to successfully develop, manufacture and commercialize fruquintinib; and the impact of COVID-19 on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. In addition, as certain studies rely on the use of other drug products as combination therapeutics with fruquintinib, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and continued regulatory approval of these therapeutics. Such forward-looking statements include, without limitation, statements regarding the plan to develop, manufacture and commercialize fruquintinib; and HUTCHMED’s strategy, goals and anticipated milestones, business plans and focus. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, on AIM and on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

Medical Information

This press release contains information about products that may not be available in all countries, or may be available under different trademarks, for different indications, in different dosages, or in different strengths. Nothing contained herein should be considered a solicitation, promotion or advertisement for any prescription drugs including the ones under development.

 

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries
+852 2121 8200 / ir@hutch-med.com
Media Enquiries
Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw, FTI Consulting +44 20 3727 1030 / +44 7771 913 902 (Mobile) / +44 7779 545 055 (Mobile) / HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
Zhou Yi, Brunswick +852 9783 6894 (Mobile) / HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com
Nominated Advisor
Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley / Daphne Zhang, Panmure Gordon +44 (20) 7886 2500

 

Reference

[1] Hong Kong Cancer Registry, Hospital Authority. Colorectal Cancer in 2021. Available at https://www3.ha.org.hk/cancereg/pdf/factsheet/2021/colorectum_2021.pdf

[2] Bando H, et al. Therapeutic landscape and future direction of metastatic colorectal cancer. Nat Rev Gastroenterol Hepatol 2023; 20(5)306-322. doi:10.1038/s41575-022-00736-1.

[3] D’Haene N, et al. Clinical application of targeted next-generation sequencing for colorectal cancer patients: a multicentric Belgian experience. Oncotarget. 2018;9(29):20761-20768. Published 2018 Apr 17. doi:10.18632/oncotarget.25099.

[4] Venderbosch, et al. Mismatch repair status and braf mutation status in metastatic colorectal cancer patients: A pooled analysis of the Cairo, Cairo2, coin, and Focus Studies. Clinical Cancer Res.,2014; 20(20):5322–5330. doi:10.1158/1078-0432.ccr-14-0332.

[5] Koopman, M., et al. Deficient mismatch repair system in patients with sporadic advanced colorectal cancer. Br J Cancer. 209;100(2), 266–273. doi:10.1038/sj.bjc.6604867.

[6] Ahcene Djaballah S, et al. HER2 in Colorectal Cancer: The Long and Winding Road From Negative Predictive Factor to Positive Actionable Target. Am Soc Clin Oncol Educ Book. 2022;42:1-14. doi:10.1200/EDBK_351354.