Nasdaq:US$10.07 (-0.28) | HKEX:HK$16.50 (-0.10) | AIM:£1.75 (+0.01)
搜索结果
上一篇文章   |   下一篇文章
公告及新闻稿, 肿瘤学 / 免疫学 | 2022-03-07

和黄医药就启动沃瑞沙®(ORPATHYS®)全球III期肺癌研究起始工作 收到阿斯利康的1,500万美元里程碑付款

中国香港、上海和美国新泽西州:2021年3月7日,星期和黄医药(中国)有限公司(简称“和黄医药”或“HUTCHMED”)(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)今日宣布收到阿斯利康(AstraZeneca)(LSE/STO/Nasdaq:AZN)支付1,500万美元里程碑付款。

 

此项里程碑付款是由SAFFRON研究的起始工作启动而触发,该研究是沃瑞沙®与泰瑞沙®(TAGRISSO®)联合疗法用于治疗伴有间充质上皮转化因子(“MET”)扩增的表皮生长因子受体(“EGFR”)突变非小细胞肺癌患者的首个全球III期研究。SAFFRON研究预计将于2022年年中开始患者招募。早前的SAVANNAH研究为SAFFRON研究的启动提供了重要的经验,其数据计划将于2022年下半年即将召开的学术会议上公布。

 

迄今为止,阿斯利康已向和黄医药支付了双方许可和合作协议下总额1.4亿美元的预付款、开发及首次商业销售里程碑付款中的8,500万美元。

 

关于非小细胞肺癌、EGFR及MET异常

肺癌是男性和女性癌症死亡的主要原因,约占所有癌症死亡人数的五分之一。[1] 中国肺癌患者人数占全世界肺癌患者总数的三分之一以上。[2]  肺癌通常分为非小细胞肺癌(NSCLC)和小细胞肺癌(SCLC),其中80-85%为非小细胞肺癌。[3] 大部分非小细胞肺癌患者在确诊时已是晚期,而大约25-30%的患者在确诊时有机会接受手术治疗。[4],[5] 在有机会接受手术治疗的患者中,大部分患者虽然接受了完全肿瘤切除手术和辅助化疗,最终仍会复发。[6]

 

美国和欧洲约有10-25%的非小细胞肺癌患者存在EGFR突变,而亚洲患者中该比例高达30-40%。[7],[8],[9] 这些患者对EGFR 酪氨酸激酶抑制剂(“TKI”)的治疗特别敏感,这种抑制剂可阻断驱动肿瘤细胞生长的信号传导途径。[10]

 

MET是一种受体酪氨酸激酶。[11] MET扩增或过表达不仅可在未经过治疗的患者中出现,亦是EGFR突变的转移性非小细胞肺癌患者使用EGFR TKI治疗后获得性耐药的主要机制之一。[12],[13]  在新诊断的非小细胞肺癌患者中,约有2%-3%的患者伴有MET 外显子14跳跃突变,这是一种特定的基因突变。[14]

 

关于赛沃替尼(中国商品名:沃瑞沙®

赛沃替尼(旧称沃利替尼)是一种强效、高选择性的口服MET酪氨酸激酶抑制剂,在晚期实体瘤中表现出临床活性。赛沃替尼可阻断因突变(例如外显子14跳跃突变或其他点突变)或基因扩增而导致的MET受体酪氨酸激酶信号通路的异常激活。

 

赛沃替尼在中国以商品名沃瑞沙®上市用于治疗接受全身性治疗后疾病进展或无法接受化疗的MET外显子14跳跃突变的非小细胞肺癌患者。目前,赛沃替尼正作为单药疗法或与其他药物的联合疗法,开发用于治疗包括肺癌、肾癌和胃癌在内的多种肿瘤类型。

 

继赛沃替尼由和黄医药自主研发及初步开发后,和黄医药与阿斯利康于2011年达成一项全球许可和合作协议,旨在共同开发赛沃替尼并促进其商业化。根据现时的协议条款,启动SAFFRON研究的起始工作将触发一项1,500万美元的里程碑付款。现时,和黄医药和阿斯利康合作开发赛沃替尼,和黄医药主导赛沃替尼在中国的临床开发,并由阿斯利康主导其海外开发。和黄医药负责赛沃替尼在中国的上市许可、生产和供应,而阿斯利康则负责赛沃替尼在中国乃至全球范围内的商业化。赛沃替尼的销售收入由阿斯利康确认。

 

赛沃替尼用于治疗非小细胞肺癌

赛沃替尼单药治疗MET 外显子14跳跃突变非小细胞肺癌的 II 期研究 (NCT02897479 – 基于一项中国II期临床试验,赛沃替尼在中国获附条件批准用于治疗MET外显子14跳跃突变的非小细胞肺癌。该研究结果已于《柳叶刀·呼吸医学》[15]上发表,中位随访时间为17.6个月,所有使用赛沃替尼治疗的受试者的客观缓解率(“ORR”)为42.9%(95%置信区间 [CI] 31.1-55.3),中位无进展生存期(“PFS”)为6.8个月(95% CI 4.2-9.6)。整个研究人群的疾病控制率(DCR)为 82.9%(95% CI 72.0-90.8)。赛沃替尼的安全性和耐受性特征与之前的研究结果一致,没有发现新的安全性问题。持续批准取决于在该患者人群中成功完成确证性试验 (NCT04923945)。

 

基于以下TATTON和SAVANNAH的研究结果,已启动多项赛沃替尼与泰瑞沙®联合疗法的III期研究,其中包括SACHI研究、SANOVO研究和SAFFRON研究。

 

SACHI III期研究:赛沃替尼联合泰瑞沙®用于因 MET 扩增引起的EGFR TKI治疗后进展的患者(NCT05015608– SACHI研究是一项在中国开展的随机、开放标签研究,针对接受EGFR TKI治疗后进展的伴有MET扩增的EGFR突变阳性的非小细胞肺癌患者。

 

SANOVO III期研究:赛沃替尼联合泰瑞沙®用于治疗初治的伴有MET过表达的EGFR突变阳性非小细胞肺癌患者(NCT05009836– SANOVO研究是一项在中国开展的随机、盲性研究,针对MET阳性的未接受治疗的不可切除或转移性EGFR突变阳性的非小细胞肺癌患者。

 

TATTON Ib/II期研究:赛沃替尼联合泰瑞沙®用于治疗因MET扩展引起的EGFR TKI治疗后进展的患者(NCT02143466– TATTON研究是一项在超过220名接受过任何EGFR TKI治疗的伴有MET扩增的EGFR突变阳性非小细胞肺癌患者中开展的全球探索性研究。其研究结果已于《柳叶刀·肿瘤学》[16]上发表,最终分析结果于世界肺癌大会[17]上发布。在接受第一代或第二代EGFR TKI治疗后疾病进展的三个患者队列中,ORR为64.7-66.7%,中位PFS为9.0-11.1个月。在接受第三代EGFR TKI治疗后疾病进展的患者队列中,ORR为33.3%(95% CI 22.4-45.7),中位PFS为5.5个月(95% CI 4.1-7.7)。该联合疗法展现出令人鼓舞的抗肿瘤活性及可接受的风险获益特征。

 

SAVANNAH II 期研究:赛沃替尼联合泰瑞沙®用于治疗因 MET 扩增或过表达引起的泰瑞沙®治疗后进展的患者 (NCT03778229 – SAVANNAH 研究是一项针对接受过泰瑞沙®治疗的伴有MET扩增或过表达的EGFR突变的 非小细胞肺癌患者的单臂、开放标签的全球性研究。泰瑞沙®是阿斯利康的一种EGFR TKI。和黄医药计划在即将举行的学术会议上公布最新临床数据。

 

赛沃替尼用于治疗肾癌

SAMETA III期研究: 联合英飞凡®IMFINZI®PD-L1抑制剂用于治疗MET驱动且不可切除的局部晚期或转移性乳头状肾细胞癌(NCT05043090 – 基于SAVOIR单药疗法和CALYPSO联合疗法的研究成果令人鼓舞,我们启动了一项开放标签、随机对照的全球 III 期研究,评估赛沃替尼与英飞凡®联合疗法对比舒尼替尼单药疗法或英飞凡®单药疗法,用于治疗MET驱动的肿瘤不可切除的局部晚期或转移性乳头状肾细胞癌患者。

 

SAVOIR研究:赛沃替尼单药治疗MET驱动的乳头状肾细胞癌(NCT03091192 – MET驱动的乳头状肾细胞癌患者中比较赛沃替尼单药疗法与舒尼替尼单药疗法的一项全球研究中60名患者的研究数据于ASCO 2020网上年会发表,并同步发表于《美国医学会杂志•肿瘤学(JAMA Oncology)》[18] 。赛沃替尼表现出令人鼓舞的疗效,ORR为27%,而舒尼替尼的ORR则为7%。至数据截止时,对赛沃替尼有反应的患者均未出现疾病进展,总生存期(“OS”)的风险比(HR)为0.51(95% CI:0.21–1.17; p=0.110),中位生存期尚未到达。

 

CALYPSO研究:赛沃替尼联合英飞凡®PD-L1 抑制剂用于治疗肾细胞癌(NCT02819596 – 该项研究者发起的开放标签 I/II 期赛沃替尼与英飞凡®(阿斯利康的一种PD-L1抗体)联合疗法研究,评估了赛沃替尼/英飞凡®联合治疗肾细胞癌患者的安全性和疗效。在美国临床肿瘤学会ASCO)2021年网上年会[19],公布了该研究中41名乳头状肾细胞癌患者的分析数据,其中 14 名 MET 驱动的患者中8名达到确认反应(57%),中位缓解持续时间(DoR)为 9.4 个月,中位 PFS 为 10.5 个月,中位 OS 为 27.4 个月。而在该研究中没有出现新的安全信号。

 

赛沃替尼用于治疗胃癌以及其他癌症

赛沃替尼单药疗法治疗MET扩增的晚期或转移性胃癌或胃食管结合部腺癌患者的II期研究(NCT04923932 – 这是一项开放标签及两队列的多中心临床试验,旨在评估赛沃替尼在至少接受过一线标准治疗后疾病进展的局部晚期或转移性胃癌或胃食管结合部腺癌患者中的疗效、安全性和药代动力学特征。

 

该项临床试验是继赛沃替尼多项在亚洲治疗MET驱动的胃癌的 II 期研究后启动,其中包括VIKTORY研究。[20] VIKTORY 是一项由研究者发起于南韩进行的针对胃癌的 II 期伞式研究,共有 715 名患者接受测序后纳入分子驱动的患者组,其中包括伴有MET 扩增的胃癌患者。 伴有MET 扩增的患者接受赛沃替尼单药治疗,结果显示ORR 为 50%(10/20名,95% CI:28.0-71.9)。

 

通过研究者发起的临床试验,赛沃替尼在包括结直肠癌在内的其他多种MET驱动的肿瘤中的应用潜力也在继续探索中。

 

关于和黄医药

和黄医药(纳斯达克/伦敦证交所:HCM;香港交易所:13)是一家处于商业化阶段的创新型生物医药公司,致力于发现、全球开发和商业化治疗癌症和免疫性疾病的靶向药物和免疫疗法。集团旗下公司共有超过4,600名员工,其中核心的肿瘤/免疫业务拥有超过1,500人的团队。自成立以来,和黄医药已将自主发现的12个候选癌症药物推进到在全球开展临床研究,其中首三个创新肿瘤药物现已获批上市。欲了解更多详情,请访问:www.hutch-med.com或关注我们的领英专页。

 

前瞻性陈述

本新闻稿包含1995年《美国私人证券诉讼改革法案》“安全港”条款中定义的前瞻性陈述。这些前瞻性陈述反映了和黄医药目前对未来事件的预期,包括对赛沃替尼用于治疗非小细胞肺癌患者的治疗潜力的预期,赛沃替尼针对此适应症及其他适应症的进一步临床研究计划,对此类研究是否能达到其主要或次要终点的预期,以及对此类研究完成时间和结果发布的预期。前瞻性陈述涉及风险和不确定性。此类风险和不确定性包括下列假设:支持赛沃替尼获批用于在中国治疗非小细胞肺癌的新药上市申请的数据充足性,赛沃替尼在欧洲和日本等其他地区获得快速审批的潜力,赛沃替尼的安全性,赛沃替尼成为治疗非小细胞肺癌患者治疗新标准的潜力、实现及完成赛沃替尼进一步临床开发计划的能力,在美国、欧洲、日本、中国或其他地区推出上市赛沃替尼的可能性,上述事件的时间,以及新冠肺炎全球大流行对整体经济、监管及政治状况带来的影响等。此外,由于某些研究依赖于泰瑞沙®和英飞凡®作为与赛沃替尼的联合疗法,此类风险和不确定性包括下列假设:泰瑞沙®和英飞凡®的安全性、有效性、供应和持续监管批准。当前和潜在投资者请勿过度依赖这些前瞻性陈述,这些陈述仅在截至本新闻稿发布当日有效。有关这些风险和其他风险的进一步讨论,请查阅和黄医药向美国证券交易委员会、AIM及香港联合交易所有限公司提交的文件。无论是否出现新讯息、未来事件或情况或其他因素,和黄医药均不承担更新或修订本新闻稿所含讯息的义务。

 

[1]  World Health Organization. International Agency for Research on Cancer. Lung Fact Sheet. Available at gco.iarc.fr/​today/​data/​factsheets/​cancers/​15-Lung-fact-sheet.pdf. Accessed June 2021.
[2] World Health Organization. International Agency for Research on Cancer. Globocan China Fact Sheet 2020. Available at gco.iarc.fr/​today/​data/​factsheets/​populations/160-china-fact-sheets.pdf. Accessed June 2021.
[3]  LUNGevity Foundation. Types of Lung Cancer. Available at lungevity.org/for-patients-caregivers/lung-cancer-101/types-of-lung-cancer. Accessed June 2021.
[4]  Cagle PT, Allen TC, Olsen RJ. Lung Cancer Biomarkers: Present Status and Future Developments. Arch Pathol Lab Med. 2013;​137(9):​1191-1198. doi: 10.5858/arpa.2013-0319-CR.
[5]  Le Chevalier T, et al. Adjuvant Chemotherapy for Resectable Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer: Where is it Going? Ann Oncol. 2010;21:vii196-vii198. doi: 10.1093/annonc/mdq376.
[6]  Pignon J, et al. Lung Adjuvant Cisplatin Evaluation: A Pooled Analysis by the LACE Collaborative Group. J Clin Oncol. 2008;26:3552-3559. doi: 10.1200/jco.2007.13.9030.
[7]  Zhang YL, et al. The prevalence of EGFR mutation in patients with non-small cell lung cancer: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Oncotarget. 2016;7(48):78985-78993. doi: 10.18632/oncotarget.12587.
[8]  Keedy V.L., et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology Provisional Clinical Opinion: Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR) Mutation Testing for Patients with Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Considering First-Line EGFR Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor Therapy. J Clin Oncol. 2011:29;2121-27. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2010.31.8923.
[9] Ellison G, et al. EGFR Mutation Testing in Lung Cancer: a Review of Available Methods and Their Use for Analysis of Tumour Tissue and Cytology Samples. J Clin Pathol. 2013:66;79-89. doi: 10.1136/jclinpath-2012-201194.
[10] Cross DA, et al. AZD9291, an Irreversible EGFR TKI, Overcomes T790M-Mediated Resistance to EGFR Inhibitors in Lung Cancer. Cancer Discov. 2014;4(9):1046-1061. doi: 10.1158/2159-8290.CD-14-0337.
[11] Organ SL, Tsao MS. An overview of the c-MET signaling pathway. Ther Adv Med Oncol 2011; 3(1 Suppl):S7-S19. doi: 10.1177/​1758834011422556.
[12] Ramalingham SS, et al. Mechanisms of acquired resistance to first-line osimertinib: Preliminary data from the phase III FLAURA study.  Ann Oncol. 2018; 29, SUPPLEMENT 8, VIII740. doi: 10.1093/annonc/mdy424.063.
[13] Sterlacci W, et al. MET overexpression and gene amplification: prevalence, clinico-pathological characteristics and prognostic signific­ance in a large cohort of patients with surgically resected NSCLC. Virchows Arch. 2017;471(1):49-55. doi:10.1007/s00428-017-2131-1.
[14] Vuong HG, et al. Clinicopathological implications of MET exon 14 mutations in non-small cell lung cancer – A systematic review and meta-analysis. Lung Cancer 2018; 123: 76-82. doi: 10.1016/j.lungcan.2018.07.006.
[15] Lu S, et al. Once-daily savolitinib in Chinese patients with pulmonary sarcomatoid carcinomas and other non-small-cell lung cancers harbouring MET exon 14 skipping alterations: a multicentre, single-arm, open-label, phase 2 study. Lancet Respir Med. 2021 Jun 21:S2213-2600(21)00084-9. doi: 10.1016/S2213-2600(21)00084-9.
[16] Sequist LV, et al. Osimertinib plus savolitinib in patients with EGFR mutation-positive, MET-amplified, non-small-cell lung cancer after progression on EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibitors: interim results from a multicentre, open-label, phase 1b study. Lancet Oncol. 2020;21(3):373-386. doi:10.1016/S1470-2045(19)30785-5.
[17] Han JY, et al. Osimertinib + savolitinib in patients with EGFRm MET-amplified/overexpressed NSCLC: Phase Ib TATTON Parts B and D final analysis.  WCLC January 2021 #FP14.03. doi: 10.1016/j.jtho.2021.01.146.
[18] Choueiri TK, et al. Efficacy of Savolitinib vs Sunitinib in Patients With MET-Driven Papillary Renal Cell Carcinoma: The SAVOIR Phase 3 Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Oncol. 2020 Aug 1;6(8):1247-1255. doi: 10.1001/jamaoncol.2020.2218.
[19] Suarez C, et al. Clinical activity of durvalumab and savolitinib in MET-driven, metastatic papillary renal cancer. J Clin Oncol 39, no. 15_suppl (May 20, 2021) 4511-4511. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2021.39.15_suppl.4511.
[20] Lee J, et al. Tumor Genomic Profiling Guides Patients with Metastatic Gastric Cancer to Targeted Treatment: The VIKTORY Umbrella Trial. Cancer Discov. 2019;9(10):1388-1405. doi: 10.1158/2159-8290.CD-19-0442.
[1]  World Health Organization. International Agency for Research on Cancer. Lung Fact Sheet. Available at gco.iarc.fr/​today/​data/​factsheets/​cancers/​15-Lung-fact-sheet.pdf. Accessed June 2021.
[2] World Health Organization. International Agency for Research on Cancer. Globocan China Fact Sheet 2020. Available at gco.iarc.fr/​today/​data/​factsheets/​populations/160-china-fact-sheets.pdf. Accessed June 2021.
[3]  LUNGevity Foundation. Types of Lung Cancer. Available at lungevity.org/for-patients-caregivers/lung-cancer-101/types-of-lung-cancer. Accessed June 2021.
[4]  Cagle PT, Allen TC, Olsen RJ. Lung Cancer Biomarkers: Present Status and Future Developments. Arch Pathol Lab Med. 2013;​137(9):​1191-1198. doi: 10.5858/arpa.2013-0319-CR.
[5]  Le Chevalier T, et al. Adjuvant Chemotherapy for Resectable Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer: Where is it Going? Ann Oncol. 2010;21:vii196-vii198. doi: 10.1093/annonc/mdq376.
[6]  Pignon J, et al. Lung Adjuvant Cisplatin Evaluation: A Pooled Analysis by the LACE Collaborative Group. J Clin Oncol. 2008;26:3552-3559. doi: 10.1200/jco.2007.13.9030.
[7]  Zhang YL, et al. The prevalence of EGFR mutation in patients with non-small cell lung cancer: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Oncotarget. 2016;7(48):78985-78993. doi: 10.18632/oncotarget.12587.
[8]  Keedy V.L., et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology Provisional Clinical Opinion: Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR) Mutation Testing for Patients with Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Considering First-Line EGFR Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor Therapy. J Clin Oncol. 2011:29;2121-27. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2010.31.8923.
[9] Ellison G, et al. EGFR Mutation Testing in Lung Cancer: a Review of Available Methods and Their Use for Analysis of Tumour Tissue and Cytology Samples. J Clin Pathol. 2013:66;79-89. doi: 10.1136/jclinpath-2012-201194.
[10] Cross DA, et al. AZD9291, an Irreversible EGFR TKI, Overcomes T790M-Mediated Resistance to EGFR Inhibitors in Lung Cancer. Cancer Discov. 2014;4(9):1046-1061. doi: 10.1158/2159-8290.CD-14-0337.
[11] Organ SL, Tsao MS. An overview of the c-MET signaling pathway. Ther Adv Med Oncol 2011; 3(1 Suppl):S7-S19. doi: 10.1177/​1758834011422556.
[12] Ramalingham SS, et al. Mechanisms of acquired resistance to first-line osimertinib: Preliminary data from the phase III FLAURA study.  Ann Oncol. 2018; 29, SUPPLEMENT 8, VIII740. doi: 10.1093/annonc/mdy424.063.
[13] Sterlacci W, et al. MET overexpression and gene amplification: prevalence, clinico-pathological characteristics and prognostic signific­ance in a large cohort of patients with surgically resected NSCLC. Virchows Arch. 2017;471(1):49-55. doi:10.1007/s00428-017-2131-1.
[14] Vuong HG, et al. Clinicopathological implications of MET exon 14 mutations in non-small cell lung cancer – A systematic review and meta-analysis. Lung Cancer 2018; 123: 76-82. doi: 10.1016/j.lungcan.2018.07.006.
[15] Lu S, et al. Once-daily savolitinib in Chinese patients with pulmonary sarcomatoid carcinomas and other non-small-cell lung cancers harbouring MET exon 14 skipping alterations: a multicentre, single-arm, open-label, phase 2 study. Lancet Respir Med. 2021 Jun 21:S2213-2600(21)00084-9. doi: 10.1016/S2213-2600(21)00084-9.
[16] Sequist LV, et al. Osimertinib plus savolitinib in patients with EGFR mutation-positive, MET-amplified, non-small-cell lung cancer after progression on EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibitors: interim results from a multicentre, open-label, phase 1b study. Lancet Oncol. 2020;21(3):373-386. doi:10.1016/S1470-2045(19)30785-5.
[17] Han JY, et al. Osimertinib + savolitinib in patients with EGFRm MET-amplified/overexpressed NSCLC: Phase Ib TATTON Parts B and D final analysis.  WCLC January 2021 #FP14.03. doi: 10.1016/j.jtho.2021.01.146.
[18] Choueiri TK, et al. Efficacy of Savolitinib vs Sunitinib in Patients With MET-Driven Papillary Renal Cell Carcinoma: The SAVOIR Phase 3 Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Oncol. 2020 Aug 1;6(8):1247-1255. doi: 10.1001/jamaoncol.2020.2218.
[19] Suarez C, et al. Clinical activity of durvalumab and savolitinib in MET-driven, metastatic papillary renal cancer. J Clin Oncol 39, no. 15_suppl (May 20, 2021) 4511-4511. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2021.39.15_suppl.4511.
[20] Lee J, et al. Tumor Genomic Profiling Guides Patients with Metastatic Gastric Cancer to Targeted Treatment: The VIKTORY Umbrella Trial. Cancer Discov. 2019;9(10):1388-1405. doi: 10.1158/2159-8290.CD-19-0442.

 

联络方法

投资者咨询
李健鸿,高级副总裁 +852 2121 8200
郑嘉惠,副总裁 +1 (973) 567 3786
传媒咨询

美洲 – Brad Miles,

Solebury Trout

+1 (917) 570 7340(手机)

bmiles@troutgroup.com

欧洲 – Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,

FTI Consulting

+44 20 3727 1030 / +44 7771 913 902(手机)/ +44 7779 545 055(手机)

HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com

中国大陆 – 龙肇怡 / 何芷晴,

纵横财经公关顾问有限公司

+852 9282 4640 / +852 6198 4265(手机)

SPRG_HUTCHMED@sprg.com.hk

 

任命保荐人

Freddy Crossley /  Panmure Gordon (UK)Limited, Atholl Tweedie +44 (20) 7886 2500

Nasdaq:US$9.03 (+0.27) | HKEX:HK$13.58 (+0.36) | AIM:£1.58 (+0.06)
Search Result
Previous Article   |   Next Article
Announcements & Press Releases, Oncology / Immunology | 7 Mar 2022

HUTCHMED Receives a US$15 million Milestone from AstraZeneca for Initiating Start-up Activities for a Global Phase III Study of ORPATHYS® in Lung Cancer

Hong Kong, Shanghai & Florham Park, NJ — Monday, March 7, 2022: (“HUTCHMED”) (Nasdaq/AIM:​HCM; HKEX:​13) today announces that it has received a US$15 million milestone payment from AstraZeneca PLC (“AstraZeneca”) (LSE/STO/Nasdaq:​AZN).

This milestone has been triggered by the initiation of start-up activities for SAFFRON, the first global Phase III study for ORPATHYS® in combination with TAGRISSO® in epidermal growth factor receptor (“EGFR”)-mutated non-small cell lung cancer (“NSCLC”) patients with mesenchymal epithelial transition receptor (“MET”) driven tumors following progression after TAGRISSO®. SAFFRON, which is expected to commence enrolling patients in mid-2022, follows important lessons learned from the SAVANNAH study, which is targeted to be presented at an upcoming scientific conference in the second half of 2022.

To date, AstraZeneca has now paid HUTCHMED US$85 million of the total US$140 million in upfront payments, development and first-sale milestones due under the license and collaboration agreement between HUTCHMED and AstraZeneca.

 

About NSCLC, EGFR and MET Aberrations

Lung cancer is the leading cause of cancer death among men and women, accounting for about one-fifth of all cancer deaths.[1] More than a third of the world’s lung cancer patients are in China.[2] Lung cancer is broadly split into NSCLC and small cell lung cancer, with 80-85% classified as NSCLC.[3] The majority of NSCLC patients are diagnosed with advanced disease while approximately 25-30% present with resectable disease at diagnosis.[4],[5] For patients with resectable tumors, the majority of patients eventually develop recurrence despite complete tumor resection and adjuvant chemotherapy.[6]

Approximately 10-25% of NSCLC patients in the U.S. and Europe, and 30-40% of patients in Asia have EGFR-mutated NSCLC.[7],[8],[9] These patients are particularly sensitive to treatment with an EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibitor (“TKI”) which blocks the cell-signaling pathways that drive the growth of tumor cells.[10]

MET is a tyrosine kinase receptor.[11] Aberration of MET (amplification or overexpression) is present in both treatment naïve patients as well as being one of the primary mechanisms of acquired resistance to EGFR TKIs for metastatic EGFR-mutated NSCLC.[12],[13] Approximately 2-3% of NSCLC patients have tumors with MET exon 14 skipping alterations, a targetable mutation in the MET gene.[14]

 

About Savolitinib (ORPATHYS® in China)

Savolitinib is an oral, potent, and highly selective MET TKI that has demonstrated clinical activity in advanced solid tumors. It blocks atypical activation of the MET receptor tyrosine kinase pathway that occurs because of mutations (such as exon 14 skipping alterations or other point mutations) or gene amplification.

Savolitinib is marketed in China under the brand name ORPATHYS® for the treatment of patients with NSCLC with MET exon 14 skipping alterations who have progressed following prior systemic therapy or are unable to receive chemotherapy. It is currently under clinical development for multiple tumor types, including lung, kidney, and gastric cancers, as a single treatment and in combination with other medicines.

In 2011, following its discovery and initial development by HUTCHMED, AstraZeneca and HUTCHMED entered a global licensing and collaboration agreement to jointly develop and commercialize savolitinib. Under the current terms of the agreement, a US$15 million milestone payment is triggered by the initiation of start-up activities for the SAFFRON study. Joint development of savolitinib in China is led by HUTCHMED, while AstraZeneca leads development outside of China. HUTCHMED is responsible for the marketing authorization, manufacturing and supply of savolitinib in China. AstraZeneca is responsible for the commercialization of savolitinib in China and worldwide. Sales of savolitinib are recognized by AstraZeneca.

 

Savolitinib development in NSCLC

Phase II study of savolitinib monotherapy in MET Exon 14 skipping alteration NSCLC (NCT02897479) – The conditional approval in China for MET Exon 14 skipping alteration NSCLC was based on the results of a Phase II study that were published in The Lancet Respiratory Medicine[15]. At a median follow up of 17.6 months, savolitinib demonstrated an objective response rate (“ORR”) of 42.9% (95% confidence interval [CI] 31.1-55.3) and median progression-free survival (“PFS”) of 6.8 months (95% CI 4.2-9.6) in the overall trial population. Disease control rate (“DCR”) in the overall trial population was 82.9% (95% CI 72.0-90.8). The safety and tolerability profile of savolitinib was consistent with previous trials, and no new safety signals were identified. Continued approval is contingent upon the successful completion of a confirmatory trial in this patient population (NCT04923945).

Based on results of the TATTON and SAVANNAH studies below, several Phase III studies of savolitinib in combination with TAGRISSO® have been initiated, including SACHI, and SANOVO and SAFFRON.

SACHI Phase III study of savolitinib in combination with TAGRISSO® in patients who have progressed following EGFR TKI treatment due to MET amplification (NCT05015608) – Initiated in the second half of 2021, this is a randomized, open-label study in China in EGFR mutation positive NSCLC patients with MET amplified tumors following progression after treatment with any EGFR TKI.

SANOVO Phase III study of savolitinib in combination with TAGRISSO® in treatment-naïve patients with EGFR mutant positive NSCLC with MET overexpression (NCT05009836) – Initiated in the second half of 2021, this is a randomized, blinded study in China in untreated, unresectable or metastatic patients with EGFR mutation positive NSCLC with MET positive tumors.

TATTON Phase Ib/II studies of savolitinib in combination with TAGRISSO® in patients who have progressed following EGFR TKI treatment due to MET amplification (NCT02143466) – This global exploratory study in over 220 EGFR mutation positive NSCLC patients with MET amplified tumors following progression after treatment with any EGFR TKI. Results were published in Lancet Oncology[16] and final analysis was presented at the World Conference on Lung Cancer[17]. Three cohorts with patients treated following progression on first- or second-generation EGFR TKI demonstrated an ORR of 64.7-66.7% and a median PFS of 9.0-11.1 months. The cohort of patients treated following progression on a third-generation EGFR TKI demonstrated an ORR of 33.3% (95% CI 22.4-45.7), with a median PFS of 5.5 months (95% CI 4.1-7.7). The combination demonstrated encouraging anti-tumor activity and an acceptable risk-benefit profile.

SAVANNAH Phase II study of savolitinib in combination with TAGRISSO® in patients who have progressed following TAGRISSO® due to MET amplification or overexpression (NCT03778229) – This is a single-arm, open-label, global study in EGFR mutated NSCLC patients with MET amplified/overexpressed tumors following progression after treatment with TAGRISSO®, an EGFR TKI owned by AstraZeneca. We plan to submit results for presentation at an upcoming scientific conference.

 

Savolitinib development in kidney cancer

SAMETA Phase III study in combination with IMFINZI® PD-L1 inhibitor in MET-driven, unresectable and locally advanced or metastatic papillary renal cell carcinoma (“RCC”) (NCT05043090) – Based on the encouraging results of the SAVOIR monotherapy and CALYPSO combination therapy studies below, we initiated SAMETA, a global Phase III, open-label, randomized, controlled study of savolitinib plus IMFINZI® versus sunitinib monotherapy versus IMFINZI® monotherapy in patients with MET-driven, unresectable and locally advanced or metastatic papillary RCC.

SAVOIR randomized, controlled study of savolitinib monotherapy in MET-driven PRCC (NCT03091192) – Data from 60 patients in this global study of savolitinib monotherapy compared with sunitinib monotherapy in MET-driven papillary RCC was presented at the ASCO 2020 Program and published simultaneously in JAMA Oncology[18]. Savolitinib demonstrated encouraging activity, including an ORR of 27% versus 7% for sunitinib, with no savolitinib responding patients experiencing disease progression at data cut-off, and an encouraging OS hazard ratio of 0.51 (95% CI: 0.21–1.17; p=0.110) with median not reached at data cut-off.

CALYPSO study of savolitinib in combination with IMFINZI® PD-L1 inhibitor in RCC (NCT02819596) – This investigator initiated open-label Phase I/II study of savolitinib in combination with IMFINZI®, a PD-L1 antibody owned by AstraZeneca, evaluated the safety and efficacy of the savolitinib/IMFINZI® combination in patients with RCC. An analysis of 41 papillary RCC patients was presented at the 2021 American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Annual Meeting[19], showing a confirmed response rate in 8 out of the 14 MET-driven patients, or 57%, with a median DoR of 9.4 months, median PFS of 10.5 months and median OS of 27.4 months. No new safety signals were seen.

 

Savolitinib development in gastric cancer and other cancer indications

Phase II study of savolitinib monotherapy in advanced or metastatic MET amplified gastric cancer (“GC”) or adenocarcinoma of the gastroesophageal junction (“GEJ”) (NCT04923932) – This is an open-label, two-cohort, multi-center study to evaluate the efficacy, safety and PK of savolitinib in locally advanced or metastatic GC or GEJ patients whose disease progressed after at least one line of standard therapy.

This trial follows multiple Phase II studies that have been conducted in Asia to study savolitinib in MET-driven GC patients, including VIKTORY[xx]. VIKTORY is an investigator-initiated Phase II umbrella study in GC in South Korea in which a total of 715 patients were successfully sequenced into molecular-driven patient groups, including those with MET amplified GC. Patients whose tumors harbor MET amplification were treated with savolitinib monotherapy, reporting an ORR of 50% (10/20, 95% CI: 28.0, 71.9).

Savolitinib opportunities are also continuing to be explored in multiple other MET-driven tumor settings via investigator-initiated studies including colorectal cancer.

 

About HUTCHMED

HUTCHMED (Nasdaq/AIM:HCM; HKEX:13) is an innovative, commercial-stage, biopharmaceutical company. It is committed to the discovery and global development and commercialization of targeted therapies and immunotherapies for the treatment of cancer and immunological diseases. It has more than 4,600 personnel across all its companies, at the center of which is a team of over 1,500 in oncology/immunology. Since inception it has advanced 12 cancer drug candidates from in-house discovery into clinical studies around the world, with its first three oncology drugs now approved and marketed. For more information, please visit: www.hutch‑med.com or follow us on LinkedIn.

 

Forward-Looking Statements

This press release contains forward-looking statements within the meaning of the “safe harbor” provisions of the U.S. Private Securities Litigation Reform Act of 1995. These forward-looking statements reflect HUTCHMED’s current expectations regarding future events, including its expectations regarding the therapeutic potential of savolitinib for the treatment of patients with NSCLC, the further clinical development of savolitinib in this and other indications, its expectations as to whether clinical studies of savolitinib would meet their primary or secondary endpoints, and its expectations as to the timing of the completion and the release of results from such studies. Forward-looking statements involve risks and uncertainties. Such risks and uncertainties include, among other things, assumptions regarding the sufficiency of its data to support New Drug Application approval of savolitinib for the treatment of patients with NSCLC in China, its potential to gain expeditious approvals for savolitinib in other jurisdictions such as E.U. or Japan, the safety profile of savolitinib, the potential for savolitinib to become a new standard of care for NSCLC patients, its ability to implement and complete its further clinical development plans for savolitinib, its potential commercial launch in the U.S., E.U., Japan, China and other jurisdictions, the timing of these events, and the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic on general economic, regulatory and political conditions. In addition, as certain studies rely on the use of TAGRISSO® and IMFINZI® as combination therapeutics with savolitinib, such risks and uncertainties include assumptions regarding the safety, efficacy, supply and continued regulatory approval of TAGRISSO® and IMFINZI®. Existing and prospective investors are cautioned not to place undue reliance on these forward-looking statements, which speak only as of the date hereof. For further discussion of these and other risks, see HUTCHMED’s filings with the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission, on AIM and with The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited. HUTCHMED undertakes no obligation to update or revise the information contained in this press release, whether as a result of new information, future events or circumstances or otherwise.

 

[1]  World Health Organization. International Agency for Research on Cancer. Lung Fact Sheet. Available at gco.iarc.fr/​today/​data/​factsheets/​cancers/​15-Lung-fact-sheet.pdf. Accessed June 2021.
[2] World Health Organization. International Agency for Research on Cancer. Globocan China Fact Sheet 2020. Available at gco.iarc.fr/​today/​data/​factsheets/​populations/160-china-fact-sheets.pdf. Accessed June 2021.
[3]  LUNGevity Foundation. Types of Lung Cancer. Available at lungevity.org/for-patients-caregivers/lung-cancer-101/types-of-lung-cancer. Accessed June 2021.
[4]  Cagle PT, Allen TC, Olsen RJ. Lung Cancer Biomarkers: Present Status and Future Developments. Arch Pathol Lab Med. 2013;​137(9):​1191-1198. doi: 10.5858/arpa.2013-0319-CR.
[5]  Le Chevalier T, et al. Adjuvant Chemotherapy for Resectable Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer: Where is it Going? Ann Oncol. 2010;21:vii196-vii198. doi: 10.1093/annonc/mdq376.
[6]  Pignon J, et al. Lung Adjuvant Cisplatin Evaluation: A Pooled Analysis by the LACE Collaborative Group. J Clin Oncol. 2008;26:3552-3559. doi: 10.1200/jco.2007.13.9030.
[7]  Zhang YL, et al. The prevalence of EGFR mutation in patients with non-small cell lung cancer: a systematic review and meta-analysis. Oncotarget. 2016;7(48):78985-78993. doi: 10.18632/oncotarget.12587.
[8]  Keedy V.L., et al. American Society of Clinical Oncology Provisional Clinical Opinion: Epidermal Growth Factor Receptor (EGFR) Mutation Testing for Patients with Advanced Non-Small Cell Lung Cancer Considering First-Line EGFR Tyrosine Kinase Inhibitor Therapy. J Clin Oncol. 2011:29;2121-27. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2010.31.8923.
[9] Ellison G, et al. EGFR Mutation Testing in Lung Cancer: a Review of Available Methods and Their Use for Analysis of Tumour Tissue and Cytology Samples. J Clin Pathol. 2013:66;79-89. doi: 10.1136/jclinpath-2012-201194.
[10] Cross DA, et al. AZD9291, an Irreversible EGFR TKI, Overcomes T790M-Mediated Resistance to EGFR Inhibitors in Lung Cancer. Cancer Discov. 2014;4(9):1046-1061. doi: 10.1158/2159-8290.CD-14-0337.
[11] Organ SL, Tsao MS. An overview of the c-MET signaling pathway. Ther Adv Med Oncol 2011; 3(1 Suppl):S7-S19. doi: 10.1177/​1758834011422556.
[12] Ramalingham SS, et al. Mechanisms of acquired resistance to first-line osimertinib: Preliminary data from the phase III FLAURA study.  Ann Oncol. 2018; 29, SUPPLEMENT 8, VIII740. doi: 10.1093/annonc/mdy424.063.
[13] Sterlacci W, et al. MET overexpression and gene amplification: prevalence, clinico-pathological characteristics and prognostic signific­ance in a large cohort of patients with surgically resected NSCLC. Virchows Arch. 2017;471(1):49-55. doi:10.1007/s00428-017-2131-1.
[14] Vuong HG, et al. Clinicopathological implications of MET exon 14 mutations in non-small cell lung cancer – A systematic review and meta-analysis. Lung Cancer 2018; 123: 76-82. doi: 10.1016/j.lungcan.2018.07.006.
[15] Lu S, et al. Once-daily savolitinib in Chinese patients with pulmonary sarcomatoid carcinomas and other non-small-cell lung cancers harbouring MET exon 14 skipping alterations: a multicentre, single-arm, open-label, phase 2 study. Lancet Respir Med. 2021 Jun 21:S2213-2600(21)00084-9. doi: 10.1016/S2213-2600(21)00084-9.
[16] Sequist LV, et al. Osimertinib plus savolitinib in patients with EGFR mutation-positive, MET-amplified, non-small-cell lung cancer after progression on EGFR tyrosine kinase inhibitors: interim results from a multicentre, open-label, phase 1b study. Lancet Oncol. 2020;21(3):373-386. doi:10.1016/S1470-2045(19)30785-5.
[17] Han JY, et al. Osimertinib + savolitinib in patients with EGFRm MET-amplified/overexpressed NSCLC: Phase Ib TATTON Parts B and D final analysis.  WCLC January 2021 #FP14.03. doi: 10.1016/j.jtho.2021.01.146.
[18] Choueiri TK, et al. Efficacy of Savolitinib vs Sunitinib in Patients With MET-Driven Papillary Renal Cell Carcinoma: The SAVOIR Phase 3 Randomized Clinical Trial. JAMA Oncol. 2020 Aug 1;6(8):1247-1255. doi: 10.1001/jamaoncol.2020.2218.
[19] Suarez C, et al. Clinical activity of durvalumab and savolitinib in MET-driven, metastatic papillary renal cancer. J Clin Oncol 39, no. 15_suppl (May 20, 2021) 4511-4511. doi: 10.1200/JCO.2021.39.15_suppl.4511.
[20] Lee J, et al. Tumor Genomic Profiling Guides Patients with Metastatic Gastric Cancer to Targeted Treatment: The VIKTORY Umbrella Trial. Cancer Discov. 2019;9(10):1388-1405. doi: 10.1158/2159-8290.CD-19-0442.

 

CONTACTS

Investor Enquiries
Mark Lee, Senior Vice President +852 2121 8200
Annie Cheng, Vice President +1 (973) 567 3786
Media Enquiries  
Americas – Brad Miles,
Solebury Trout
+1 (917) 570 7340 (Mobile)
bmiles@troutgroup.com
Europe – Ben Atwell / Alex Shaw,
FTI Consulting
+44 20 3727 1030 / +44 7771 913 902 (Mobile) / +44 7779 545 055 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@fticonsulting.com
Asia – Zhou Yi,
Brunswick
+852 9783 6894 (Mobile)
HUTCHMED@brunswickgroup.com
Nominated Advisor
Atholl Tweedie / Freddy Crossley,
Panmure Gordon (UK) Limited
+44 (20) 7886 2500